How to restore sysnand on Luma 9.0

Discussion in '3DS - Homebrew Development and Emulators' started by masterpascaler, Aug 3, 2018.

  1. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    Somehow the console stopped to start up, it's just showing blank screens and power led is on. Thankfully i have my full sysnand backup file. I'm able to run Godmode9 v1.6.3, any other payloads seems to be not runnable by this Luma. Boot9strap is v1.3. Console is New Nintendo 3DS.
    I was trying to follow the guide using GM9 Megascript but this script just don't show up (it's start counting some numbers on the left upper part on screen and do nothng). Any known Luma payloads that i can use? Tried almost everything so far.
     
  2. Tigger

    Tigger GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    2
    Jun 14, 2018
    United Kingdom
  3. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    Thanks for the link. Downloaded, choosed Home menu, Scripts, GM9Megascript, and same - keeps counting and do nothing, as on image:

    IMG_20180804_073741.

    Really no one had that issue? Any other options?
     
  4. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    Last edited by Hayato213, Aug 4, 2018
  5. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
  6. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    Tried. Can't boot it:
    IMG_20180804_080758.
     
  7. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    Make a backup of your current boot.firm on your desktop , and rename the Decrypt9WIP.firm as boot.firm.
     
  8. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    Luma3DS i have already 9.1 version, as it shows when i keep holding Select button while power on. GodMode9 version you suggest (newest than mine) doesn't boot - same error as in above Decrypt9WIP

    — Posts automatically merged - Please don't double post! —

    Tried. Nintendo doesn't even turn on. Blue power led just light up and fades.
     
  9. Hayato213

    Hayato213 GBAtemp Psycho!

    Member
    9
    Dec 26, 2015
    United States
    You might have a brick if you can't get either of them to load correctly and restore a Nand.
     
    Last edited by Hayato213, Aug 4, 2018
  10. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    And that's the last and easiest word to say, right? Really on millions of users of GM9 i'm the only one facing the issue??
     
  11. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    @Hayato213 was trying to help you as best he could with what can be gleaned from your issues. We understand your frustration, but please give him break. A lot of us aren't doing too well ourselves due to overwhelming INTENSIFIED STABILITY Nintendo pulled on us. :(

    Slow response due to updating my cheat guide.

    Try this

    1. Unless you have a spare SD card, copy everything off your current SD card and set it aside on your computer.
    2. Reformat it as FAT32 + 32 KB cluster size. Use guiformat if your card is bigger than 32 GB.
    3. Run a Full Write + Verify test in H2testw if you've never done so before. It is super crucial your SD card is free of hardware issues when restoring the NAND.
    4. Go to my post here. Copy and paste the files from that archive onto the card to create a bare bone CFW test setup.
    5. Copy your 1.2 GB ######_XX########_sysnand_000.bin NAND image to gm9/out folder.
    6. Check if you can boot into GodMode9 (Start), Luma Configuration (Select), Recover Mode, and HOME Menu.
    If HOME Menu does not boot but you have access to GodMode9...
    Update the Luma3DS and GodMode9 found on your CTRNAND:
    If HOME Menu still doesn't boot up after using CTRNAND script...
    Do a SysNAND restore:
    If the new gm9 scripts aren't working...
    • Use the old ones found in gm9/scripts/OLD SCRIPTS folder.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Aug 4, 2018
    Hayato213 and Tigger like this.
  12. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    VERY HELPFULL REPLY!!!
    Mostly succesfull but..
    Here's what worked and how:
    Following your steps: backup made just in case on hdd. Reformatted using Windows - here I noticed that before the microsd card was formatted with 16 KB cluster size. No need to guiformat because it was just general Kingston 32 GB class 10 microsd card. After that runned H2testw - took almost 2 hours but finished ok. Downloaded files from your post, putted on microsd card, then copied my nand .bin backup file to gm9/out folder. Checking what i can boot to - i could boot to GodMode9 and Luma configuration, not able to go to recovery or home menu. So as home menu wasn't working i CTRNAND Luma using script in GodMode9. IMPORTANT - your version of GM9Megascript runned sucessfully! That's one milestone forward. Unfortunatelly the restoret nand script from it was showing like there are no valid files to restore from /gm9/out folder. Then i tried to use Restore Nand (safe) from OLD SCRIPTS menu, and it worked, after restoring a nand i was able to boot into GUI succesfully. THANKS!

    However. After first boot up i went into Download Play app, used L+down+select to bring up Rosalina menu and choose homebrew app over current app. Then closed Download Play app, choosed it again to bring Homebrew Launcher with a lot of usefull apps. Great. I choosed Luma Update, but just to found I already have leatest version (9.1) , so I cancelled it by pressing B. After reboot the console Download Play app works original app, and Rosalina menu doesn't show up after key combo. Tried with and without microsd card, both the same. So again can't go homebrew, i don't understand why. Still can get to GodMode9 or Luma configuration menu. Any suggestions?
     
    Last edited by masterpascaler, Aug 5, 2018
  13. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    To make your choice of Rosalina Menu injection persistent, you have to choose Micellaneous options... > Saving settings after injecting in a System Title -or- Homebrew Launcher Wrapper.

    Edit - Wait, you said the L-shoulder + Down d-pad + Select no longer works in bringing up Rosalina Menu?
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Aug 5, 2018
  14. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    Micellaneous options... > Saving settings - didn't know that, and surelly didn't do that. Should I thou? And yes, it doesn't bring Rosalina menu anymore. Strange.
     
  15. TurdPooCharger

    TurdPooCharger Meh

    Member
    10
    Jan 1, 2018
    United States
    Yes, in order to keep your injection in place, you have to do that.

    Did you mess with the setting at Micellaneous options... > Change the menu combo ?

    In order to reset your settings, go to luma folder and delete the config.bin if you don't remember your new combo.

    This will default that combo back and require you to reconfigure the Luma3DS configuration.
     
    Last edited by TurdPooCharger, Aug 5, 2018
  16. masterpascaler
    OP

    masterpascaler Newbie

    Newcomer
    1
    Jul 18, 2018
    Poland
    This time i did Save Settings, after that i deleted Luma config.bin and again i was able to go to Homebrew Launcher again. FBI doesn't had the option to install most of my CIAs still anyway. I managed to run Freeshop anyway, and I install CIAs by Freeshop without problems.
    Thanks to all for helping with this issue, i hope it will help somebody else. Thank you gentlemans! :)
     
Loading...