?
  1. Yes. Thanks you.

    8 vote(s)
    72.7%
  2. No.

    3 vote(s)
    27.3%
  1. HRudyPlayZ

    OP HRudyPlayZ The panda god that does everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    France
    Hello, guys, if you use homebrew launcher or other things, you probably saw this message:

    [​IMG]

    Well, maybe not this one but a similar one :)

    In this post, i will explain you how to remove this messages and access eshop,.. without updating:


    I - Launch system titles / fonctions that requires updating without update

    1. Launch your Homebrew Launcher
    2. Launch "ntr-ctrhttpwn" by Yellows8
    3. When it's finished, press START and return to the home menu
    (if you are still on the homebrew launcher press START + X)
    4. Access the eshop...

    5. Enjoy! :yay3ds:

    NB: If in some cases it doesn't work, try with A9LH enabled.


    II - Remove the message "An update is available" when you power on your 3DS
    1. Go to your internet settings, Connection Settings
    2. Select your connection and click edit
    3. Go to DNS and set the option to "No"
    4. Go to the advanced settings and type in:

    Primary: 168.235.092.108
    Secondary: 081.004.127.020

    (Yes, this is the same DNS for the Wii U:))

    5. Click OK, Save, test it! And reboot your console!

    6. Enjoy! :yay3ds:





    Tell me if it worked,
    HRudy94.


    (Sorry for my english, i'm french)
     
    Last edited by HRudyPlayZ, Apr 13, 2017
    cvskid and kbmarinha like this.
  2. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Cubi™ Bring your cyute pals!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,773
    Country:
    Antarctica
    This is a helpful guide, but if someone is on an OFW lower than 11.3, than they really should just install a CFW instead. There's really no reason to stay on an older OFW when the same homebrew that worked on 11.2, now works on 11.3 (minus the kernel exploits.)
     
    Ryccardo likes this.
  3. xXDungeon_CrawlerXx
    This message by xXDungeon_CrawlerXx has been removed from public view by Issac, Apr 9, 2017, Reason: One word post, not helpful.
    Apr 9, 2017 Show
  4. HRudyPlayZ

    OP HRudyPlayZ The panda god that does everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    France
    Yes, i personally use Luma... but i speaked about homebrew for people who uses linkers (it works as well...)
     
  5. Lilith Valentine

    Lilith Valentine GBATemp's Cubi™ Bring your cyute pals!
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,773
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Well I am not saying it's a bad idea. Personally I think it's completely pointless to update anymore because the Big N isn't introducing anything worth updating to. Unless you want a MORE STABLE SYSTEM! Otherwise the updates are just junk.
    Although IIRC, all CFWs actually block update and block the update message. So I guess this is really only useful for homebrew users.
     
    comput3rus3r and Subtle Demise like this.
  6. HRudyPlayZ

    OP HRudyPlayZ The panda god that does everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    France
    but in fact luma does still say the message "an update is available" for me... (not now because i used DNS :) )
     
  7. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,097
    Country:
    Italy
    An autorunning CFW would still be better in my opinion, because:

    - flashcards may be more convenient than installing 3DS games, but how would you get your DSiware/GBA fix? :)
    - DNS only applies to the connection you set up, ie not to Nintendo Zones or Download Play
    - with A9LH, a CFW with kernel write protection there's no point for most in not updating anyway!
     
  8. HRudyPlayZ

    OP HRudyPlayZ The panda god that does everything
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2016
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    France
    And a simple question: does anyone knows how to autoboot a cia or 3dsx file with luma + a9lh (for autobooting the ctr-httpwn)
     
  9. Heran Bago

    Heran Bago Where do puyo come from?
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,087
    Country:
    United States
    Very good post. Should also be in the tutorials section.
     
  10. Why would you need to do that? With A9LH and luma you can safely update to the latest version.
     
  11. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,097
    Country:
    Italy
    3dsx - impossible (although you could downgrade and install menuhax if you were really bored, or recompile hblauncher-loader to point directly to a different 3dsx then do as for a cia)

    cia - possible thanks to the "launch kernel with arguments", but no CFW has implemented this yet. If this were implemented, you could map buttons/menus to any installed title you want
     
  12. sonic1000

    sonic1000 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2014
    Messages:
    90
    Country:
    United States
    There's still no way to install CFW from stock on 11.3?
     
  13. xtheman

    xtheman GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2016
    Messages:
    5,837
    Country:
    United States
    No way yet, and likely won't be for a long time.
     
  14. Ev1l0rd

    Ev1l0rd (⌐◥▶◀◤) Developer - noirscape
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,947
    Country:
    Netherlands
    there is a flag that you can set that makes them autoboot, circumventing the home menu (it doesn't even get loaded). The only problem is getting rid of it. It's used for store demos.

    I'm not sure if that works for CIA files tho. It works at least with gamecards.
     
  15. proflayton123

    proflayton123 Sakura思い
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2016
    Messages:
    6,024
    Country:
    Japan
    Will test the II part !
     
  16. CeeDee

    CeeDee Oh, fishsticks. I'm nauseous...
    Member

    Joined:
    May 4, 2014
    Messages:
    4,524
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]
     
  17. Ev1l0rd

    Ev1l0rd (⌐◥▶◀◤) Developer - noirscape
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,947
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Shut it down and wake up to find it automagically installed next morning. Now with additional spyware and a four hour long setup! (tm)
     
  18. Hayleia

    Hayleia GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2015
    Messages:
    1,485
    Country:
    France
    Your link is wrong. Of course it had to happen on the one link I want to click in a month :P
     
  19. tomx86

    tomx86 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2015
    Messages:
    638
    Country:
    Poland
    That removes the message "An update is available" to but only on sysNAND (but if you do this on sysNAND first and then make a emuNAND, it will work for emuNAND to):
    1.Hold L+R+UP+A, and turn on the console.
    2.Wait for it to start, and touch CANCEL.
     
  20. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,097
    Country:
    Italy
    Hayleia likes this.
  21. CaptainHIT

    CaptainHIT GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2011
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Turkey
    Both ways not working on my new 3DS on 11.2 with Luma. When using first way, I get an error. When using second way I can't access eShop. Though the update request will be not shown.

    Sent from my HTC 10 using Tapatalk
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - annoyed, updates, system