How to get Sonic 3 & Knuckles to work on jEnesisDS

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by Robz8, Feb 9, 2013.

Feb 9, 2013
  1. Robz8
    OP

    Member Robz8 Coolest of the Temp

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    Country:
    United States
    As the original S3K rom is 4MB, jEnesisDS has the limit of running -3MB roms.

    To get it to work on jEnesisDS, use this patch: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/58633652/DS homebrew stuff/sonic3k.ips
    Use WinIPS: http://fuji.drillspirits.net/winips/
    to patch it to the clean Sonic & Knuckles (NOT Sonic 3 & Knuckles) rom.

    This patch puts all the Sonic 3 stuff excluding the Competition/2 Player stuff in the rom.
    As the Competition/2 Player stuff are excluded, selecting Competition in the title screen
    will take you to the Blue Spheres Game ("NO WAY! NO WAY! NO WAY?" press A+B+C).
    The SRAM doesn't work, so you have to use Save States. This is a jEnesisDS problem.

    Enjoy playing Sonic 3 & Knuckles on jEnesisDS!:yaysp:
     
    sj33, Blueie and _47iscool like this.
  2. Rayder

    Former Staff Rayder Mostly lurking lately....

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2007
    Messages:
    6,613
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Or you could just get the Sonic Classics Collection for DS and have all the old-school Sonic's (sans Sonic CD) in one package without any hassles. It's already optimized for DS/DSi and made by the same dude who made the jEnesisDS emulator, but all official and stuff.
     
    The Catboy likes this.
  3. Robz8
    OP

    Member Robz8 Coolest of the Temp

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    Country:
    United States
    I know about that. Sonic Classic Collection isn't 60fps, jEnesisDS runs at 60fps.
    Imagine how a 4MB rom can run on 4MB RAM...
     
    Blueie and _47iscool like this.
  4. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    so the guy who made the emulator got hired? and ended up working on the ds game?
    if so, cool :) well done for him!
     
    _47iscool and xwatchmanx like this.
  5. Chary

    Reporter Chary GBAtemp's #1 Naoto

    pip
    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2012
    Messages:
    3,101
    Location:
    Steins Gate World Line
    Country:
    United States
    Hey, this is cool. Thanx man!
     
  6. Palom

    Member Palom Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2009
    Messages:
    87
    Country:
    United States
    Could you clarify on this matter? Because I played to Hydrocity as Tails on Kega Fusion and the SRAM is fine (so far). Is it a jEnesisDS problem, using too many save files, what?
     
  7. Dann Woolf

    Member Dann Woolf Deadpan Snarker

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    362
    Location:
    Deventer
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Doesn't Sonic Classic Collection run better on a DSi/3DS?
     
  8. Robz8
    OP

    Member Robz8 Coolest of the Temp

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    Country:
    United States
    It's a jEnesisDS problem.
     
  9. Another World

    Former Staff Another World Emulate the Planet!

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2008
    Messages:
    10,476
    Location:
    From Where???
    Country:
    Colombia
    sort-of. he got officially release a hacked version designed to just run the sonic games. as a result, he was unable to continue updating jenesisds.

    -another world
     
  10. cearp

    Member cearp the ticket master

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    7,182
    Country:
    Tuvalu
    oh that is awesome, and interesting that the company chose to go that route... i'm surprised, but i guess it makes sense ha
     
  11. hug0-a7x

    Member hug0-a7x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Brazil
    Is there a patch that changes the resolution of a Genesis game, so that it is compatible with the DS ?
     
  12. Ammako

    Member Ammako GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2009
    Messages:
    6,372
    Country:
    Canada
    How well does Sonic Classic Collection run on a DSi/3DS?
     
  13. Robz8
    OP

    Member Robz8 Coolest of the Temp

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2010
    Messages:
    2,792
    Country:
    United States
    No. The Genesis resolution is always 320x224 (or 256x224 with some games).
    You can turn off Vertical Scaling in jEnesisDS. You can do that by touching the controller icon, then go to vertical scaling.
     
    hug0-a7x likes this.
  14. hug0-a7x

    Member hug0-a7x GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    262
    Country:
    Brazil
    Thanks! Will do.
     
  15. sj33

    Member sj33 GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2013
    Messages:
    2,404
    Country:
    Japan
    Sorry to necro this, I'm aware this thread is over two years old but I thought it best to post this here because this thread appears top of the list when searching for how to get Sonic 3 & Knuckles working in JenesisDS so I felt it best for everybody to post it here rather than create a new thread for no reason.

    I hope the OP doesn't mind, but I uploaded the .ips patch to other places just in case the above link every dies. I think the OP is no longer active here so it would be a shame to lose the patch in this way.

    http://multiupload.biz/7n143l6mfdhz/sonic3k_MultiUpload.biz.ips.html

    http://www.multiupfile.com/f/5ca912aa

    If anybody could upload it to somewhere more permenent, it would be appreciated!
     
    xwatchmanx likes this.

Share This Page