How to prevent accidently updating the 3DS?

Discussion in '3DS - Console, Accessories and Hardware' started by HtheB, Apr 1, 2013.

  1. HtheB
    OP

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    626
    287
    May 15, 2006
    Netherlands
    Bize Her Yer Trabzon
    Is there any way to prevent the update for the 3DS?
    Everytime I turn on my 3DS, it tells me that the update is ready to install.

    I'm sure one day I'll press the A button accidently.... It could be a problem for me since I'm using the AK2i.

    Is there some parental thing to set up so you can't mess with updates?
     
  2. Etkar.H

    Etkar.H GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    228
    47
    Jul 26, 2009
    Norway
    Earth
    Same situation for me. :/
     
  3. The Milkman

    The Milkman GBATemp's Official Asshat Milkman

    Member
    3,471
    1,113
    Jan 12, 2011
    United States
    Throwing milk at the bitches!
    Sorry, bad info, you can disable updates but you have to disable general internet, I do think that only the R4i carts were blocked though, sorry.
     
    HtheB likes this.
  4. ComeTurismO

    ComeTurismO CTO

    Member
    2,944
    5,589
    Sep 18, 2011
    Canada
    4:54 PM
    I just did that last night. I think there are parental controls.
     
  5. Eerpow

    Eerpow *swoosh*

    Member
    2,069
    1,096
    Sep 14, 2009
    ERROR!
    Nope, you just have to remember to turn the wifi switch off every time your 3DS enters sleep mode in order to not download anything, it's too late now. In the mean time just don't press A and order another flashcart that's compatible with the newest updates, the eShop among other things makes it worth it. In any case you'll be forced to update once a new 3DS game demands a newer firmware.
     
    HtheB likes this.
  6. HtheB
    OP

    HtheB GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    626
    287
    May 15, 2006
    Netherlands
    Bize Her Yer Trabzon
    I'm still using version 4.3.0-10. If Acekard users update their consoles, it wouldn't work. So it IS a problem :)

    Edit: which option do I have to activate under parental controls? and somehow, I cant find anything about ''auto update''
     
  7. geoflcl

    geoflcl Permanent GBAtemp Newbie

    Member
    1,373
    79
    Jan 18, 2009
    United States
    This might not happen for every update, but last time I updated, after initially accepting the update, I was met with another confirmation screen, seemingly designed to ward off those that probably shouldn't to update the 3DS, such as someone borrowing it from a friend, or a child. (basically, it's a "Are you totally sure you want to update?" screen )

    So essentially, if your 3DS' procedure is anything like mine was (and it likely is; I don't have any parental controls set up), you'd have to accidentally press A twice to stir an accidental update! So I wouldn't worry terribly much! Of course, I wouldn't advise accepting the update just to see if the extra confirmation comes up! I implore you to control such curious urges, if they arise!

    Thanks for confirming that this no longer happens, Eerpow! Although by doing so, you've rendered half of my post as useless! :P

    Still, if you'd like to take extra measures against updating, try setting up Parental Controls, and seeing if it stops the boot-up update nagging. Suppposedly, certain aspects of the 3DS are disabled automatically simply by turning on Parental Controls, and this might include updates. I myself can't confirm if it does (as my 3DS is fully updated), so you'll have to see for yourself!
     
  8. Etkar.H

    Etkar.H GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    228
    47
    Jul 26, 2009
    Norway
    Earth
    I think I've found the solution. Turn on the wireless switch. Put your 3DS in sleep mode. Keep it on sleep mode for 5-10 seconds so that it can start downloading (and deleting the previous update.) Then open your 3DS and turn off the wireless switch. There you go! It deleted the previous update and started downloading the new one and you turned the wireless switch off while it was downloading the new update thus making it stop dead in it's tracks. Congratulations, your 3DS will now stop it's bitching.
     
  9. Eerpow

    Eerpow *swoosh*

    Member
    2,069
    1,096
    Sep 14, 2009
    ERROR!
    No, it's not like that anymore, hit A once and it's over. Happened to me by accident about 3 updates ago when AK2i was still a working supported flashcart. Didn't matter though since I updated the AK on a DS later.

    Right now I have an XL on latest and an original 3DS that I'm keeping on old pre AK2i block firmware in the highly unlikely case a public exploit comes, it's not even connected to a network.
     
    geoflcl likes this.
  10. jedivulcan

    jedivulcan Newbie

    Newcomer
    3
    2
    Apr 2, 2013
    Taiwan
    The update is saved to a temporary directory in the internal storage. There's no way to delete it and stop the notifications unless you wipe the system to factory settings. It's extreme and you'll lose eShop access until you setup WiFi and update. The contents of your SD card will be unusable and you'll have to start fresh there too.
     
  11. dehry

    dehry GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    161
    78
    Jun 29, 2012
    United States
    One of the earlier updates actually removed any parental controls being needed to update the system.