How to get WiFi signal..

Discussion in 'NDS - Nintendo Wi-Fi Connection' started by Kumo, Aug 18, 2008.

Aug 18, 2008

How to get WiFi signal.. by Kumo at 11:34 PM (1,007 Views / 0 Likes) 4 replies

  1. Kumo
    OP

    Newcomer Kumo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    I just got my DS two days ago, with the CycloDS cart. I loaded up the Mario cart Rom and tried wifi mode.
    It actually did work for a few minutes, until the connection was gone again. Now, I get no signal at all. Sometimes it'll get 3bars but only for like 1/5 of a second.

    How do you get connection? My desktop uses a Belkin Wireless G Plus Desktop Card with unsecured wireless network. Will that be interoperable with my DS? If so, how? With router or usb connector perhaps?(btw what are those?/what do they do?)

    Sorry I'm so clueless.. Help pleaze
     
  2. zidane_genome

    Member zidane_genome My sword has a +2 bleeding... wanna test it out?

    Joined:
    May 21, 2006
    Messages:
    2,320
    Country:
    United States
    If you know how to adjust your routers settings, go into it, and change your broadcast channel to something like 4 or 11 (if it is 11, change it to 4 or 1)

    Sometimes there is some interference from cell phones, cordless phones, microwaves, satellites, and anything else that gives off a signal.

    In the connection test, does it connect properly?

    How far are you from your router when your trying to connect? Remember, the DS only has a 30 foot range, good rule of thumb, for every wall/floor/ceiling your going thru, take 3 feet off the range. So if your a floor above your router, and 3 rooms away, you'll only get about 20 feet. No, this isn't hard fact, but a good rule of thumb...
     
  3. Kumo
    OP

    Newcomer Kumo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Thanks, but I don't have a wireless router jsut yet. Those things work with wireless desktop cards, right? So where can I get one for real cheap(and works well)?
     
  4. Kumo
    OP

    Newcomer Kumo Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
  5. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    nds only works on 802.11b (or b/g mode in most cases). if your router is 'g' only you can't use it.

    -another world.
     

Share This Page