?
  1. Linux

    90 vote(s)
    7.8%
  2. Android

    132 vote(s)
    11.5%
  3. Router

    225 vote(s)
    19.5%
  4. Windows

    418 vote(s)
    36.3%
  5. A pony with a wifi antenna O.o?

    287 vote(s)
    24.9%
  1. SolotheHawk

    SolotheHawk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Any progress on that?
     
  2. Rhyz

    Rhyz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Australia
    Yes, really all that is left to do is write the tutorial (sorta started doing) and test it on versions other than Windows 7. There is one error check I'm trying to implement but am having some compiler issues if I can't get it to work by tomorrow I'll most likely leave it and try to get that working for a future release.
     
  3. SolotheHawk

    SolotheHawk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I'm currently running Windows 10 if you need someone to help test. Which SSID's are you using? I managed to get NbaHomePass working after a lot of headache, but I'm not getting many streetpasses on the still working SSID's.
     
  4. Rhyz

    Rhyz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Australia
    I'm using the SSID [email protected], which like you said is pretty dead. Seems since the 11.1.0-34 update when they removed ConsoleNintendo3DS and [email protected] homepass began dieing for Windows methods. If I need you to test I'll send you a pm I have a Windows 10 machine but we'll see, thanks for offering!
     
  5. SolotheHawk

    SolotheHawk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Is it possible to add the SSID attwifi? I think it might be more active, but I vaguely remember reading that it can't be used on Windows. :S
     
  6. Rhyz

    Rhyz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Australia
    Unfortunately attwifi doesn't work with windows, as the 3DS needs attwifi to have no password and you can't create a network on windows that is unprotected.
     
  7. Bambamthepyro

    Bambamthepyro GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    164
    Country:
    Ok. I got a TP Link 723 V2 will try with VMWARE to see if I can get something to work.
    Will let you all know.
     
  8. Rhyz

    Rhyz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Australia
    Rhyz HomePass
    This is a Homepass method that works with Windows only. This method only works from Windows 7 to Windows 10 (Maybe Windows Vista too).
    For this to work you will need a computer with at least wireless card. Having two ways to connect to internet would work best (eg. Ethernet and Wireless or Two Wireless Cards). As the wireless card needs to be reset to change MAC Address.

    This Homepass method not only uses the original 160 MAC Addresses for Homepassing, but Streetpass locations in the real world!

    First off we need to check you can change your wireless cards Mac Address to the Mac Addresses of the format X2:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX, X6:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX, XA:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX, and XE:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX (Where X is anything), the reason for these specific address with the 2nd bit being 2, 6, A or E is that since Windows 7, these are the only formats of MAC Addresses the Windows will allow.

    After the Mac Address changed you can check that you can get hosted network working with your 3DS.

    If your MAC Address can't change to one of the formats above message me!

    Change MAC Address:
    NOTE: This tutorial uses the MAC Address 4E:53:50:4F:4F:50, which checks that you can get the XE:XX:XX:XX:XX:XX format, you can also check your MAC Address changes with the MAC Addresses 42:53:50:4F:4F:50, 46:53:50:4F:4F:50 and 4A:53:50:4F:4F:50

    First you will need to change your Mac Address. This can be done in many ways, some wireless cards allow this to be done straight through Windows GUI. You can change it through the registry, or you can use something like MAC Shift.
    • GUI METHOD:
      First off we need to go to control panel and search for network, and click View network connections: http://imgur.com/hXdhOVe

      Now when looking at your network connections find your Wireless Network Adapter you wish to use, this is mine: http://imgur.com/CDxxjVZ

      Right click that connection and select properties: http://imgur.com/ihhHMzq

      Then configure: http://imgur.com/5pYGY2L

      Another box will open and click the Advanced Tab up the right: http://imgur.com/tVNrYjZ

      Scroll through the list of options you have and try to find one called Network Address or Locally Administered MAC Address or something along these lines they seem to differ depending on brand (If you can't find an option that allows you to change MAC Address you will have to use Registry Method or MAC Shift) Check the box where you can type, and type 4E53504F4F50: http://imgur.com/a5WQGAb

      Click OK and move onto Start hostednetwork and check MAC Address.
    • Registry Method (Longest and most tedious method):
      NOTE: Please don't change anything you don't know what it does in the registry, can be harmful changing random things.

      Open start and search for regedit: http://imgur.com/gdWtHan
      It will ask for Administrator privileges click yes. (can't screenshot this)

      Registry Editor will open, expand the HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE folder: http://imgur.com/CtapIFj

      Expand the SYSTEM folder: http://imgur.com/tZHgta6

      Expand the CurrentControlSet folder: http://imgur.com/xdt3hlK

      Expand the Control folder: http://imgur.com/y45mMVB

      Expand the Network folder: http://imgur.com/0gdAymo

      Expand the {4D36E972-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318} folder: http://imgur.com/NMOOWYh

      Now this part is a bit tedious, there will be a list of folders with just random numbers and if you open these folders there will be a Connection folder. Just click on this one and on the right side of the folders there will be a little bit of information about a Network Adapter. Go through these until you find the Name that is equal to your Wireless Card Adapters name (This is mine: http://imgur.com/CDxxjVZ , so the name I am after is Wireless Network Connection 3) and here it is in the registry: http://imgur.com/sAG79Ac

      After you have found yours you need to write down the folder name with all the numbers and letters in it, so from the image, http://imgur.com/sAG79Ac mine is http://imgur.com/4W05Fb3 (You can right click on the folder click rename and just copy it then paste into a notepad document or something)

      So now we can close the Network folder and scroll up to the Class folder and expand it (the class folder is still within the Control folder): http://imgur.com/ZVHGLq9

      Expand the {4D36E972-E325-11CE-BFC1-08002BE10318} folder: http://imgur.com/KeaQ98I

      Now this is where we need the folder name we took note of before. This part will also be tedious but go through and click on each of the folders 0000, 0001 and so on looking at the NetCfgInstanceID and if this matches the folder name you wrote down before you have found the registry settings for your Network Adapter! Here's mine: http://imgur.com/gRgkkvs and my already changed Network Address.

      Now if you can see the NetworkAddress key right click on it and choose modify: http://imgur.com/6agq1JF
      If you cannot see the NetworkAddress key you will need to make one. Right click on the right side and hover on new and click String Value, Call it NetworkAddress: http://imgur.com/a/ZsPJA
      Now you can right click on it and choose modify like above

      In the value data column enter: 4E53504F4F50 : http://imgur.com/1fBAFxn

      Click OK, you will see the value has changed or been created in the registry.

      Now you have to restart the adapter for the MAC Address to be changed, can do this two ways, through Windows GUI or through command prompt.

      Windows GUI
      Open Control Panel and search Network, click View Network Connections and find your Wireless Network Card. Like so: http://imgur.com/a/kLq2y

      Right click on your adapter and click Disable: http://imgur.com/9ktb1zr

      It will turn grey like so: http://imgur.com/NmFdo1N

      Right click on it again and select Enable: http://imgur.com/NwV69BX

      Your Network Adapter should go back to coloured.

      You can now go to Start hostednetwork and check MAC Address
      Command Prompt
      Open Command Prompt as admin

      Type netsh interface set interface "YOUR ADAPTER NAME" Disable : http://imgur.com/62HJzX1

      Then type netsh interface set interface "YOUR ADAPTER NAME" Enable : http://imgur.com/1g8IGCU

      You can now go to Start hostednetwork and check MAC Address
    • MAC Shift:
      Download here: http://ijure.org/wp/wp-content/uploads/macshift.exe
      How to use here: http://www.maxi-pedia.com/download+macshift.
      There is a quick Youtube Video here aswell
      The video uses a random MAC Address you should use 4E:53:50:4F:4F:XX (Where XX is anything).

      For example: Open Command Prompt, get Command Prompt directory to where you saved macshift ("cd C:\Users\Your Username\Downloads\" for example) and type. macshift 4E53504F4F50 -i "Wireless Network Connection". Where you replace Wireless Network Connection with your WiFi Card's name.

      If all succeeds and it says done you can move onto Start hostednetwork and check MAC Address

    Start hostednetwork and check MAC Address
    To begin we need to open a Command Prompt as an admin. So go to start and search cmd right click and select Run as Administrator: http://imgur.com/BqOsopH

    Now type netsh wlan set hostednetwork mode=allow ssid=3DS_Test key=3DS_Test , You can make the ssid and key equal to anything you want just remember the key: http://imgur.com/cdPSf7I
    You should get this as a result: http://imgur.com/MTHsu90

    Next type netsh wlan start hostednetwork : http://imgur.com/1bMivb5
    And you should get this as a result: http://imgur.com/9w6gJr6

    Now we need to check the MAC Address changed correctly and give share the internet from some connection with our hostednetwork so it can access the internet! There are two ways to check your MAC Address, through the command prompt and through Windows GUI.

    Command Prompt
    type netsh wlan show hostednetwork : http://imgur.com/24LjVHS

    And you see some information about your hostednetwork, we are interested in the BSSID and if is equals the MAC Address we changed to before: http://imgur.com/tetElkY

    As you can see in the picture mine is equal to 4E:53:50:4F:4F:50 which is what I changed it to before!

    Windows GUI
    Get to network connections through control panel and you should see the hostednetwork you made before: http://imgur.com/QDYMjYM

    Double click on it and click the details box: http://imgur.com/6KvVMIF

    Another box will open and check that the Physical Address matches what you changed the MAC Address to before: http://imgur.com/1x5L5tR

    As you can see in the picture mine is equal to 4E:53:50:4F:4F:50 which is what I changed it to before!

    If your MAC Address does not equal what you changed to before contact me with what yours changed too. It is also worth trying different numbers/letters for the first value eg. 3E:53:50:4F:4F:50 worked for me with an old adapter I had. And even try changing the 2nd value if the E doesn't change correctly. Note MAC Addresses only Accept from 0-9 and A-E (hex).

    But if yours did change correctly all you need to do is share the internet from a connection on your computer with the hostednetworks.

    In the your Network Connections in the control panel find the connection you wish to share from (it has to be connected to the internet). I wish to share mine from an Ethernet connection: http://imgur.com/pK2OL8T

    Right click on it and choose properties: http://imgur.com/GvL9S0q

    Then click the sharing tab: http://imgur.com/VVoW75s

    Check the box and select from the drop down the Network Connection Name of your hostednetwork (It wont be 3DS_Test): http://imgur.com/BFDdJ5r
    Mine is Wireless Network Connection 6 so I click that: http://imgur.com/2v03ECF

    Then click OK: http://imgur.com/kjMzqKj

    The Network you are sharing from should say shared: http://imgur.com/J0MOkTn

    And when you double click on your hostednetwork it should say Internet Access: http://imgur.com/tb0omKO (Note I only have IPv4 Connectivity as the computer I run this on isn't the greatest and I would get blue screens from it, so I turned everything off except IPv4: http://imgur.com/a/Tqacr)

    Now you can go test if you can connect to this hostednetwork from your 3DS!

    Check hostednetwork works with 3DS
    This should be pretty self explanatory. Go to your 3DS add a Network look for SSID you used and enter the password you made when making the hostednetwork. Probably both 3DS_Test. And all you need to do is run a Connection Test and if it works you can delete it from your 3DS networks.

    If you get Connection Successful your 3DS can connect with your Windows hostednetwork!

    Bunch of screenshots: http://imgur.com/a/kE62E

    Okay so if that all worked for you and your MAC Address changed correctly and successfully you can use Homepass!

    Here is my program for Homepass on Windows Machines
    About:

    It uses the SSIDs [email protected], NintendoSpotPass5, GameManiaZone, [email protected], NintendoZone1, NintendoZone2, NintendoZone3 and NintendoZone4, with [email protected] shuffling through the original 160 MACs and then moves onto real world Streetpasses!

    It loops forever too, so it doesn't just stop when it reaches the last shuffled MAC in the list it will start again from the first MAC in the shuffled list.

    The amount of time it takes to change MAC Address is up to the user, 3 minutes is the lowest time you can choose. As 3 minutes is the most time for 160 MAC Address to all be used in 8 hours for the 8 hour cool down Streetpass has.

    The MAC Addresses were all gathered from https://wigle.net/ a really cool site that allows you to search for SSIDs (with an account) and contains the MAC Addresses for these SSIDs. You can look up on this site any of the SSIDs that are used by this program and find more MAC addresses to add to the txt files! Please share here if you do find some that I have not added. (I have added any since about November 2016). Or if you find a MAC Address that could work with an SSID I haven't added please let me know so that I can add it! (SSIDs that work with the latest 3DS systems can be found here: https://yls8.mtheall.com/ninupdates/3ds_nzonehotspots.php and the only SSIDs that work with Windows are those with SecurityMode being equal to 7).

    How to use:


    This program needs to be Run as Administrator, so you will need to start Command Prompt as Administrator.

    You can either get to the directory where you save the program in Command Prompt or just type the path to where it was saved.

    Once that is done type RhyzHomepass.exe "YOUR WIRELESS NETWORK ADAPTER" time to wait in minutes between switching MACs

    Then hit enter to begin running! (To stop it from running open the command prompt window and just press ctrl+c on your keyboard)

    Some images (with how-to): http://imgur.com/a/2xCs2

    Download

    If you have any problems shoot us a message.
    There probably is something I stuffed up in typing this all out too, please let me know if there is!

    Most of the source code can be found here (It's missing the keys, so won't compile)
     
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2017
  9. spkuja

    spkuja GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    Hi, I'm using a DD-WRT router, but when I run the script or if I run it through telenet, I get this error, any ideas?

    [​IMG]
     
  10. SolotheHawk

    SolotheHawk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Is it supposed to cycle mac addresses? Because it doesn't for me. It works great but stops after the first mac address.
     
  11. Rhyz

    Rhyz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Australia
    Hmm, very odd. Does it say what MAC Address it's trying to change too? And can you change your MAC Address manually and it changes?
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2016
  12. Eckomecko

    Eckomecko Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Country:
    France
    I found a french post on a blog that says "NintendoSpotPass2" is a actually working SSID. For french readers : http://zegeekette.fr/appli/la-mise-a-jour-du-streetpass-de-chez-soi/

    Nothing said about changing mac address, i sounds really weird but many comments said that work. They are using the Android connexion share and just modify the ssid... It take one weak after the first connexion to work. I'm going to try today and i report to you results.
     
  13. SolotheHawk

    SolotheHawk Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2016
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    Nevermind. I didn't realize the wait time was in minutes and not seconds until I let it run overnight lol.
     
  14. db3

    db3 Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    98
    Country:
    Netherlands
    So according to the DD-WRT post at 10 it says for FW 11.0+ to stay away from the BASE macs which one is recommended to use?
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2016
  15. spkuja

    spkuja GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Country:

    I don' suppose you know how to keep the WiFi enabled when using this? My WiFi keeps turning off using a DD-WRT router.
     
  16. Rhyz

    Rhyz Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2010
    Messages:
    50
    Country:
    Australia
    Ahk haha all good, I probably should've specified that it's in minutes in my post, I'll fix that now!
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2016
  17. SomeGamer

    SomeGamer GBAtemp Guru
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    6,755
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Getting system not supported on a TL-WR841ND v5 router, flashed with DD-WRT. The script used to work on this exact same router months ago.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2016
  18. spkuja

    spkuja GBAtemp Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    I've got the exact same issue and no idea why
     
  19. NGamerCole

    NGamerCole Advanced Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    United States
    So I don't know if anyone here uses SpillPassPi, but I'm currently running into this problem. Would appreciate any input.
    tumblr_oi7exoTURP1rilg5to1_540.jpg
     
  20. digipokemaster

    digipokemaster Innocent Uke
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2009
    Messages:
    1,610
    Country:
    United States
    so what currently ssid works for this i wanting to make sure i use the ones the works with the current n3ds fw that out

    update: ok i tried to do this and followed what was written on here and i got this message
    the interface with this name is not registered with the router. the hosted network couldnt be started the group or resources is not in the correct state to perform the requested operation any help on this

    update two got it fixed but still cant get the homepass to work it just seem to just make it like my first update
     
    Last edited: Dec 16, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Streetpass, homemade, Relay