How to get rid of regional locking on TWN 3DS XL

Discussion in '3DS - Flashcards & Custom Firmwares' started by IE-coRe, Nov 8, 2016.

1. IE-coRe
    OP

IE-coRe Member

Newcomer
    Nov 8, 2016
    Taiwan
    Hello!
    I am sorry if this is a noob question but I am new to the 3DS Scene. I had a DSi and a M3i Flashcard Years ago so I am not totally new to things but well let's get to my Question. I am currently living in Taiwan and I am picking up a second hand 3DS XL that is a TWN Region System. This is a bad thing because i am not fluent in Chinese so I intend to play games in English. I am willing to mistreat the thingy in any possible way like installing CFW and things like that or even buying a Flashcard if necessary.
    As I said I the main point is getting rid of regional locking but I also wouldn't mind being able to play homebrew and Roms. I assume that the system will be on a new, if not the latest firmware but I don't know for sure yet.
    Thanks for help in advance! :)

2. Ryccardo

Ryccardo WiiUaboo

Feb 13, 2015
    Italy
    Imola
    You will need to install and run a custom firmware.

However I don't think it's possible at all for Chinese or Taiwanese systems...

3. rubycrow

rubycrow Member

Newcomer
    Oct 25, 2016
    United States
    Best way is to install cfw. But if you cant install cfw, you can get ninjhax or any *hax and run region free with a us/eu region cartridge or sky3ds+.

4. IE-coRe
    OP

IE-coRe Member

Newcomer
    Nov 8, 2016
    Taiwan
    What about Japanese New 3DS LL unopened with original firmware? Can CFW be installed?

5. Ryccardo

Ryccardo WiiUaboo

Feb 13, 2015
    Italy
    Imola
    Yes, the 3 major regions (Japanese, American, European) are the best for hacking (and frankly for almost everything else)

All versions of N3DS are hackable in some way or another, of course getting 10.6 or under will greatly help (as you won't have to buy any software)

6. IE-coRe
    OP

IE-coRe Member

Newcomer
    Nov 8, 2016