How to mount PKG and ISO files on IRISMAN?

Eveldee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
210
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
817
Country
France
iirc you have to press triangle once in the file manager, it'll show a menu with an option to mount it (at least for pkg). ISOs should be detected automatically if put in the right folder (PS3ISO for PS3 games, PS2ISO for PS2, ...)
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,324
Country
Portugal
iirc you have to press triangle once in the file manager, it'll show a menu with an option to mount it (at least for pkg). ISOs should be detected automatically if put in the right folder (PS3ISO for PS3 games, PS2ISO for PS2, ...)

That's what I recall but nothing shows up when I do that. Weird.

It doesn't detect PS2 games on FAT32's/NTFS's external HDD's PS2ISO folder, only in the PS3's PS2ISO folder.

It doesn't detect as well PS2 games in the CUE/BIN formats in the PS3's PS2ISO folder and also in FAT32's/NTFS's external HDD's PS2ISO folder, only in PS3's PSXISO folder and in FAT32's/NTFS's external HDD's PSXISO folder. I thought only PS1 games went to the PSXISO folder but it looks like PS2 games that are in the CUE/BIN format do too.

EDIT: Now the "Mount + Exit to XMB" setting shows up and I'm able to mount PKG files on NTFS partitions but it doesn't work for PS2 games but to be honest I don't recall if it ever did.
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,
  • Like
Reactions: Eveldee

Eveldee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
210
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
817
Country
France
PS2 games can't be played on external drives, you can at best copy them to the PS3 hdd (webman does that if you try to play a ps2 game from external drive) but that's all. Glad that it at least works for pkg
 
  • Like
Reactions: Windows_10_User

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
524
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
766
Country
United States
That's what I recall but nothing shows up when I do that. Weird.

It doesn't detect PS2 games on FAT32's/NTFS's external HDD's PS2ISO folder, only in the PS3's PS2ISO folder.

It doesn't detect as well PS2 games in the CUE/BIN formats in the PS3's PS2ISO folder and also in FAT32's/NTFS's external HDD's PS2ISO folder, only in PS3's PSXISO folder and in FAT32's/NTFS's external HDD's PSXISO folder. I thought only PS1 games went to the PSXISO folder but it looks like PS2 games that are in the CUE/BIN format do too.

EDIT: Now the "Mount + Exit to XMB" setting shows up and I'm able to mount PKG files on NTFS partitions but it doesn't work for PS2 games but to be honest I don't recall if it ever did.
Iso is good fro NTFS drives. Make sure its MBR and not GPT.
You can convert ps2 bins to iso many ways. I use OPL on PC to convert.
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,324
Country
Portugal
PS2 games can't be played on external drives, you can at best copy them to the PS3 hdd (webman does that if you try to play a ps2 game from external drive) but that's all. Glad that it at least works for pkg

What do you think I should do, copy PS2 games to an external HDD and then use FileZilla's File Manager to copy them to the PS3 or just FTP them the PS3? The former might be faster but the second has two processes so I don't know which one is faster overall.

Iso is good fro NTFS drives. Make sure its MBR and not GPT.
You can convert ps2 bins to iso many ways. I use OPL on PC to convert.

I put PS3 ISOs on my external HDD's NTFS partition and I already download PS2 ISOs, so no need to convert them.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Donnie-Burger

Donnie-Burger

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 27, 2021
Messages
524
Trophies
0
Website
www.youtube.com
XP
766
Country
United States
What do you think I should do, copy PS2 games to an external HDD and then use FileZilla's File Manager to copy them to the PS3 or just FTP them the PS3? The former might be faster but the second has two processes so I don't know which one is faster overall.



I put PS3 ISOs on my external HDD's NTFS partition and I already download PS2 ISOs, so no need to convert them.
USB should look like internal does:

PSXISO
PS2ISO
PS3ISO

PS2 games get copied over to internal when launching for the firt time from usb - You can ftp from computer or do it through the PS3 when loading the PS2 game.
 

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,324
Country
Portugal
USB should look like internal does:

PSXISO
PS2ISO
PS3ISO

PS2 games get copied over to internal when launching for the firt time from usb - You can ftp from computer or do it through the PS3 when loading the PS2 game.

But they don't even show up on my IRISMAN while on the external HDD so how can I launch them? You're telling me IRISMAN prompts me to copy them to the PS3? But each way is faster, copy them to the external HDD and afterwards to the PS4 or FTP them right away to the PS3?

Also, which one is faster, running a game from PS3 or from external USB? Do we need to connect the USB port to the PS3's right USB port or just when using PS3Xploit?
 
Last edited by Windows_10_User,

Eveldee

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Aug 16, 2019
Messages
210
Trophies
0
Age
21
XP
817
Country
France
But they don't even show up on my IRISMAN while on the external HDD so how can I launch them? You're telling me IRISMAN prompts me to copy them to the PS3? But each way is faster, copy them to the external HDD and afterwards to the PS4 or FTP them right away to the PS3?

Also, which one is faster, running a game from PS3 or from external USB? Do we need to connect the USB port to the PS3's right USB port or just when using PS3Xploit?
Both USB ports are USB 2.0 as per wikipedia so it shouldn't change anything to play the drive in either port, I've only seen a limitation like this on the Wii.

As for which method is faster, you'll have to try it yourself but both ways should take around the same time as copying files from external hdd to the PS3 is slow too anyway
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,093
Trophies
2
XP
19,765
Country
United States
Pkg's should be installed on the system last i checked, or does IrisMan has the option to play pkg files without doing so? Never heard of such a thing..
game data tool can do it, but there are several caveats: it doesn't work with all games, the hdd must be fat32, and installing pkg files to external is slow (like over an hour for a large pkg), same with installing game data. it's just a remapping of the game folder. it's not worth it considering.
 
  • Like
Reactions: CoolMe

Windows_10_User

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Dec 31, 2018
Messages
881
Trophies
0
XP
1,324
Country
Portugal
game data tool can do it, but there are several caveats: it doesn't work with all games, the hdd must be fat32, and installing pkg files to external is slow (like over an hour for a large pkg), same with installing game data. it's just a remapping of the game folder. it's not worth it considering.

Do you know if it's worth installing programs like Internet Download Manager? I don't know if they really speed up downloads but it looks like Internet Download Manager downloads parts of the files and then joins them. The latter takes a lot if time if the downloaded files are big (not to mention the time it takes to download the files' parts) so what's the advantage of these programs? Internet Download Manager often can't download from some websites and I lose my download tixket because of that.
 

godreborn

Welcome to the Machine
Member
Joined
Oct 10, 2009
Messages
30,093
Trophies
2
XP
19,765
Country
United States
Do you know if it's worth installing programs like Internet Download Manager? I don't know if they really speed up downloads but it looks like Internet Download Manager downloads parts of the files and then joins them. The latter takes a lot if time if the downloaded files are big (not to mention the time it takes to download the files' parts) so what's the advantage of these programs? Internet Download Manager often can't download from some websites and I lose my download tixket because of that.
sounds like a waste of time using that.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Windows_10_User
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    DEMONGreninjaPG @ DEMONGreninjaPG: kennies your honry