Tutorial How to play NDS Games in HD Widescreen (16:9, 21:9, 32:9)!

Deleted member 440156

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
272
Country
United States
I typed that, but no text appeared. Did I do it wrong?
upload_2021-5-1_13-54-55.png
 

TSP184

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 26, 2018
Messages
68
Trophies
0
Age
17
XP
539
Country
France
If you open PowerShell as Admin, then type
Code:
cd "C:/folder/where/desmumar/is"
and then proceed to type
Code:
.\DeSmuMAR.exe
it should then provide you with a log of text. If so, what does it state?
Understood, thanks.
 

hoshea

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Mar 17, 2015
Messages
17
Trophies
0
Age
27
Location
Surabaya, Indonesia
XP
211
Country
Indonesia
Quite odd. Perhaps you are needing to install .NET Core 3.1 Runtime: https://dotnet.microsoft.com/download/dotnet/3.1

I'm just curious, so I tried to redownload Desmume through Desmumar,

Code:
There's no "DeSmuME.exe" next to DeSmuMAR, want to automatically download the latest Dev build? (y/n)
yDownloading...
Fetching API Data of AppVeyor: zeromus/desmume
 + Obtained
 + Job ID ihjh5nqrcgm4bv64 discovered
Downloading DeSmuME-VS2019-x64-Release.exe Job Artifact...
 - Failed! A Web Exception occured: The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found.
Failed to download DeSmuME, closing DeSmuMAR...

I'm guessing there's something wrong with the Desmume's artifact links.. maybe,
Know nothing abut Appveyor-thingy, I'm just guessing though.
 

PRAGMA

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
2,201
Trophies
1
Location
127.0.0.1
Website
pragma.pw
XP
4,553
Country
Ireland
Just tried that; Same result. My laptop is brand-new, so maybe there's something else I haven't installed?
I'm really not sure then

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

I'm just curious, so I tried to redownload Desmume through Desmumar,

Code:
There's no "DeSmuME.exe" next to DeSmuMAR, want to automatically download the latest Dev build? (y/n)
yDownloading...
Fetching API Data of AppVeyor: zeromus/desmume
 + Obtained
 + Job ID ihjh5nqrcgm4bv64 discovered
Downloading DeSmuME-VS2019-x64-Release.exe Job Artifact...
 - Failed! A Web Exception occured: The remote server returned an error: (404) Not Found.
Failed to download DeSmuME, closing DeSmuMAR...

I'm guessing there's something wrong with the Desmume's artifact links.. maybe,
Know nothing abut Appveyor-thingy, I'm just guessing though.
Yes, so, AppVeyor only stores artifacts for each commit for 1 month. https://www.appveyor.com/docs/packaging-artifacts/#artifacts-retention-policy

The last commit was 1 month ago, hence right now, there's no pre-compiled builds available for download so the script fails to find one :(
 

Deleted member 440156

Active Member
Newcomer
Joined
Jan 14, 2018
Messages
39
Trophies
0
XP
272
Country
United States
So, I decided to use the Retroarch version, and I'm trying to figure out which aspect ratio I need to make both screens 16:9. I guessed it was 16:18 (8:9). That wasn't a preset ratio, so I used the custom ratio to set it to 640x720. Is this correct? I just wanted to check, because it does look a bit off, but that might just be the widescreen hack I used.
 
Last edited by Deleted member 440156,

PRAGMA

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 29, 2015
Messages
2,201
Trophies
1
Location
127.0.0.1
Website
pragma.pw
XP
4,553
Country
Ireland
So, I decided to use the Retroarch version, and I'm trying to figure out which aspect ratio I need to make both screens 16:9. I guessed it was 16:18 (8:9). That wasn't a preset ratio, so I used the custom ratio to set it to 640x720. Is this correct? I just wanted to check, because it does look a bit off, but that might just be the widescreen hack I used.
If you're setting an Aspect Ratio (not resolution) then using resolutions as your aspect ratio is just being inefficient. E.g. 1920x1080 is the same as 16x9, innefficient. Anyway, I always recommend people to use the aspect ratio 16:10, regardless what system they are on as it provides much cleaner linear pixel scaling compared to 16:9.
16/9: 1.77777777778* repeating
16/10: 1.6

Not what it does, but, imagine upscaling pixels by a factor 1.77777777778* repeating compared to a clean 1.6

Ozoihbi.png


Here's an example of the inefficient non-linear pixel scaling that can happen in odd cases like this where either the aspect ratio is non-linear, or the window combined with the aspect ratio is non-linear (aka window is slightly too long or not long enough by even 1 pixel, or the aspect ratio used in the cheat is off by even the smallest amount)
 
Last edited by PRAGMA,

asorion

New Member
Newbie
Joined
May 18, 2021
Messages
1
Trophies
0
Age
28
XP
12
Country
Germany
jsut found this thread and tried everythin. my problem is when ever i startDeSmuMAR it jsut isntantly closes on me. its in admin mode and in the right folder
 

PacaPaw

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Dec 17, 2020
Messages
7
Trophies
0
XP
40
Country
Argentina
Can anyone post the codes for Pokémon games (Eur) in 16:10 aspect ratio? I want to play them in my Twilight Menu ++ with widescreen mode activated and see how they look! Thanksss
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo: Grand Theft Auto V on mobil looks awesome