Tutorial How to install CPS-2 emulator on Adrenaline(PSP Emulator)

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,770
Country
Italy
Hi guys, for all retro game lovers, today I explain how to manually install the CPS-2 emulator(Capcom Play System 2)in the Adrenaline emulator(PSP Emulator)for Ps Vita, as it isn't included in the PSP Installer Emulator.
Here's what you need step by step and how to do it.

Installation

1)download(only)CPS-2 2.3.5 SLIM from here

2)unzip CPS-2 SLIM just downloaded where you want on the PC

3)connect your PS Vita to Pc

4)open VitaShell and press Select to transfer or copy(better copy,if anything go wrong)CPS-2 SLIM from the Pc at the PS Vita

5)now open disk recognized from the Pc and open PSPEMU

6)after open PSPEmu,open GAME

7)now copy previous unzip package in this directory,so as to obtain PSPEMU/GAME/CPS2

8)now exit from here with press x continuosly,and press Select again to disconnect your PS Vita to the Pc

9)now exit from VitaShell and open Adrenaline,select CPS2 2.3.5 Slim and start the emulator

Complete games list
1944: The Loop Master
19XX: The War Against Destiny
Alien vs. Predator
Armored Warriors
Battle Circuit
Capcom Sports Club
Cyberbots: Fullmetal Madness
Darkstalkers: The Night Warriors
Dimahoo
Dungeons & Dragons: Shadow over Mystara
Dungeons & Dragons: Tower of Doom
Eco Fighters
Giga Wing
Hyper Street Fighter 2: The Anniversary Edition
Janpai Puzzle Choukou
Jyangokushi: Haoh no Saihai
Mars Matrix: Hyper Solid Shooting
Marvel Super Heroes
Marvel Super Heroes Vs. Street Fighter
Marvel Vs. Capcom: Clash of Super Heroes
Mega Man - The Power Battle
Mega Man 2: The Power Fighters
Mighty! Pang
Night Warriors: Darkstalkers' Revenge
Progear
Puzz Loop 2
Quiz Nanairo Dreams: Nijiirochou no Kiseki
Ring of Destruction: Slammasters II
Street Fighter Alpha 2
Street Fighter Alpha 3
Street Fighter Alpha: Warriors' Dreams
Street Fighter Zero 2 Alpha
Super Gem Fighter Mini Mix
Super Puzzle Fighter II Turbo
Super Street Fighter II Turbo
Super Street Fighter II: The New Challengers
Vampire Hunter 2: Darkstalkers Revenge
Vampire Savior 2: The Lord of Vampire
Vampire Savior: The Lord of Vampire
X-Men Vs. Street Fighter
X-Men: Children of the Atom

And now,enjoy the new emulator!
73873928dd6d53a5a17a2ed82df3526c.jpg
ea753ce5854f65c2a56766ce0416f298.jpg

Video Demo:
Inviato dal mio SM-N960F utilizzando Tapatalk
 
Last edited by NeoGranzon,
  • Like
Reactions: cvskid

Wickedchew

Masks Works..Wear it!!
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
195
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
837
Country
United States
Im getting error on cps2 adrenalinaline latest version, error c1 2758-2 ,
I can open adrenaline,ican start cps2, when opening xmen vs streetfighter..i can get error code c1 2758-2
 

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,770
Country
Italy
Im getting error on cps2 adrenalinaline latest version, error c1 2758-2 ,
I can open adrenaline,ican [email protected] cps2, when opening xmen vs streetfighter..i can get error code c1 2758-2
@Wickedchew ,not all games open correctly, for example Street Fighter Zero 3 when you load it you only hear the audio but the screen remains black.
 

Wickedchew

Masks Works..Wear it!!
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
195
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
837
Country
United States
oh damn,.i didnt realize the CPS2 was updated to 2.3.5..
what i got is 2.3.1 for psvita slim

anyway ,..still got black screen on xmen vs streetfighter..will try other roms
 
Last edited by Wickedchew,

Zadeora

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
21
Country
Pakistan
I am facing the same problem. Some ROMs work and some just either give black screen with please wait and sometime psvita error codes. Not able to find any fix. Searched everywhere with Google but no luck.

I think it is something related to memory. Anything going above 32 MB just wont work despite the fact that latest adrenaline supports 64 MB memory. I even enabled extended memory from advanced configuration in recovery. No luck whatsoever.
 

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,770
Country
Italy
@Zadeora and @Wickedchew ,do you have the latest Adrenaline version 7 installed?
I didb't understand after a long time what the problem is,i tried to change the rom but the problem remains with some games.
 

Wickedchew

Masks Works..Wear it!!
Member
Joined
Mar 19, 2016
Messages
195
Trophies
0
Age
36
XP
837
Country
United States
actually i tried different roms on CPS2PSP2.3.5 and seems all roms are "please wait blank screen" when opening it..
this is on the PS Vita Slim adrenaline v7.

there is a sound playing but only "please wait blank screen",
if you push power button it sleeps the vita but when u open it.. it just crashes the adrenaline
 

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,770
Country
Italy
actually i tried different roms on CPS2PSP2.3.5 and seems all roms are "please wait blank screen" when opening it..
this is on the PS Vita Slim adrenaline v7.

there is a sound playing but only "please wait blank screen",
if you push power button it sleeps the vita but when u open it.. it just crashes the adrenaline
@Wickedchew ,I also have the PS Vita Slim and Adrenalina 7,this unfortunately is an emulator made for the PSP Slim(,you should ask someone who has a PSP if they have the same problems loading.games.
 

Zadeora

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
21
Country
Pakistan
[email protected] yes I have a Ps Vita slim and the latest adrenaline.
I also have 2 PSP slims 2000 and 3000 and all ROMs work perfectly in CPS2slim. The problem is with adrenaline and its related to memory. Smaller footprint ROMs work fine but Marvel vs Capcom. Xmen vs Street Fighter, Marvel super heroes vs street fighter etc donot work

I have even tried CPS2PSP for 1000 model but that version simply wont load the complete Rom files.
 
Last edited by Zadeora,
  • Like
Reactions: NeoGranzon

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,770
Country
Italy
[email protected] yes I have a Ps Vita slim and the latest adrenaline.
I also have 2 PSP slims 2000 and 3000 and all ROMs work perfectly in CPS2slim. The problem is with adrenaline and its related to memory. Smaller footprint ROMs work fine but Marvel vs Capcom. Xmen vs Street Fighter, Marvel super heroes vs street fighter etc donot work

I have even tried CPS2PSP for 1000 model but that version simply wont load the complete Rom files.
@Zadeora thanks for you feedback,as i suspected it's the fault of Adrenaline 7,
I don't know if things change with the previous version of Adrenaline. For example,with Adrenaline 7 if i try to enter official settings and try to rename my nickname,the app crashes.
 

Zadeora

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
21
Country
Pakistan
OK finally I found a solution. The problem is with adrenaline v7. This is what I did and everything now works perfectly

1. Made a new folder and named it mypspdata in Vitashell. Moved all my games iso from ux0/pspemu/ISO folder to mypspdata. Moved emulator folders and ps1 games from ux0/pspemu/PSP/GAME/ to mypspdata

2. Moved the 661.PBP firmware file from ux0:app/ PSPEMUCFW/ to mypspdata folder.

3. Deleted adrenaline by holding bubble and delete.

4. Downloaded adrenaline v6.9 from official GitHub link and ftp it to ux0


5. Installed adrenaline.vpk. Exit out of vitashell to confirm it was installed. Did not run adrenaline yet and entered vitashell again.

6. Opened vitashell and moved 661.PBP back to ux0:app/ PSPEMUCFW/

7. Moved everything from mypspdata folder back to their respective locations of step 1. Exit out of Vitashell

8. Run adrenaline and it asked to install 661.PBP which I accepted and happily booted into XMB.

9. Checked CPS2PSP and MVSPSP for different ROMs and all worked fine even I checked adhoc play within both it worked flawlessly between my Vita and PSP2000.

10. What I conclude is that there is some bug which effects these emulators in adrenaline v7. Downgrading to v6.9 solves the problem.

Hope this helps others
 
Last edited by Zadeora,

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,770
Country
Italy
OK finally I found a solution. The problem is with adrenaline v7. This is what I did and everything now works perfectly

1. Made a new folder and named it mypspdata in Vitashell. Moved all my games iso from ux0/pspemu/ISO folder to mypspdata. Moved emulator folders and ps1 games from ux0/pspemu/PSP/GAME/ to mypspdata

2. Moved the 661.PBP firmware file from ux0:app/ PSPEMUCFW/ to mypspdata folder.

3. Deleted adrenaline by holding bubble and delete.

4. Downloaded adrenaline v6.9 from official GitHub link and ftp it to ux0


5. Installed adrenaline.vpk. Exit out of vitashell to confirm it was installed. Did not run adrenaline yet and entered vitashell again.

6. Opened vitashell and moved 661.PBP back to ux0:app/ PSPEMUCFW/

7. Moved everything from mypspdata folder back to their respective locations of step 1. Exit out of Vitashell

8. Run adrenaline and it asked to install 661.PBP which I accepted and happily booted into XMB.

9. Checked GPS2PSP and MVSPSP for different ROMs and all worked fine even I checked adhoc play within both it worked flawlessly between my Vita and PSP2000.

10. What I conclude is that there is some bug which effects these emulators in adrenaline v7. Downgrading to v6.9 solves the problem.

Hope this helps others
@Zadeora ,you did well to move the data so as not to lose it, however you can downgrade without spoiling anything Adrenaline 6.9 overwrites the V7, anyway thanks and i will let you know if it solves the problem and i will modify the OP if necessary.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Zadeora

Zadeora

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
21
Country
Pakistan
And I forgot to mention the most important thing. I have tested everthing in CPS2PSP standard version. Slim version doesnot work well and gives me the please wait on adrenaline 6.9 on some roms.

So use CPS2PSP for phat PSP 1000 and create caches for all games. Same is true for MVSPSP the slim version still gives me errors on some ROMs but the phat version seems to work fine on all the ROMs that I have tested
 
  • Like
Reactions: NeoGranzon

NeoGranzon

シュウ 「グラビトロンカノン 発射!」
OP
Member
Joined
Aug 4, 2019
Messages
1,322
Trophies
0
XP
1,770
Country
Italy
And I forgot to mention the most important thing. I have tested everthing in CPS2PSP standard version. Slim version doesnot work well and gives me the please wait on adrenaline 6.9 on some roms.

So use CPS2PSP for phat PSP 1000 and create caches for all games. Same is true for MVSPSP the slim version still gives me errors on some ROMs but the phat version seems to work fine on all the ROMs that I have tested
@Zadeora ,how do you create the cache for roms?
 

Zadeora

Member
Newcomer
Joined
Aug 8, 2021
Messages
6
Trophies
0
Age
37
XP
21
Country
Pakistan
@Zadeora ,how do you create the cache for roms?

Well go to the 1st step link mentioned in OP and and download the romcnv.zip and extract it. There is a file in the extracted folder by the name cps2_3xx_all+·-++¬++.bat

Run it on a windows PC and it will ask for location of your cps2 rom files on pc. Select the folder where you have your rom backups. It will generate cache files of all ROMs and create a cache folder in romcnv folder. Copy and paste the cache folder in the the same folder on vita where your roms are which is ux0/pspemu/PSP/GAME/CPS2/

The same procedure also works for neogeo mvs. Cache files are generated using mvs_3xx_all+·-++¬++.bat file
 
Last edited by Zadeora,
  • Like
Reactions: NeoGranzon
General chit-chat
Help Users
  • No one is chatting at the moment.
    Dark_Phoras @ Dark_Phoras: Have you tried Dragon Ball Fighters? It's surprisingly fun