How to make MFE player working??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by leocamilo, May 25, 2008.

May 25, 2008
  1. leocamilo
    OP

    Member leocamilo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Does anyone know what do I need to get MFE player working?? When I load it using the homebrew channel, all I get is a black screen with loads of letters scrolling very fast. When they stop, the program tells me that it couldn't find the file "mfe\mfe.bzs2" (or something like that, don't remember).
    Where can I get this file? And how should the structure of folders be like? Can I play .avi files directly from my SD card, or just play a DVD??
    Thanks a lot
     


  2. WiiCrazy

    Member WiiCrazy Be water my friend!

    Joined:
    May 8, 2008
    Messages:
    2,391
    Location:
    Istanbul
    Country:
    Turkey
  3. leocamilo
    OP

    Member leocamilo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks!! Can I play .avi files directly from my SD card??
     
  4. thepspgamer

    Newcomer thepspgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    The Depths of Hell!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    you should be able to, it supports most file types
     
  5. leocamilo
    OP

    Member leocamilo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Well, I finally got it to work, but when I select my video, it says: "Starting playback... May take a bit..." and stays in this screen for a loooong time. I pressed some buttons in my GC controller and it went back to the folders screen. Does anyone know what I'm doing wrong?
     
  6. Linguist

    Newcomer Linguist Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    Some AVI-files don't work on my SD card with MFE.
    My guess: MFE ist not supporting all codecs that could be in the avi-container.
    Mplayer on Win or Linux can play all files.

    Is there a list of all supported formats by MFE?
     
  7. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    The MFE only plays files with short names.

    Spaces and odd characters cause it to load improperly or not at all.
     
  8. leocamilo
    OP

    Member leocamilo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    well, considering the video I tried to watch was named 'blue seed 06.avi', I don't think it's a big name after all...
     
  9. Trolly

    Member Trolly GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    1,720
    Location:
    Behind you! I know you looked!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Well just eliminate the spaces and numbers and it might help. And, yeah, does anyone know whether there's a list of the supported codecs? (Echoing what a lot of other people have said).
     
  10. leocamilo
    OP

    Member leocamilo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    IT WORKED!! Thanks!!
    But there is other problem though... after about 20 seconds, the video just freezes and the program crashes... I have to turn off my wii to get back to the wii menu. Can anyone help?
     
  11. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    The space makes it long.

    Short names have no spaces.


    MPEG-1 (VCD) and MPEG-2 (SVCD/DVD/DVB) video
    MPEG-4 ASP in all variants including DivX ;-), OpenDivX (DivX4), DivX 5 (Pro), XviD
    MPEG-4 AVC aka H.264
    Windows Media Video 7/8 (WMV1/2)
    Windows Media Video 9 (WMV3) (using x86 DLL)
    RealVideo 1.0, 2.0 (G2)
    RealVideo 3.0 (RP8), 4.0 (RP9) (using Real libraries)
    Sorenson v1/v3 (SVQ1/SVQ3), Cinepak, RPZA and other QuickTime codecs
    DV video
    3ivx
    Intel Indeo3 (3.1, 3.2)
    Intel Indeo 4.1 and 5.0 (using x86 DLL or XAnim codecs)
    VIVO 1.0, 2.0, I263 and other H.263(+) variants (using x86 DLL)
    MJPEG, AVID, VCR2, ASV2 and other hardware formats
    FLI/FLC
    HuffYUV
    various old simple RLE-like formats

    MPEG layer 1, 2, and 3 (MP3) audio
    AC3/A52 (Dolby Digital) audio (software or SP/DIF)
    AAC (MPEG-4 audio)
    WMA (DivX Audio) v1, v2
    WMA 9 (WMAv3), Voxware audio, ACELP.net etc (using x86 DLLs)
    RealAudio: COOK, SIPRO, ATRAC3 (using Real libraries)
    RealAudio: DNET and older codecs
    QuickTime: Qclp, Q-Design QDMC/QDM2, MACE 3/6 (using QT libraries), ALAC
    Ogg Vorbis audio
    VIVO audio (g723, Vivo Siren) (using x86 DLL)
    alaw/ulaw, (ms)gsm, pcm, *adpcm and other simple old audio formats


    That's straight from the Mplayer website.
     
  12. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Told you so.


    First, see if it's the homebrew launcher and use the Twilight hack to load it.

    Then, get Gspot Codec Information and report back with the Video and Audio codecs used.
     
  13. leocamilo
    OP

    Member leocamilo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    I got it to work... but the video is freezing... any help?
     
  14. teq

    Member teq GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,232
    Country:
    United States
    Look at the post right above yours....
     
  15. leocamilo
    OP

    Member leocamilo GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 27, 2007
    Messages:
    131
    Country:
    United States
    Ok, I'll look right away and come back to tell you guys.

    Edit: Where can I get this Gspot Codec Information???

    Edit2: Ok, I got, how can I upload a picture to show you the information?
     
  16. teonintyfive

    Member teonintyfive GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    791
    Location:
    Greece, Somewhere in Macedonia
    Country:
    Greece
    Whoops! Crap! I knew I forgot something! Silly me!

    edit: I uploaded a fixed package in the sticky. Check the most recent post by me there (page 8)
     
  17. sean0007

    Newcomer sean0007 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2007
    Messages:
    76
    Location:
    In front of a computer?
    Country:
    Canada
    Go to image shack and upload the image file, copy the provided links for forum after the upload and paste it into a reply.
     
  18. skedone

    Member skedone GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 2, 2008
    Messages:
    323
    Country:
    United States
    strange coz every file i throw at mine works no matter what the codec or the name
     
  19. thepspgamer

    Newcomer thepspgamer Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Location:
    The Depths of Hell!
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    and you are running it via the homebrew channel, cause, mine like everyone elses just freezes after 30 seconds

    and are you using an NTSC or PAL wii?
     
  20. Linguist

    Newcomer Linguist Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Germany
    .h264 in an avi-container does not work for me.
    According to the list codecs supported by mediaplayer it uses the x86 DLL for this. I guess this is not included in MFE.
     

Share This Page