how to play gamecube ISO/ROM's on a wii?h

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Haloman800, Mar 11, 2010.

Mar 11, 2010
  1. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, how do I play gamecube roms/iso's on a wii console? I know I can with a wode but I'm not dropping 200 and my wiis mobility over it.

    Are there any emulators needed or how does that work?

    Thanks in advance.
     
  2. Det1re

    Member Det1re det1re.de

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,272
    Location:
    Germany
    Country:
    Germany
    cMIOS + GC Backup Launcher + ISO's burned on disc.
     
  3. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    wont work if ur wii is new and has the new D3-2 drive in it

    but what should work on old or new wii's is booting GC ISO's off an sd card (sd gecko required) once SD boot is released, more info HERE
     
  4. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    + cIOS (sure I read thats needed too for cMIOS)

    If you download them you might get .gcm files, just rename the extension to .iso
    This is sometimes a common Q with peeps new to GC backups, also a lot of scene releases are not .rar but .001, .002 etc You can join these type files with winrar, 7zip etc

    Some other common Qs....

    Can you fit more than 1 on a DVD ?
    Yes, get an app called GCOS or GC Multi maker. They can be shrunk down from the 1.4GB so you can fit quite a few on a DVD

    Can you save to SD card or NAND ?
    No you need a GC mem card.

    Can you play the games with a WiiMote ?
    No you need a GC pad.

    Do they work from USB ?
    Not a softmod solution, you need hardware for that (but looks like you googled that already [​IMG]

    Can you play them on a pc ?
    Yes, get dolphin.
     
  5. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States

    Thank you so much for the specific and very helpful information, I have a few questions though:

    I don't quite understand "Do they work from USB ? Not a softmod solution, you need hardware for that"

    Do you mean I would need something like the WODE? Or could I copy them onto my 1tb external hard drive and run them from that?

    Regarding above question, if you can't run from USB, is the only way to run it through a disk?

    Thank you.


    (Also, I apologize for the bad grammar in the title and the post, I wrote them on my phone, I'm on my PC now.)
     
  6. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    for portability google flatmii fusion
     
  7. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah you need sometihng like a WODE to play from a HDD.
    Softmodding will let you play from dvd no probs though [​IMG]


    I'm gonna go google this flatmii fusion you talk about Wiisel [​IMG]
    hmm, it seems crap...what's the point in it ? To play games from dvds ? From the website I can't see anything cool
     
  8. Haloman800
    OP

    Member Haloman800 a real gril

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2009
    Messages:
    1,596
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks everyone for all of your help. I'm going to look into playing backups from disks.

    I hope sometime in the future something is released to play GC games from an HDD without any type of hard-mod.
     
  9. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    flatmii fusion adds iso's from sdhc.
    sundrivers adds internal sata but takes away the drive
    wode has sd, usb & dvd loading with a portable drive and and wode attatched to the wii it really wont remove that much portability from the wii it just means taking the stand and hdd with you.
     
  10. Slimmmmmm

    Member Slimmmmmm GBAtemp MoNkEeE

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2007
    Messages:
    1,687
    Location:
    the land of lol
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the info Wiisel.

    imho the WODE is the best choice, but that's just my opinion.
    I'm really, really wanting a couple of WODES, but moneys a bit tight just now.
     
  11. Wiisel

    Member Wiisel GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,182
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Yeah WODE has to be the best option on the market at the moment for none disc loading of GC It may pay to wait for the WODE Elite or Lite depending on your needs or alternatively SUN-HD and Flatzii are comming.

    As a mod and a WODE user tho I should say get a WODE lol
     
  12. jbogart1973

    Member jbogart1973 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2010
    Messages:
    166
    Country:
    Canada
    I want to play my GC game roms but i dont want this WODE thing (no disc backups) on my 4.3 wii but if im understanding u right ur saying there is no app or emulator of any kind out there that will do that ?
    And any one know why u can play other roms games like atari 2600 coleco etc,.... but not GC Games?
     
  13. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,122
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Easy there with the necrobumping, man. You never know what kind of outdated info you may dig up. [​IMG]


    At the time that was written (little over a year ago), that was correct. New wii's shipped (and still ship) with drives that don't read backup discs, and wode WAS the only viable option. For a while, there was talk about Crediar working on DIOS MIOS, which was a software only solution...but the project got scrapped not long after it was proven to be not impossible (in truth, however, it was just too complex).
    ...but since then, there is a new way: it's called swiss. But before I tell more about that, I have to answer your other question:


    these games are emulated. This means that the application pretty much creates the exact same structure as the original platform. The process of doing that, however, requires a much more powerfull machine than the original machine was. Two or three times as powerfull is no exception, and even then, things aren't always as smooth. It also depends on the architecture of the machine you DO have. The PSP, for example, isn't that more powerfull than a PSX, but because the hardware is so similar, it can be emulated more easily.
    The gamecube, obviously, was quite a powerfull machine. Not as powerfull as the wii, but any "full emulation" would cause even the simplest of games to slow down to a crawl. As such, the only way to get gamecube games to work on the first place is to use the similar architecture and alter that to have the exact same structure as the original platform.
    And the gamecube didn't have USB ports. As such, they simply cannot be found. It's the same reason why you can't use wiimotes or classic controllers (the gamecube didn't have bluetooth modules).

    So...with nothing but the original gear of the gamecube available, what CAN you do? Simply put: use the gear that the gamecube had. And that's what swiss does: it uses an SD gecko, plugged in a GC memory slot, to load the games from an SD card.
    swiss is actually gamecube homebrew. But it works on the wii just as well. provided you have an SD gecko (which costs as low as 5 bucks at certain places). For info, check the tutorial section: there's at least one good guide about it.
     
  14. Philly_Cheese

    Newcomer Philly_Cheese Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Country:
    United States
    The reason they cannot load from SD or HD is because the gamecube didn't have either of these. When a GC game is started the Wii shuts off all access to everything the GC didn't have and slows down the processor to 400mhz basically turning it into a gamecube. From a software aspect the wii becomes identical to the gamecube, without some kind of hardware to get around this nothing can be done. Unfortunately softmods have been attempted to make gamecube games run through SD/HD but all of them have failed badly.
     

Share This Page