How To Get Your 3/DS/i Online.

Discussion in 'NDS - Tutorials' started by Rydian, May 17, 2011.

May 17, 2011

How To Get Your 3/DS/i Online. by Rydian at 8:07 AM (13,520 Views / 1 Likes) 23 replies

  1. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    How To Get Your 3/DS/i Online.

    Want to get your DS, DSi, or 3DS online?
    Tried one of those WiFi sticks and couldn't get it working?
    Have a wireless router but don't know the proper settings to use?

    This guide will show you the basic steps for allowing DS connectivity.

    Determine what wireless router you have, if any.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Log into your router's settings.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Enable the wireless and make it visible to the DS unit.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Set the correct security settings.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Connecting on a DS/Lite.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Connecting on a DSi/XL.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Connecting on a 3DS.
    Warning: Spoilers inside!


    Troubleshooting
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

     
    1 person likes this.


  2. iggloovortex

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    nice tut rydian. hopefully this will get spotted by teh nubz?

    EDIT:Perhaps in the DS Lite connectivity spot you could briefly list examples of games that have the wifi settings?
    Pokémon, Call of Duty, etc.
     
  3. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Good idea, I just linked to the wikipedia list.
     
  4. iggloovortex

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    yay i had a good idea!

    for my next trick, how about you put the instructions in named spoilers?
     
  5. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Spoilers inside spoilers don't work, so the images would be with the actual text, but I'll try it to see how it looks.
     
  6. iggloovortex

    Member iggloovortex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2009
    Messages:
    771
    Location:
    Stratford, CT
    Country:
    United States
    ok cool [​IMG], cause i have no idea how to put a titled spoiler [​IMG]. lol
     
  7. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Okay, done.

    Like this.
     
  8. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Nice ... glad it also includes the bits about DSL/DSi - WEP/WPA differences

    One OTHER problem newbies may have is if a Firewall blocks them - I'm not sure what the code numbers are when 'testing', but perhaps under the troubleshooting section you should have something like 'Q: My DS is connected to the WiFi network but I can't connect online..'...'A: Your router may have a firewall built in that's blocking it - check your firewall settings (if applicable)'

    A quick Google came up with this that MIGHT help
     
  9. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    WFC is done over HTTP and uses Port 80, if outgoing 80 was blocked they wouldn't be able to surf the internet.

    If the DS itself is blocked that's likely MAC address filtering, which is more along the lines of "Ask whoever set up your wireless about it"...
     
  10. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Maybe I was mistaken then - but I'm sure I had a lot of trouble with my DSi connecting to the internet despite it connected to WiFi (according to the router setup page) until I turned off the Firewall - however my [very old] laptop (with a USB WiFi Dongle) could connect & browse ok.... weird

    To be honest I'm still not sure what I did to get the Dsi running properly with the firewall on in the end either
     
  11. Rogue_Ninja

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Great and needed tutorial. I got my 3ds connected to the net no problem. My sons dsi is a different story. I'll have to try some of your tips. It reads the wifi no problem but will not connect.
     
  12. CannonFoddr

    Member CannonFoddr Regular GBATemp Lurker

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2006
    Messages:
    4,106
    Location:
    Sitting by computer
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Sounds familiar (shame I can't remember what I did)... when you say 'will not connect' I assume you mean during the 'testing connection' - are you getting any error codes ??

    I also assume you're using a wireless router & not the Nintendo USB dongle (Now THAT was a bugger to get working) - if so what's the make/model of the router ??

    Oh one last thing I just remembered - What's your router security WEP or WPA ??

    If it's WPA - when setting up the DSi DON'T use connection 1,2 or 3 - use the 'advance setup' button and select 4,5 or 6. IIRC - the 1,2 & 3 are only WEP, while 4,5 and 6 are both WEP/WPA

    I can only assume that on the 3DS that it's been 'updated' so that all connections use WEP & WPA & that's why yours is OK
     
  13. KingdomBlade

    Member KingdomBlade Blade v3+ (I R SHMEXY)

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2009
    Messages:
    2,941
    Location:
    In Vulpes' Fur
    Country:
    Philippines
    Thanks.. this might be useful when I'm at my friend's house and my DS won't connect to Wi-Fi there.
     
  14. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Cannon: The DSi/XL tries to connect to nintendo's servers to test the connection, if there's some DNS issue it might not connect. Also I totally forgot you needed connections 4/5/6 for the DSi for WPA, added that.

    Kingdom, if you change the wireless security settings then all his computers/devices will need the new key, so it might be a hassle.
     
  15. Rogue_Ninja

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States
    Ill sneak his DSi out tonight and check it. Im using an actiontec provided by verizon. My wii and 3ds connect no problem. Lite and dsi is a no go. I did use to work off from the dongle and never had any issues with it until it just quit working.


    Looks like its gonna have to wait till tomorrow. The little tool must have been playing around with the parental controls and put a password on the settings.
     
  16. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    Excellent tutorial, Rydian! I thought it looked a little busy, though, so I tidied it up a little for you.
    It's just a suggestion. <img src="style_emoticons/<#EMO_DIR#>/biggrin.gif" style="vertical-align:middle" emoid=":D" border="0" alt="biggrin.gif" />


    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:5--><span style="font-size:18pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo--><u>How To Get Your 3/DS/i Online.</u><!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec-->

    Want to get your DS, DSi, or 3DS online?
    Tried one of those WiFi sticks and couldn't get it working?
    Have a wireless router but don't know the proper settings to use?

    This guide will show you the basic steps for allowing DS connectivity.</div>

    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Determine what wireless router you have, if any.<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Log into your router's settings.<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Enable the wireless and make it visible to the DS unit.<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Set the correct security settings.<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Connecting on a DS/Lite.<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Connecting on a DSi/XL.<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Connecting on a 3DS.<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>
    <div align='center'><!--sizeo:2--><span style="font-size:10pt;line-height:100%"><!--/sizeo-->Troubleshooting<!--sizec--></span><!--/sizec--></div>


    <!--QuoteBegin-Changelog+--><div class='quotetop'>QUOTE(Changelog)</div><div class='quotemain'><!--QuoteEBegin-->5/17/2011 - Spoilered the sections due to size.
    5/17/2011 - Initial version.<!--QuoteEnd--></div><!--QuoteEEnd-->
     
  17. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Heh, good idea, never through about newlines in a spoiler title to expand it.
     
  18. Snailface

    Member Snailface My frothing demand for 3ds homebrew is increasing

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2010
    Messages:
    4,324
    Location:
    Engine Room with Cyan, watching him learn.
    Country:
    Antarctica
    That was a happy accident. It automatically went to two lines when I centered the title. Weird, huh?
     
  19. Rydian
    OP

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    The closing center tag adds a rogue linebreak, it's actually a bit of an annoyance. The list tags fuck with linebreaks as well, they like to eat them...
     
  20. Rogue_Ninja

    Member Rogue_Ninja GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2009
    Messages:
    397
    Location:
    NY
    Country:
    United States

    Great advice I went into advance set up and selected 6 and bingo its working just fine. He will be happy cause now he will be able to use the Pokemon Dream World. Thanks for the help this tutorial is top notch.
     

Share This Page