How To Put Your Wii in Maintenance Mode

Discussion in 'Wii - Tutorials' started by Devin, May 2, 2011.

May 2, 2011
  1. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    How To Put Your Wii in Maintenance Mode

    Step 1: Turn on your Wii.

    Step 2: While at the Health Warning Screen, hold the + and - buttons on your Wii remote then proceed to press A.

    Step 3: Your Wii is now in Maintenance Mode, a confirmation message should pop up confirming this.

    NOTE: In order to exit Maintenance Mode, restart your Wii.

    Now, what does this enable? Nothing, but it might be useful to some people. It might help with bricks, or some Wii Menu error in the future. The only changes that have been discovered so far is that it prevents you from using the Wii Message Board, and block you from changing your Home Country.

    [​IMG]
     
  2. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It can be useful in the case of a Mail Brick. Because it disables the message board, I believe you can boot up the Wii like this and format it in settings to fix it, if you have no other way to fix it. I don't know of any homebrew that can delete messages, so the only other solution is restoring a NAND dump with BootMii/boot2. For newer Wiis, Maintenance Mode>Format is the only solution to these bricks AFAIK. Possibly using FSToolbox to install a "clean" message archive would work, not sure. Also not sure how you'd get a clean message archive, maybe if you deleted it the SM would generate a new one? Dunno...But if this did work, you'd need to use Maintenance Mode to access the SM to load HBC most likely.
     
  3. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    What is wrong with using [Priiloader -> Homebrew Channel -> BootMii -> restore nand]?
     
  4. SifJar

    Member SifJar Not a pirate

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2009
    Messages:
    6,022
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Restoring a NAND dump with BootMii/IOS is HIGHLY inadvisable due to the fact that if something were to go wrong, your Wii is permanently and irreparably bricked. (Unless you have a NAND reprogrammer). Hence it is not allowed in BootMii/IOS without entering the Konami code.
     
  5. Mantis41

    Member Mantis41 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,853
    Location:
    earth
    Country:
    United States
    Seems a bit over cautious to me. Any piece of IT equipment has the same risk, it doesn't matter if it is a printer, graphics card or a lap top. If the firmware update screws up the item is quite often not recoverable

    Edit, I'm guessing the only way to do this is via a game cube controller.
     
  6. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    I saw this on WikiHow [​IMG] almost similar to it is your Tutorial.

    It blocks one more thing other than Wii Message Board btw:-

    Home Country
     
  7. Devin
    OP

    Member Devin "Local Hardware Wizard"

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2009
    Messages:
    5,701
    Location:
    The Nexus
    Country:
    United States
    Heh. Never heard of it. I accidentally stumbled upon it a couple years ago. I updated it with your information. So you can't change your Home Country?
     
  8. SamAsh07

    Member SamAsh07 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2009
    Messages:
    2,693
    Location:
    Bahrain
    Country:
    Bahrain
    Yep that's what I read at some other site.
     

Share This Page