IE-coRe

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Taiwan
Hello!
I am sorry if this is a noob question but I am new to the 3DS Scene. I had a DSi and a M3i Flashcard Years ago so I am not totally new to things but well let's get to my Question. I am currently living in Taiwan and I am picking up a second hand 3DS XL that is a TWN Region System. This is a bad thing because i am not fluent in Chinese so I intend to play games in English. I am willing to mistreat the thingy in any possible way like installing CFW and things like that or even buying a Flashcard if necessary.
As I said I the main point is getting rid of regional locking but I also wouldn't mind being able to play homebrew and Roms. I assume that the system will be on a new, if not the latest firmware but I don't know for sure yet.
Thanks for help in advance! :)

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
You will need to install and run a custom firmware.

However I don't think it's possible at all for Chinese or Taiwanese systems...

rubycrow

Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
United States
Best way is to install cfw. But if you cant install cfw, you can get ninjhax or any *hax and run region free with a us/eu region cartridge or sky3ds+.

Ryccardo

Penguin accelerator
Trophies
XP
Country
Italy
Yes, the 3 major regions (Japanese, American, European) are the best for hacking (and frankly for almost everything else)

All versions of N3DS are hackable in some way or another, of course getting 10.6 or under will greatly help (as you won't have to buy any software)

IE-coRe

OP
Newcomer
Trophies
XP
Country
Taiwan
Yes, the 3 major regions (Japanese, American, European) are the best for hacking (and frankly for almost everything else)

All versions of N3DS are hackable in some way or another, of course getting 10.6 or under will greatly help (as you won't have to buy any software)
I guess it should ship with a low firmware. It's the pear white version. So I can just buy it and go ahead?

Ryccardo