How to put a movie/music/photo into my ps3

Discussion in 'PS3 - Games & Content' started by fancysky016, Mar 8, 2011.

Mar 8, 2011
  1. fancysky016
    OP

Newcomer fancysky016 Advanced Member

United States
    Firstly, my PS3 still in version 3.4X, unhacked. (if this matters)

well, i am new to ps3, currently only playing games. (Black ops, uncharted 2, PES2011, GT5)

so anybody can let me how to transfer movie/music/photo files into the internal drive of my PS3? Then i can at least watch some xxxx movies while i am tired of playing games, or fully utilize my PS3.

I got wifi at home, also a portable drive. (but last time i tried to connect my drive with PS3, nothing happend. or i don't know what should happened.)

thanks in advance.

Also please let me know what kind of file format will be great.

An Update:

I found a 1GB USB disk, and format that into FAT32. Then created three folders: MUSIC, PHOTO, MOVIE, (in upper case) then put files respectively into the folder. Then the XMB recognise the drive. Press the Triangle button on PS3 controller to see all the files into the usb drive, and you can play them on PS3.

Music files better be in MP3 format. Photos in JPG, Movies i am not sure yet, one of my AVI works, the MPEG not..

2. Originality

Member Originality Chibi-neko

United Kingdom
    There's a folder for that, "ps3_home". Inside is a "music", "photo" and "video" folder. Either use a file editor (like the one built into Multiman) to copy from USB devices, or use FTP (e.g. BlackBox and FileZilla).

EDIT: See the below post.

3. fancysky016
    OP

United States
    thanks man, how can i get to that "ps3_home" folder????????

use PS3 to connect with my PC via wifi??

If for FTP, how to set up?

4. Originality

United Kingdom
    If you use a file editor, it'll be one of the first folders you see (along with hdd0 and hdd1, which are needed for games). That said, the same applies for FTP - once you connect, it'll be one of the first folders you see.