Hacking How to make MFE player working??

leocamilo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
131
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
United States
Does anyone know what do I need to get MFE player working?? When I load it using the homebrew channel, all I get is a black screen with loads of letters scrolling very fast. When they stop, the program tells me that it couldn't find the file "mfe\mfe.bzs2" (or something like that, don't remember).
Where can I get this file? And how should the structure of folders be like? Can I play .avi files directly from my SD card, or just play a DVD??
Thanks a lot
 

leocamilo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
131
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
United States
Well, I finally got it to work, but when I select my video, it says: "Starting playback... May take a bit..." and stays in this screen for a loooong time. I pressed some buttons in my GC controller and it went back to the folders screen. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
 

Linguist

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
70
Country
Gambia, The
Some AVI-files don't work on my SD card with MFE.
My guess: MFE ist not supporting all codecs that could be in the avi-container.
Mplayer on Win or Linux can play all files.

Is there a list of all supported formats by MFE?
 

teq

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
1,232
Trophies
0
XP
5
Country
United States
The MFE only plays files with short names.

Spaces and odd characters cause it to load improperly or not at all.
 

leocamilo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
131
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
United States
well, considering the video I tried to watch was named 'blue seed 06.avi', I don't think it's a big name after all...
 

leocamilo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
131
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
United States
IT WORKED!! Thanks!!
But there is other problem though... after about 20 seconds, the video just freezes and the program crashes... I have to turn off my wii to get back to the wii menu. Can anyone help?
 

teq

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
1,232
Trophies
0
XP
5
Country
United States
QUOTE said:
well, considering the video I tried to watch was named 'blue seed 06.avi', I don't think it's a big name after all...

The space makes it long.

Short names have no spaces.


Trolly said:
Well just eliminate the spaces and numbers and it might help. And, yeah, does anyone know whether there's a list of the supported codecs? (Echoing what a lot of other people have said).

MPEG-1 (VCD) and MPEG-2 (SVCD/DVD/DVB) video
MPEG-4 ASP in all variants including DivX ;-), OpenDivX (DivX4), DivX 5 (Pro), XviD
MPEG-4 AVC aka H.264
Windows Media Video 7/8 (WMV1/2)
Windows Media Video 9 (WMV3) (using x86 DLL)
RealVideo 1.0, 2.0 (G2)
RealVideo 3.0 (RP8), 4.0 (RP9) (using Real libraries)
Sorenson v1/v3 (SVQ1/SVQ3), Cinepak, RPZA and other QuickTime codecs
DV video
3ivx
Intel Indeo3 (3.1, 3.2)
Intel Indeo 4.1 and 5.0 (using x86 DLL or XAnim codecs)
VIVO 1.0, 2.0, I263 and other H.263(+) variants (using x86 DLL)
MJPEG, AVID, VCR2, ASV2 and other hardware formats
FLI/FLC
HuffYUV
various old simple RLE-like formats

MPEG layer 1, 2, and 3 (MP3) audio
AC3/A52 (Dolby Digital) audio (software or SP/DIF)
AAC (MPEG-4 audio)
WMA (DivX Audio) v1, v2
WMA 9 (WMAv3), Voxware audio, ACELP.net etc (using x86 DLLs)
RealAudio: COOK, SIPRO, ATRAC3 (using Real libraries)
RealAudio: DNET and older codecs
QuickTime: Qclp, Q-Design QDMC/QDM2, MACE 3/6 (using QT libraries), ALAC
Ogg Vorbis audio
VIVO audio (g723, Vivo Siren) (using x86 DLL)
alaw/ulaw, (ms)gsm, pcm, *adpcm and other simple old audio formats


That's straight from the Mplayer website.
 

teq

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
May 13, 2008
Messages
1,232
Trophies
0
XP
5
Country
United States
leocamilo said:
IT WORKED!! Thanks!!
But there is other problem though... after about 20 seconds, the video just freezes and the program crashes... I have to turn off my wii to get back to the wii menu. Can anyone help?

Told you so.


First, see if it's the homebrew launcher and use the Twilight hack to load it.

Then, get Gspot Codec Information and report back with the Video and Audio codecs used.
 

leocamilo

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 27, 2007
Messages
131
Trophies
0
XP
121
Country
United States
Ok, I'll look right away and come back to tell you guys.

Edit: Where can I get this Gspot Codec Information???

Edit2: Ok, I got, how can I upload a picture to show you the information?
 

Linguist

Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 14, 2008
Messages
18
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
70
Country
Gambia, The
.h264 in an avi-container does not work for me.
According to the list codecs supported by mediaplayer it uses the x86 DLL for this. I guess this is not included in MFE.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    also holy shit i realized you can click the @ next to names in chat to tag users, how did i not notice this before
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    me when someone asks me who made the song "Runaway"
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Anybody here got a GDEMU?
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    I got a (presumed) clone from Aliexpress, but haven't installed yet
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    I've got a clone, it works fine, but I can't get it to play nice with my SDcard reader.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    like an sd card slot extension thing?
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Yeah, to load from (and save data to) an SD card plugged into the serial port.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    You test that extension thing through a regular usb reader on your pc? Could just be a shit one. Bought one for my 3d printer and it just straight up doesn't work
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    it can't be plugged into a USB reader (it's made from a regular SD card to USB adapter, but with the USB end modded to a Dreamcast serial plug)
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    It was working fine before I installed the GDEMU, but now the Dreamcast doesn't recognize it when I boot up Dreamshell.
    Gift
  • Sicklyboy @ Sicklyboy:
    ahhh I gotcha. yeah haven't looked at it that much so I'm not super familiar with the hardware
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Can't find any threads about this particular issue on GBAtemp or the wider intarwebz. Saw one video on YouTube that seemed relevant, but it was some dude with the same issue, no solutions offered in the comments. :/
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    my teacher was showing me something and i noticed they had gbatemp open in another window
    Gift
  • SpazzyShinobi @ SpazzyShinobi:
    when worlds collide
    +1
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    Your teacher is ONE OF US... ONE OF US...
    +2
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    they could be in this very chat, they could be any one of us
    Gift
  • MightyJAK @ MightyJAK:
    InB4 "Julie, get back to work on your homework, that assignment is due tomorrow."
    +1
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    god damn no one ever wants to talk to me but the MOMENT i start studying everyone got shit to say to me
    Gift
  • Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    (not you guys tho, you guys are cool :)
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    fuck how do i use emoticons within parenthesis
    Gift
  • Julie_Pilgrim @ Julie_Pilgrim:
    i left out the closing bracket but that just looks incomplete
    Gift
  • RichardTheKing @ RichardTheKing:
    https://gbatemp.net/chat/message/110146/view
    Imagine if that teacher was, I dunno, pingpong or DinohScene or some other mod or admin...that'd be something, huh.
    Gift
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The teacher just wanted to know what kind of perverted debauchery Julie was watching on the school computer instead of studying.
    Gift
    Veho @ Veho: The teacher just wanted to know what kind of perverted debauchery Julie was watching on the...