?
  1. Linux

    91 vote(s)
    7.8%
  2. Android

    133 vote(s)
    11.4%
  3. Router

    226 vote(s)
    19.4%
  4. Windows

    423 vote(s)
    36.4%
  5. A pony with a wifi antenna O.o?

    290 vote(s)
    24.9%
  6. 1,163 voter(s)
  1. acaciaKS

    acaciaKS Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Except the NZ rSP has not worked for me for almost two months! I visit SB and McD regularly... haven't got anything after the first week when they started the relay. Maybe I should buy a 2DS.
     
  2. triumph01

    triumph01 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Gambia, The

    Try to turn off WIFI on your S2 before starting tethering. And you have to enable 3G.
     
  3. acaciaKS

    acaciaKS Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    That means, unfortunately, that your Wi-Fi card won't allow a virtual port to be attached to it. I had the same problem on three laptops that have Atheros Wi-Fi cards. You may want to just get an *inexpensive* USB Wi-Fi adapter; people seem to have success with these things. They cost as low as $15 online.

    Good luck.
     
  4. acaciaKS

    acaciaKS Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    Re second part: I think you're right. The macshift program seems to set some soft-MAC, but the Wi-Fi adapter itself may not actually allow MAC spoofing. I had the same problem as Cosmecin. ipconfig /all told me the adapter had the spoofed MAC, but over a span of 2 weeks I never received a single rSP via HomePass.
     
  5. acaciaKS

    acaciaKS Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Country:
    United States
    That's why if you plan to buy a router to do this, better not spend more than 20 bucks! :D
     
  6. Element

    Element Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Still don't work.
     
  7. LD560

    LD560 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Solved my problem. The drivers needed to be uninstalled and re-installed.

    However I have decided not to use Virtual Router this time. I am currently just using the command prompt and receiving hits.

    However if anyone would like to suggest a program instead then that would be great, as I have to keep setting up the network lol..
     
  8. triumph01

    triumph01 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Do you have given superuser rights to wifi tether?

    Do you have Jelly Bean?
     
  9. The Android method doesn't seem to work.
    My 3DS detects that Nintendo Zone service is available here and my phone keeps telling me my 3DS is connected to the hotspot, but my 3DS doesn't receive any streetpasses.
     
  10. internetakias

    internetakias GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2009
    Messages:
    103
    Country:
    Greece
    Huh, whenever I try to use Macshift or MACycle the Wi-Fi adapter disables itself. Any idea why this is happening? I'm on 64bit Windows 7 and I'm using a wired connection to connect to the internet
     
  11. Element

    Element Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Yep. I'm with Paranoid android 3.68(Or something like that) which is 4.2.2
     
  12. triumph01

    triumph01 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2013
    Messages:
    25
    Country:
    Gambia, The
    Ok I havent tried it with 4.2.2. Not sure if this works.

    But the most Problems peaople get with Android is, that they haven't rootet their phone correctly.
    If the phone is rootet you have to install superuser (or a similar app) and busybox.
    After you have set up everything correctly, you have to turn 3G on and wifi off, before starting wifi thether app!!
     
  13. Akotan

    Akotan Mathematical!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Brazil
    Finally I got homemade Streetpasses using a rooted Android phone and Riilay app! Nice! :D

    I have a Galaxy Nexus running JB 4.3.
     
  14. darren42

    darren42 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2013
    Messages:
    142
    Country:
    You can write a simple little batch script to automate the process of setting up the hotspot connect. The internet connection sharing part will need to be done manually, but you can leave the sharing enabled so you only to enable it once.
     
  15. keyra

    keyra Spoderman self proclamed fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    820
    Country:
    France
    hmm... so he finally found a way for 4.3
     
  16. Element

    Element Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    Tried again, now it says on the log that it failed to setup the MAC address.
     
  17. Akotan

    Akotan Mathematical!
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2004
    Messages:
    559
    Country:
    Brazil
    I posted what I did here: http://gbatemp.net/threads/android-...thod-on-your-phone.353091/page-7#post-4793669

    But it is working like this: Riilay uses busybox to change MAC addresses but no matter how long I wait my 3DS gets just one Streetpass. I checked if Riilay is really changing the MAC address after the first attempt (and it is) but I don't know why it gets only one Streetpass...

    Can't wait to get 6 Streetpasses by default as Nintendo promised in the last Nintendo Direct.
     
  18. LD560

    LD560 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2009
    Messages:
    124
    Country:
    Has anyone had trouble getting any Street Pass hits for Mario and Sonic 2012 Virtual Card album?

    I cant seem to get any hits for this and would really like to finish the last part of my collection off? (Only a few cards away :) )

    Any particular MAC addresses that anyone would recommend?
     
  19. Shade2074

    Shade2074 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a way to get this to work with an ASUS RT-AC66R router?
     
  20. Sidney_Bl

    Sidney_Bl Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    Hi. I'm frome Europe. Since this morning I've been receiving more than one Mii at a time through my homemade StreetPass relay (sometimes 3, sometimes 5). It seems Nintendo have finallly activated that option, but I want somebody to confirm this. Have you noticed anything different today?
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Streetpass, homemade, Relay