Hacking How To: Install DSision2 on DSTT [YSMenu] *with pics*

Feels Good Man

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2007
Messages
1,640
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
797
Country
Canada
DSision2 install tutorial

Many people seem to have problems installing DSision2 on the DS to boot games with it. I finally figured out what to do and wanted to help people who cant boot games with DSision2.

Needed Files
DSTT kernel
Latest YSMenu
DSision2

Step 1
Download the DSTT kernel and the latest YSMenu version and place them in the same folder and unzip them.
step1.jpg



Step 2
Go into the "eng" folder and copy the TTMENU.DAT to the folder where all the YSMenu contents are [akextract.exe, ttextract.exe, YSMenu.ini, (etc.)]. Run the ttextract.exe and it should make two files called ttpatch.dat and ttdldi.dat.
step2.jpg


Step 3
Go to the root of your card and now transfer the following files into it:
- YSMenu.ini
- YSMenu.nds
- ttpatch.dat
- ttdldi.dat
step3.jpg


Step 4

Go back into the "eng" folder and copy and paste the "TTMenu" folder to the root of your card.
step4.jpg


Step 5

Download the DSision2 file and unzip the contents.
step5.jpg


Step 6

Copy the following to the root of the card:
- DSision [folder]
- PICS [folder]
- DSISION.INI
- DSision_2.nds
step6.jpg


Step 7

Go back to the folder where you unzipped all the contents of DSision2. Now go into the DSTT_Version folder and transfer the ttmenu.dat to the root of your card
step7.jpg


---


There! You're finally finished!. Enjoy using DSision2!

Not sure if I forgot a step so.. yeah >__< Also not really sure if this is the same with the R4 but im guessing it's somewhat similar
 

Hitcher

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Feb 10, 2008
Messages
113
Trophies
0
XP
234
Country
jester13 said:
(not 1.17 because YSMenu doesn't work with that for some reason.)
It works for me.

Great guide by the way because the README that comes with DSision2 doesn't tell you how to correctly set up YSMenu.
 

rasputin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
937
Trophies
0
XP
327
Country
United States
Is the ttmenu.dat file 'fake safe' ? and does it have to be that version and not a regular ttmenu.dat ?

What happens with this setup? does DSision2 boot straight up or does it have to launched from the regular dstt menu
 

Feels Good Man

Well-Known Member
OP
Member
Joined
Apr 15, 2007
Messages
1,640
Trophies
0
Website
Visit site
XP
797
Country
Canada
rasputin said:
Is the ttmenu.dat file 'fake safe' ? and does it have to be that version and not a regular ttmenu.dat ?

What happens with this setup? does DSision2 boot straight up or does it have to launched from the regular dstt menu

The ttmenu.dat in the DSTT_Version folder SHOULD be fail safe as it's not the original loader that comes with the fake killer code. It has to be the one inside that folder [DSTT_Version folder].

This set up boots DSision2 once you turn on your DS and lets you boot games from it.
 

rasputin

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 7, 2008
Messages
937
Trophies
0
XP
327
Country
United States
thankyou

i'm thinking with blis's multi-os loader a nice 3in1 setup can be made for the dstt

i'll have a tinker when i get hold of a cart to play with
 

david432111

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2008
Messages
858
Trophies
0
Location
Denmark
XP
210
Country
If this isn't set to load before the menu, and you launch it from the regular menu it'll turn off the backlight, although there's an update txt in the zip that says this has been fixed. Though this only happens if you have a phat ds.
 

rom666

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
56
Trophies
1
XP
131
Country
United States
This works great on my non SDHC cards. It will not boot roms using 2 different SDHC cards. Can anyone confirm?
 

rom666

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Oct 7, 2008
Messages
56
Trophies
1
XP
131
Country
United States
rasputin said:
does it have a cheat engine ?

This doesn't really boot the roms. What it does is give you a very nice file browser that lets you select the rom you want to load. It then appends the YSmenu.ini file with the AUTO_BOOT option. Here is an example:

CODEAUTO_BOOT=roms/brain age - train your brain in minutes a day! (u) 0396.nds

This is written to the YSMenu.ini file, then YSmenu.nds is loaded. This in effect causes the selected game (in this case Brain Age), to load via YSMenu's AUTO_BOOT feature.

So in answer to your question, the answer is yes, but with one caveat. You need to enable the cheats first using YSMenu. So you can think of this as a front end to YSMenu.

This is a very slick solution that I think even bri will enjoy!
biggrin.gif
 

Slyde1052

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
May 28, 2008
Messages
82
Trophies
0
Age
41
Location
New Jersey
Website
Visit site
XP
243
Country
United States
Hmmm. I installed the DSision menu as per the directions in this thread, yet upon trying to run a *.nds rom I get a white screen and nothing else.


My DSTT is real, but is of an older model. Could this be the cause of the problem?

As well, I wa having a bit of a problem trying to create Boxart files, not naming them to link to the games, but they appear as broken or corrupted images when I would move over the NDS file linked to it.


EDIT: I am using an SDHC card. This must be the problem!
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Why boi crying in chat?
  • Sonic Angel Knight @ Sonic Angel Knight:
    Did we run out of cookies again? :ninja:
  • AncientBoi @ AncientBoi:
    If we ran out of C O F F E E, then this would be true :)
    +1
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Quest 2 just dropped down to $300 lol
    +1
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Ken they are on a quest for sales lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    VR is a gimmick and everyone knows it lol
  • Psionic Roshambo @ Psionic Roshambo:
    Like 3D TVs lol
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    3D tvs were cool back in the day
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    Oh look a new 3ds jailbreak https://youtu.be/J_BVXRUeT8w
  • Veho @ Veho:
  • Veho @ Veho:
    VR is awesome and I love it.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The visual part, that is.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The controls are still ass.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    But as far as immersion goes, it's great. It's like you have the entire game environment in a bucket, and then you put that bucket on your head.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    And it's great, provided you don't try to get up and walk around.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Because you have a bucket on your head.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    I'm not sure how far I can push this metaphor.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    The bucket also comes in handy when VR gives you motion sickness.
  • Veho @ Veho:
    Anyway. VR is neat.
  • SylverReZ @ SylverReZ:
    Currently transfering a shit load of YouTube videos to separate HDDs before installing 1TB SSD into an OG Xbox.
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    The immersion part is the only thing I like about vr that's why I returned Nreals too much open space made them off putting cool concept for sunglasses kind of expected it but wanted to try them at least
  • K3N1 @ K3N1:
    I only spend $500 on gaming stuff like twice a year so hopefully something will come that breaks meta 3
    +1
    K3N1 @ K3N1: I only spend $500 on gaming stuff like twice a year so hopefully something will come that breaks... +1