How to play SNES on DS?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by dOoBiX, Aug 15, 2006.

Aug 15, 2006

How to play SNES on DS? by dOoBiX at 2:55 AM (3,066 Views / 0 Likes) 18 replies

  1. dOoBiX
    OP

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I downloaded Snezziboy v0.25 and used it to make my .smc.gba file. The readme file says:
    So I did that and got:
    .smc.gba
    .smc.sav
    .smc.sci

    I put those 3 files in my SD card and run it in my SuperCard, but after the Gameboy Advance load screen, the screen just goes all white... Why doesn't it work? I tried a few roms and all of them show a white screen.

    I also tried the same thing with snesDS, but the same thing happens; there's only a white screen. Please help me! I really want to play SNES games on my DS! [​IMG]
     
  2. JPH

    Banned JPH Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    6,892
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah, I could never get SNES to play on my Supercard either...
     
  3. Vince989

    Former Staff Vince989 Still lurking around, sometimes...

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    1,429
    Location:
    Quebec, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    It seems you are just doing the opposite during patching : you end up having a .sci, which implies RealTime Saver is on, and you end up with .gba, which means it's not compressed either... [​IMG]

    Blue means "on" , gray means "off"... [​IMG]

    - Vince989
     
  4. dafatkid27

    Member dafatkid27 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2004
    Messages:
    486
    Country:
    United States
    Not all games (not many actually) work with Snezziboy. Also, instead of using Snezziboy, I'd recommend checking out SnezziDS. Get that here. Then, check out the SnezziDS compatibility wiki here. Lastly, you'll need the SuperDAT file, which you'll rename to Snezzi.dat (if you don't have it already). You can find the latest DAT here. Also, the first link I gave you will bring you to the Pocketheaven subforum for the Snezzis. Look for more info there.
     
  5. dOoBiX
    OP

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Hmm, the first link you posted takes us to a topic called [Snezziboy] v0.25. That's what I used... I can't find the download for SnezziDS [​IMG]

    I looked in that forum and found someone who had the exact problem I had, but he got it to work... but it still doesn't work for me... so I replied to that topic. I hope they can help me [​IMG]
     
  6. Kagaden

    Newcomer Kagaden Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    71
    Country:
    United States
    It hasn't been released yet.
     
  7. dOoBiX
    OP

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Actually, I unchecked the stuff in the Options tab. After reading your post, I right-clicked the rom in the Game List tab, went to properties, and unchecked those... now I don't have the .sav and .sci files and Street Fighter 2 works now! [​IMG]

    However, it is really slow... This is the only game I want to play. [​IMG]
     
  8. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Here you can get SnezziDS. It runs at full speed, but is not compatible with all games.
     
  9. dOoBiX
    OP

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    I used SnezziDS for Street Fighter 2 and it was slow [​IMG]
     
  10. jeffkong

    Member jeffkong GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2003
    Messages:
    393
    Country:
    United States
    I couldn't get it to work, but on those Pocketheaven links it suggested renaming the .gba outputted files to .nds ones

    I did, but when I try to convert the renamed file with Supercard I get an "Access Violation" error and doesn't convert it at all

    help!
     
  11. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    Don't use the SC software, just rename it to .nds and copy it over to your card.

    dOoBiX, I think the actual original Street Fighter 2 IS slow, so try SF2 Turbo and see if that's faster.
     
  12. dOoBiX
    OP

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    Here's what I tried:
    Street Fighter 2 :: Slow
    Street Fighter 2 Turbo :: Slow
    Street Fighter Alpha 2 :: Stays at black screen, but L+R+START shows the configuration
    Super Street Fighter 2 :: Slow

    [​IMG]
     
  13. 5uck3rpunch

    Member 5uck3rpunch Surf Monster!

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2004
    Messages:
    679
    Location:
    Texas - USA
    Country:
    United States
    SNES ShadowRun would be awesome to play on the DS. GREAT game!
     
  14. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    dOoBiX, did you use the snesadvance.dat from SNESDS / SNESAdvance? Rename it to Snezzi.dat and it should speed up the games. If that doesn't help then I don't know...
     
  15. dOoBiX
    OP

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    YES! Street Figther works great now! It only has some graphical background errors. Thanks SpaceJump! [​IMG]

    Do you know how to get Y and X to work? [​IMG]
     
  16. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    If you cannot use X and Y then you are using Snezziboy which is slow for most games. It's for GBA, SnezziDS for DS.
     
  17. dOoBiX
    OP

    Banned dOoBiX Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Country:
    United States
    OHhhh! Thanks again SpaceJump!!! [​IMG]

    Snezzi DS >create> ROM.smc.gba >rename> ROM.smc.gba.nds

    It has sound now and it works great! The top screen has the game but the bottom screen is white... is it like that for everyone? I would like the bottom screen to be off to save some battery life [​IMG]
     
  18. ryohki

    Member ryohki GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    345
    Country:
    Australia
    what is it you're supposed to do with snesadvance.dat?
    where do you put it after you've renamed it?
     
  19. SpaceJump

    Member SpaceJump Where's my new 2D-Metroid?

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,648
    Location:
    Zebes
    Country:
    Germany
    That's normal. Hopefully the bottom screen will be turned off in the next release.

    The snesadvance.dat should only be used for Snezziboy (rename it to Snezzi.dat and put it into the folder of Snezziboy). SnezziDS doesn't need it cause it's fast enough.
     

Share This Page