Tutorial How to install Android 8.1(LineageOS) to your Nintendo Switch

  • Thread starter Deleted User
  • Start date
  • Views 70,036
  • Replies 179
  • Likes 9

konamicode89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
631
Country
United States
I have been out of the loop for quite some time, but aside from the progress on android Oreo has there been any progress on Android pie yet?
 

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,275
Trophies
0
XP
2,001
Country
United States
I have been out of the loop for quite some time, but aside from the progress on android Oreo has there been any progress on Android pie yet?


No eta, but definitely on it's way.
 
  • Like
Reactions: konamicode89

cracker

Nyah!
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2005
Messages
3,555
Trophies
0
XP
1,940
Country
United States
I'm guessing you meant 8192KB. 8GB isn't much user space at all. If you are going to dedicate a 400GB mSD to Android then why not fill it all the way up?
 

DreIceAge

Well-Known Member
Newcomer
Joined
Feb 22, 2017
Messages
87
Trophies
0
Age
41
XP
154
Country
United States
For the past couple of weeks I've been reinstalling Android several times because when I mess up with other stuff like Atmosphere I just straight up wipe my card and start from scratch. I normally use the 16gb version of LineageOS. Yesterday I used a 32gb version and made my Android user partition to be 50gb. After it was all said and done, I did not get the Google apps close or wait error that happens once after you start up. How come? Is it because I used the 32gb one instead? Anyone else ever solve that problem?
 

cracker

Nyah!
Member
Joined
Aug 24, 2005
Messages
3,555
Trophies
0
XP
1,940
Country
United States
The Google Apps error happens even on Android devices. It is a common occurance with custom roms. Most of the time, reinstalling (the right version of) gapps will fix it. Other times, clearing the cache will.
 

LoneFlo

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Oct 20, 2015
Messages
180
Trophies
0
XP
745
Country
France
I got the error "Wrong architecture to set up Open Gapps". I used ARM64-8.1-nano vversion, so I don't understand what could be wrong. :huh:

EDIT: Finally worked after wiping dalvik cache multiple times.
 
Last edited by LoneFlo,

konamicode89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
631
Country
United States
Having successfully installed android via etcher, rebooting to hekate to finish initial setup and installing apps from playstore to test out, I have yet to understand the differences in opengapps, I've read that it makes no difference at all but the guide says to use nano and this thread makes mention of pico.

Other than rooting with magisk, installing the optional fixes, and to replace the outdated bootloader folder (hekate 5.0) that the image comes with.. does this roughly conclude a complete enough android setup on the switch before moving forward to experiment with the apps?

Also with a pie release coming soon any thoughts on the possibility of switchroot releasing a pie update.img for those who already have oreo installed?
 
Last edited by konamicode89,

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,275
Trophies
0
XP
2,001
Country
United States
I have yet to understand the differences in opengapps
It's largely a matter of preference, and determines which "pre-installed" Google Apps you get. A full comparison between variations is available here: https://github.com/opengapps/opengapps/wiki/Package-Comparison

any thoughts on the possibility of switchroot releasing a pie update.img for those who already have oreo installed?
It's hard to say at this point. With the current version installed you're already able to boot into TWRP, I think it's possible for them to release a .zip you could flash that way. But I think it's easier for them to just release an etcher image, which would overwrite everything else on the card. You could probably ask them on their Discord though.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

You can also try building Android Pie yourself with the instructions here: http://fshy.de/BuildPieForSwitch

Very beta, don't expect support for it. Requires lots of disk space and RAM to build.
 
  • Like
Reactions: konamicode89

MrRidges

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 24, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
13
Country
United Kingdom
When I go to boot into twrp I just get a black screen, I am using Hekate 5.0.1 and I don't know what I've done wrong. Followed modded warfare's tutorial to a T. Please help

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Can't get into twrp just get a black screen. Used the image above for a 32gb card. And I used Hekate 5.0.1 and I followed modded warfare's tutorial to a T. Please send help
 

konamicode89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
631
Country
United States
When I go to boot into twrp I just get a black screen, I am using Hekate 5.0.1 and I don't know what I've done wrong. Followed modded warfare's tutorial to a T. Please help

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

Can't get into twrp just get a black screen. Used the image above for a 32gb card. And I used Hekate 5.0.1 and I followed modded warfare's tutorial to a T. Please send help

If I remember correctly I think the initial setup is with hekate 5.0, although this won't matter after intial setup. also did you hold down vol + (could be vol -) when you boot up switchdroid from hekate? remember you're booting to recovery mode first and installing the necessities before then rebooting to switchdroid normally.sometimes it won't boot up properly the first try and does take a few minutes. if it freezes hold power for 15 seconds reboot hekate and try again. still a no go? reflash android image with etcher to a different sd.

personally I had no issues flashing to my sd with etcher and booting twrp while holding down vol button and flashing pico gapps reboot2payload joycon fixes and magisk before actually booting to android. I hope it helps! lmk if you need more help
 
Last edited by konamicode89,

MrRidges

New Member
Newbie
Joined
Mar 24, 2020
Messages
2
Trophies
0
Age
20
XP
13
Country
United Kingdom
If I remember correctly I think the initial setup is with hekate 5.0, although this won't matter after intial setup. also did you hold down vol + (could be vol -) when you boot up switchdroid from hekate? sometimes it won't boot up properly the first try and does take a few minutes. if it freezes hold power for 15 seconds reboot hekate and try again. still a no go? reflash android image with etcher to a different sd.

personally I had no issues flashing to my sd with etcher and booting twrp while holding down vol button and flashing pico gapps reboot2payload joycon fixes and magisk before actually booting to android. I hope it helps! lmk if you need more help
Thanks will give it a go
 

konamicode89

Well-Known Member
Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2018
Messages
138
Trophies
0
Age
32
XP
631
Country
United States
It's largely a matter of preference, and determines which "pre-installed" Google Apps you get. A full comparison between variations is available here: https://github.com/opengapps/opengapps/wiki/Package-Comparison


It's hard to say at this point. With the current version installed you're already able to boot into TWRP, I think it's possible for them to release a .zip you could flash that way. But I think it's easier for them to just release an etcher image, which would overwrite everything else on the card. You could probably ask them on their Discord though.

--------------------- MERGED ---------------------------

You can also try building Android Pie yourself with the instructions here: http://fshy.de/BuildPieForSwitch

Very beta, don't expect support for it. Requires lots of disk space and RAM to build.

I'm happy to say that I managed to get my all in one SD setup put together, I'm going to definitely give this pie beta image a look.
BTW I'm planning on writing a guide for the multiboot method, but because it's a simplified version of everything that I've gathered and this being my first guide. to whom must I contact for permissions and crediting?

edit: a 20-30gb repo that blows up to around 150 that a 8gb swap is too slow to build? but needs a 8gb sd card to flash this all on to? you weren't kidding when you said it was best to wait but this is will be something fun to look into in the meantime
 
Last edited by konamicode89,
  • Like
Reactions: Cyan

RHOPKINS13

Geek
Member
Joined
Jan 31, 2009
Messages
1,275
Trophies
0
XP
2,001
Country
United States
BTW I'm planning on writing a guide for the multiboot method, but because it's a simplified version of everything that I've gathered and this being my first guide. to whom must I contact for permissions and crediting?

Everything is open source and public knowledge. I don't really think you need to ask anybody for permission, but at the bottom of the guide I would leave two sections, a References section and a Thanks section. In References I would add all of the links that I've sent you, along with other places you went for help. And then in the Thanks section put anybody that helped you from here, anybody that authored the posts that you found very helpful, along with any developers that worked on the software you used.
 
General chit-chat
Help Users
    A @ Argimor: Anyone got any secret knowledge on Monster Hunter Rise Switch saves? Managed to pull the saves...