how to partition a HD so it works on window and the wii

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by cheatmaster5, Apr 2, 2009.

  1. cheatmaster5
    OP

    Member cheatmaster5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    i want my HD to work on the wii and my computer
    can that be done
     
  2. HexaUK

    Newcomer HexaUK Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2009
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    United States
    If you create a patition and format it as something windows can use (fat32, ntfs etc) and then create an unformated simple volume and use the wii to format it, you can use the ntfs/fat32 partition in windows and the wii file system partition on the wii.

    For example, I have a 500gb ximeta usb enclosure. I created a 340GB ntfs partition and used the remainder to create a 110GB simple volume and did not format it. I then used the wii to format the 110GB partition to wbfs.
     
  3. cheatmaster5
    OP

    Member cheatmaster5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    when i do it that way the wii doesn't ask me to partition anything
     
  4. TidusWulf

    Member TidusWulf Real Aloha

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2007
    Messages:
    569
    Location:
    Hawaii
    Country:
    United States
    not gonna happen. it's a WBFS format which stands for "wii backup file system" so you're just ognna have to live with it.
     
  5. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    yes it can

    1. plug your usb device in pc.
    2. in start menu/run menu type compmgmt.msc (for xp dunno if its different for vista)
    3. in storage menu to left select disk management.
    4. select the device, right click and choose delete partition
    5. now click it again and choose create partition
    6. create the partition as a primary NTFS and select how much space to allocate and assign a drive letter. i have a 320gb hdd so i just used 160gb giving wii and pc half.
    7.Now use a wbfs program to format the drive making sure to select the correct drive letter and make the partition wbfs.
    9. when its done run compmgmt.msc again.
    10. select the device again and select the space thats unallocated.
    11. choose create partition and repeat steps 3 - 6 again.

    your done both drive letters should show up in pc DO NOT SELECT THE drive letter you gave to wii. if you do it will ask you to format and you lose wiis WBFS.

    now just use the wbfs of your choice to transfer ISO over to the drive letter you selected for wii storage. the other space you can use for pc stuff.

    EASY
     
  6. fiveighteen

    Member fiveighteen High Hopes and Low Expectations

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,750
    Country:
    United States
    On my WD 750GB HDD I created two partitions, both NTFS, 575GB and 125GB. The Wii asked which partition I wanted to format and I formatted the 125GB one. So I suppose it can be formatted to WBFS from NTFS. Give it a try.
     
  7. cheatmaster5
    OP

    Member cheatmaster5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    thanks
    got it working
    you guys are gods
     
  8. cheatmaster5
    OP

    Member cheatmaster5 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    298
    Country:
    United States
    can you still use the windows program to put ios on the wbs or whatever its called drive
     
  9. dmonkey21

    Member dmonkey21 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    370
    Country:
    United States
    yes you can. The windows program acts in the same way as the Wii does in USb Loader. Just tell the windows program to use the drive that is formatted to WBFS (It should be the drive letter that Windows says "needs to be formatted" if you look in My Computer. If it doesn't show up, you probably forgot to give it a drive letter when you created the partition, open up disk management and rename the partition and it should work).
     
  10. qbert

    Newcomer qbert Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    70
    Country:
    Italy

    My HDD is 2.5 MEDIACOM Samsung HM3200 USB device - 320 GB

    It's ok up to point 8. The loader is able to format correctly the hdd but when I connect it to PC, WBFS tool doesn't recognize it, not even re-format. Not even if it has pre-formatted in ntfs. Any idea?
     
  11. shanefromoz

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    Hi,

    I have a toshiba 160gb portable hard drive that i connected to the wii and formatted using usb loader.
    When i plug it in to my desktop pc with xp it cant see the drive but when i plug it into my laptop with vista it can see it.
    Do you know how i can fix it so it can be seen in xp?
    Also i got told to format with fat32 first then wbfs and it should see it would that work?

    Cheers
     
  12. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    ok dont use the loader to format its crap do this instead

    1. plug your usb device in pc.
    2. in start menu/run menu type compmgmt.msc (for xp dunno if its different for vista)
    3. in storage menu to left select disk management.
    4. select the device, right click and choose delete partition
    5. now click it again and choose create partition
    6. create the partition as a primary NTFS and select how much space to allocate and assign a drive letter. i have a 320gb hdd so i just used 160gb giving wii and pc half.
    7.Now use a wbfs program to format the drive making sure to select the correct drive letter and make the partition wbfs.
    9. when its done run compmgmt.msc again.
    10. select the device again and select the space thats unallocated.
    11. choose create partition and repeat steps 3 - 6 again.

    if you already used loader run compmgmt.msc delete the partition and start again.
     
  13. shanefromoz

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    What im saying is that when i connect to pc with xp it will not see the drive but with vista it will.
     
  14. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia
    weird vista must format different
     
  15. Master Mo

    Member Master Mo F.R.E.E.

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    2,176
    Location:
    Man Mo Temple
    Country:
    Germany
    As far as I can see it is all just a Vista problem. Everything works just fine when I`m using my XP-PC... But when I try to use my Vista-Notebook I get the "could not upen drive: no error"-error... So there is something in Vista, that doesn`t let the tool to use the partition...
     
  16. Bladexdsl

    Member Bladexdsl ZOMG my posts...it's over 9000!!!

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2008
    Messages:
    14,347
    Location:
    Queensland
    Country:
    Australia

    that's why i never upgraded
     
  17. shanefromoz

    Member shanefromoz GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2007
    Messages:
    813
    Country:
    Australia
    Well for me it works fine on vista but not on xp.
    Very weird.
     

Share This Page