How to make Nintendo Wii play games off of a harddrive

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by enferrari1, Nov 26, 2010.

  1. enferrari1
    OP

    Newcomer enferrari1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,
    I was wondering what I need to do to make my wii play games off of an external hard drive.
    It is version 4.1u and I am trying to use a Seagate 500GB external hard drive.
    I modded it via this tutorial: http://www.wiihacks.com/recommended-faqs-g...od-any-wii.html
    I followed all the steps and got the homebrew channel and the Neogamma channel.
    What else do I need to do? When I open the neogamma channel and click on load from usb it doesn't do anything.
     
  2. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Make sure you have a cios installed wich enable USB loading. CIOSX Rev 20 BASE 56 recommended.
    Format your HD to FAT or WBFS.

    You can use CFG Loader to format your HD.
    Place Games on your HD. For WBFS use WBFS manager.
    If you have fat you can use your PC OS.
    Play games.

    Take a look at modmii. This program can help you set up usbloading on your Wii. It's awesome!
     
  3. robbywu

    Newcomer robbywu Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2010
    Messages:
    86
    Location:
    Ohio
    Country:
    United States
  4. enferrari1
    OP

    Newcomer enferrari1 Newbie

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    United States
    How do I check what CIOS X I have? I am formatting the harddrive to FAT32 right now.
     
  5. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can't.
    Just use CIOSX installer rev 20.
    Choose wich slot you want to use ( 249 )> Choose base ios 56.
     
  6. fattest

    Member fattest GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2009
    Messages:
    308
    Country:
    United States
  7. ringwurm1984

    Newcomer ringwurm1984 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Location:
    Western Pa
    Country:
    United States
    Neogamma will say it at the bottom. im still on rev 17 and ive never had a problem loading a game through wiiflow. i run a 1tb seagate formatted to wbfs. on system menu 4.1u
     
  8. Hielkenator

    Member Hielkenator GBAtemp Psycho!

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2010
    Messages:
    4,176
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Yes all treu, As far as I know you can't see wich ios base is used. Slot and rev you can see.
    Only when booting a game from CFG loader it shows wich base has been used.
    Or use syscheck as mantioned before.
     

Share This Page