How to make Multi-Disc games working with GCOS?

Discussion in 'Nintendo GameCube' started by test84, Jan 18, 2008.

Jan 18, 2008
  1. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Hi,
    I managed to finally use GCOS successfully, But the question is how to burn games that are on multiple discs so that when the games requests other disc, I can manage to get it work with the burnt disc via GCOS.

    Like in RE REBIRTH it asks for second disk but it cannot find the second disk that is burnt in the same DVD5 disk.
     


  2. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    HEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEELP!
    I will not be online for a week! so please answer!
     
  3. Retal

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    If you really want a short term solution, I hear that buying the game works.
     
  4. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    -1 to Retal.
     
  5. Retal

    Member Retal GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    May 20, 2007
    Messages:
    914
    Location:
    England              Sex: Daily
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is a definite NO U.
     
  6. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    Retal -2.
     
  7. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I searched for hours and it seems that even if I burn them separately in two different disks, it wont still work since it will check for it being copy or not and after entering the game with first disk the copy protection decoy wont work with second disk inserted after first one.
     
  8. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    after another 2 hour of research, it seems that it has something to do with IGR but it doesnt work.

    Also about IGR, If I press the reset button the game resets, If I eject the game and re insert it in Resident Evil REBIRTH, it says that it is not a RE REMAKE disk 1 and please insert that disc, how should I enable IGR?
     
  9. Akuma147

    Newcomer Akuma147 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    Burning on two separate discs works. Are you trying this on Wii or Gamecube?
     
  10. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    GCOS only works on Wii AFAIK.

    Burning on seperate disks wont work on some games, like Metal Gear Solid, since it scans the disk again for security check and since it has first disk's trick into memory of wiikey, the second one doesnt match.

    Its said that RE 0 has this problem too.
     
  11. Akuma147

    Newcomer Akuma147 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    I have MGS and it works fine for me during the 2nd disc swap. I also have a Wiikey.

    Edit: Are you burning separate discs with GCOS on each disc with multiple games (Like disc1 of MGS on multi-disc 1 and disc2 of MGS on multi-disc2)? Or are you burning disc1 and disc2 as standalone without GCOS?
     
  12. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    no, stand alone ones.
    but my wiikey is clone probably and my MGS is J.

    does your resident evils (Zero, Rebirth) work this way too?
     
  13. Akuma147

    Newcomer Akuma147 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Location:
    CA
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, all RE's work, also Tales of Symphonia and Baten Kaitos.
    Don't know what's wrong with yours, but my 2 disc games are working fine, burning as standalone.
     
  14. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    I've read that when you put second disk in middle of the game (with first disk), the game got fooled by first disc and knows that as original/genuine but with second disk (which has different settings like MD5), it wont.
     
  15. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Dumbest quote of the year award.

    And just burn each disc on separate discs. It will work.
     
  16. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    arctic_flame, shut your mouth or I'll do it for you.
     
  17. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I've never failed to give precise and concise answers to all your questions, in many threads, despite having a quiet laugh about your newby-ness, so your threats aren't justified. Also, responding in that kind makes you look like a cretin.

    Note: GameCube Operating System was written for the Nintendo Gamecube.
     
  18. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States

    He meant Multi-Boot GCOS discs...because they hold over more than 1.46gb they only work on wii...

    I'm not sure why it doesn't work for you test. It should work fine, a lot of people use GCOS for this exact reason. (multi-disc games on one dvd5) have you googled around for some tutorials to see if there is something you could possibly try differently maybe?
     
  19. test84
    OP

    Member test84 GBAtemp's last ninja 2.

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2006
    Messages:
    3,685
    Location:
    Iran, Tehran.
    Country:
    Iran
    and how would that "GameCube Operating System" read DVD9? or even DVD5 which has multiple games which are on average size of 1.3GB?

    that GameCube Operating System is not able to read more than ~1.3GB of your disc, and anything beyond that is meant for Wii's GameCube Operating System mode. ok?

    And about newby-ness, dont let me start by answering to your ...
     
  20. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You can fit 3 or so games in 1.4 GB.

    Also, the Drive in the gamecube can read upto about 2 GB on DVD5 discs. Try it in GC-Linux.
     

Share This Page