?
  1. Linux

    91 vote(s)
    7.8%
  2. Android

    132 vote(s)
    11.4%
  3. Router

    226 vote(s)
    19.5%
  4. Windows

    421 vote(s)
    36.3%
  5. A pony with a wifi antenna O.o?

    290 vote(s)
    25.0%
  6. 1,160 voter(s)
  1. octopus

    octopus Custom Title
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2013
    Messages:
    403
    Country:
    Somalia
  2. mpat57

    mpat57 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    I'm having some trouble finalizing the connection and any help would be greatly appreciated. I'm using the windows method and followed the instructions to a T besides swapping "attwifi" for [email protected] My 3ds thinks there's a Nintendo Zone present and is able to connect to the access point but then can't connect to the internet through it. I've triple checked the wireless network settings and it says I have an internet connection and everything looks correct.

    Despite this the 3ds keeps telling me it can't connect and that I should check the password and/or DNS setting. Has anyone run into this problem and have any advice/guidance?

    EDIT: It's error code 003-2001

    EDIT2: Issue resolved, just had to turn off Windows firewall and it connected without any trouble
     
  3. sabata2

    sabata2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    Code:
    [email protected]:~$ sudo crontab -l
     
    * * * * * /usr/local/sbin/nzone BASE256,GBATEMP
    Looks like there is indeed a root cronjob running, though I don't know what all the asterisks are for.

    The HWaddr seems to cycle every minute based on a brief run of
    Code:
    while true; do ifconfig wlan0 | grep HWaddr >> /DELETEME; sleep 15; done
    I quoted your second paragraph because it's saying to do things I don't recall the first page mentioning.
    I have to manually create a connection to the new [email protected] wifi address with my 3DS? I have done this before and when the connection is tested I fail between "This system" and "Access Point". (*)
    Past the first ~minute I no longer see [email protected] on either my phone or 3DS.

    You also mention a password in your second (quoted) paragraph... I don't recall setting one anywhere in the Linux script, where would I get this password?

    (*) I'm just a tad worried that even moving quickly my 3DS cannot connect to the created port. This is making it sound like I need to get myself a wifi dongle because your response makes it sound like the script is running fine, but my hardware is failing me.
    If you agree, can you suggest a dongle to purchase that we're reliably certain would work?


    *EDIT*
    I changed [email protected] to attwifi and checked a manually created connection once more. I got past the roadblock mentioned with [email protected] and got stuck between "Access Point" and "Internet"
    This is more in line with what you said should happen in your second (quoted) paragraph. However When I load up the Nintendo Zone app on the 3DS I don't see saidORAS demo page (maybe I didn't move fast enough since the HWaddr changes every minute). My Streetpass green light still hasn't lit up (nor did it for my oddity yesterday).
    *EDIT2*
    After waiting a few minutes and attempting the 3DS' connection test once more, the attwifi fails between "This Device" and "Access Point", so there doesn't seem to be any difference between the SSIDs. IT's all just the speed at which I can manoeuvre through the 3DS's menus. But this hardset connection doesn't seem to last at all.
     
  4. duke_srg

    duke_srg GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,862
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Calmer
    You can set ssid no [email protected] and will get a streetpass every 8 hours, MAC clone is not needed, you can use ABSOLUTELY ANY wireless access point!

    octopus

    If you're talking about my script, it is highly recommended to do so. It will be used for GBATEMP and BASE1,BASE16,BASE256 lists only, because the rest have MAC-SSID pairs predifined in the lists itself. While GBATEMP and BASEx lists have only custom user MACs, there are no predefined SSIDs for them. You can keep attwifi (with no security), but will only get streetpasses from the actual MAC owners of GBATEMP list and prime MACs users with router/linux scripts - you won't be able to get streetpasses from the Windows script users, as they can't reach unprotected attwifi SSID and most of the GBATEMP list MACs (also most of them can't even reach the correct prime MACs).

    mpat57
    Web browser and eShop services ar edisabled for [email protected] SSID, the only way to check internet connection is to start Nintendo Zone application and wait it to load data. It should not show the 3DS system error connection code but should load some Nintendo Zone data (for now it is a Pokemon ORAS demo download page but with the error in German, it may change tomorrow since ORAS is releasing in europe). As soon as behaves like described above, 3DS must be able to get a streetpass data

    sabata2
    Password is only required for a windows script version. For the router I'd recommend to set AP to an Open System/No authentication mode for the initial setup and just delete [email protected] configuration setting in 3DS, in that case 3DS will automatically use that connection because this SSID is in its database. You can't proceed with the connection test because you have MAC switched every minute!
    So just do this:
    1. disable the cron job
    2. set the wireless SSID to [email protected], turn off the security
    3. remove any Nintendo Zone SSID connection setting on 3DS
    4. wait Nintendo Zone app glowing, start Nintendo Zone, make sure ORAS demo page error in German appeared
    5. change BASE256 with BASE16 in cron job and enable it again (there are a lot of addresses in GBATEMP list to have a 2-3 minutes delay)
    6. wait 5 minutes for the green light
    7. set the MAC filter for all of your wireless devices
     
    octopus likes this.
  5. Calmer

    Calmer Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
  6. mpat57

    mpat57 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks to duke_srg for the guidance, I've cleared that hurdle but have hit another snag...

    With the 3ds awake it connects to the hosted network ([email protected]) perfectly fine and "sees" a Nintendo Zone. The problem is when I close the lid to put it to sleep for streetpass, it disconnects from the network. I know I've seen a similar post to this but can't find it now, anyone with a similar problem or advice?

    Thanks
     
  7. Glaucius

    Glaucius Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2014
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    Brazil

    From my experience, the 3ds connects and disconnects several times, but will still get the passes
     
  8. mpat57

    mpat57 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, I guess I'll just have to be more patient and let it run through for awhile
     
  9. Pythonidae

    Pythonidae Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2010
    Messages:
    41
    Country:
    Belgium
    Has anyone tried the android method on an HTC One(M7)???

    I've been trying to, but it always tells me " tethering started with errors ". Says to check the log, but the log comes back blank.

    My 3DS can't connect to it.
     
  10. mpat57

    mpat57 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States

    No luck, I let MaCycle run through the 16 prime addresses and no connection, maybe a trip to a mall on black friday is in order after all haha
     
  11. duke_srg

    duke_srg GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,862
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Calmer Just set the SSID to [email protected], make sure that 3DS can access Nintendo Zone application (not only glowing) and keep it. The great difference between the attwifi US SSID and [email protected] european SSID, is that in the US Nintendo offers a streetpass weekends, when streetpas data is shared between different nintendo zone, while in Europe sharing is always on. So with having the [email protected] german SSID you must get a streetpass with ANY mac.

    mpat57
    Don't bother with that, just make sure that Nintendo Zone is not only glowing (it only shows that Nintendo Zone SSID is nearby) but you can also launch it successfully without getting a 3DS system connection error, that will ensure that internet traffic is passed to 3DS and streetpass exchange will be available. Cheking Internet connectivity with eShop or Web browser won't work because it is disabled for this SSID. So just leave it closed for a while.
     
  12. Calmer

    Calmer Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
    duke_srg
    Well, that's a neat trick I suppose... I'll try it out.

    Regardless, I still plan on upgrading my router, and I still plan on attempting to flash it with DD-WRT, meaning that I'll still likely end up using the original MAC clone via wireless router method. So, as stated in my original post, if anyone has helpful info on that, it'd be appreciated.
     
  13. duke_srg

    duke_srg GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,862
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    Calmer
    Any DD-WRT compatible router have a wireless MAC clone ability, many of them have it even with the native firmware. But if you're ever planning to use a MAC cycling, it must be based on a Broadcom or Atheros chipset, RaLink don't allow on-the-fly MAC spoofing. Broadcom-based are most stable but more expensive than Atheros. If you're planning to use my script with online MAC list update, the router must have at least 4MB of flash for DD-WRT mini firmware (in 2MB models only DD-WRT micro can fit, which do not have necessary application) and the latest DD-WRT build number must be something over 20xxx (13xxx and 14xxx Atheros-based chipset fail with the MAC change, can't say for sure for the rest)
     
  14. mpat57

    mpat57 Newbie
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    mpat57
    Don't bother with that, just make sure that Nintendo Zone is not only glowing (it only shows that Nintendo Zone SSID is nearby) but you can also launch it successfully without getting a 3DS system connection error, that will ensure that internet traffic is passed to 3DS and streetpass exchange will be available. Cheking Internet connectivity with eShop or Web browser won't work because it is disabled for this SSID. So just leave it closed for a while.[/quote]

    duke_srg

    That that must be where my real error still is, when I test the connection in the internet setting it's able to connect, and the NZ icon starts flashing on the home screen, but when launching the NZ it I get error code 003-1105. Sorry for being so slow/dense with this but I appreciate the help.
     
  15. AlbertoSONIC

    AlbertoSONIC Pasta Team Member
    Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    927
    Country:
    Italy
    Guys i can't get this to work. I'm using a wp8 laptop. My 3ds connects to my attwifi connection, but Nintendo zone doesn't show up!
     
  16. Flame

    Flame Me > You
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    5,406
    for some reason my android device doesnt show up at all?

    my phone is rooted using Samsung S3.

    tried the tutorial way..

    changed device profile to Samsung S3.

    changed setup method to softap for samsung.


    3DS just doesnt see the wifi connection.

    any ideas guys?
     
  17. sabata2

    sabata2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    I've been using Method 1 for Linux this entire time (I ditched method 2 a while back). [And the BEFORE ANYTHING ELSE, looks to just be this method.]

    What is "AP"? I'm not seeing anything like that in the script. Do you mean the Router I'm hardlined into? I don't have access to that currently (not in my house), and when I will I'm not to hot on leaving it open and unsecured. Is it "Access Point"?

    I no longer have the [email protected] connection on my 3DS. I *do* have a natural secured connection to the WiFi router on my 3DS though. Removing this natural connection has yet to provide anything beneficial in all my tests.

    I'm a little confused with Step 2 though. The script is still set to [email protected] it doesn't have the "lock" on it, so I don't think it has any security. (Or are you talking about something that has to be set elsewhere?)

    I have changed the script and cronjob to use BASE16,GBATEMP.
    I stopped the cronjob but still am unable to reach the ORAS demo page presented in step 4, even without the cron's cycling. I'm still getting an inability to connect.
    Error Code: 003-1099
    Unable to communicate with access point.
    OR
    Error Code: 003-2005
    A communication error has occurred.
    There may be a probe with the wireless environment. Please move closer to the access point and try again.
    (Note, I'm trying this *right next to* the ubuntu laptop.)
    The Nintendo Zone app has never glowed for me (but I've never been to a natural Nintendo Zone so I dunno what it looks like) in today's tests, nor any prior.

    And finally what do you mean with Step 7 and setting up a Mac Filter? What is this step supposed to accomplish?


    tl;dr
    I am confused with your step 2, and I am failing at step 4, I get no ORAS demo page.
     
  18. duke_srg

    duke_srg GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,862
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
  19. sabata2

    sabata2 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    *UPDATE*

    After removing the default, secured, internet connection, I received notification that there was a Nintendo Zone nearby. When I went into the application however, I still get the Communication Error... error.

    So closer, but still stuck at your given step 4. I'm now thinking more and more that I'm running into problems with the hardware.
    Qualcomm Atheros AR9462 Wireless Network Adapter is the integrated wifi card. I'm trying to research if it could be the problem.
     
  20. duke_srg

    duke_srg GBAtemp Advanced Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    1,862
    Country:
    Serbia, Republic of
    sabata2
    Sorry for confusing, I describet the router method debug.
    Nintendo Zone app will glow if SSID is detected and nothing more. But if you did not touch hostapd.conf file then there should not be a password protection enabled, so at least AP (yes, AP is for Access Point) test must pass (though it is not needed to configure a connection if no password protection is enabled).
    So as a first step try to pass the access point test, if you did not set a password you can delete a connection setting after that, if you have enabled a password protection, you must keep the connection (but you won't be able to visit at least USA and Canada lists MACs with the password). Passing the first step will show that hostapd is running and you're able to connect and authenticate (if password set) and obtain an IP (dnsmasq is working fine)
    The second step - check the ORAS demo page with loading Nintendo Zone app - this will ensure that IP forwarding and iptables NAT and masquerading rules a working fine.
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Streetpass, homemade, Relay