How to get rid of audio stutter?

Discussion in 'PSP - Hacking & Homebrew' started by PiadasLituanas, Oct 3, 2012.

Oct 3, 2012
  1. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    I think you all know what Im talking about, maybe... in some games the music will play fine for a while, but then it will start stuttering and won't move from that point. like

    la li lu le lo, la li lu le lo, la li [crash point] lu lu lu lu lu lu lu lu lu lu lu..........

    The game still plays fine, but the music goes to hell, or sometimes instead of lululululu the music just stops. It doesn't happen with every game though... but most of them do. :(

    anyone know about this? how to fix it?
     


  2. Hyro-Sama

    Member Hyro-Sama I'm from the fucking future.

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2009
    Messages:
    4,255
    Location:
    After Earth
    Country:
    Japan
    Provide some more info so people can prescribe the correct remedy.

    PSP Model?
    Current CFW?
    Games having the issue?
     
  3. pokefloote

    Member pokefloote GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2009
    Messages:
    2,670
    Country:
    United States
    Is memory stick speedup enabled? I've heard of it causing frame skips in the past for some people, though I've never had a problem. I don't even use the option, hah.
    You can check this in the "advanced" section of the recovery menu.

    It could also be an issue if you are using cso files instead of iso.
     
  4. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    PSP3000
    temporary 6.60 PRO B-10
    games having the issue.......tons. I thought this was normal. In Gladiator Begins(iso), it will last around a minute until the music stops. But the music will restart if I change area or after a loading screen. In Fate Extra (iso), the same thing. In Tactics Ogre(iso), instead of stopping it starts to stutter, like I said.

    Now that I think about it I don't think it happens with CSOs as much. It didn't happen ever with Castlevania DXC, and that's a CSO.

    But with Hammerin' Hero, another cso, I'm pretty sure it happened...

    honestly I just wanted to get tactics ogre working.

    i really wanna play it, and if theres a tactics ogre cso it might work

    but i don't think theres any... :(
     
  5. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    I don't think I have that on this cfw...
     
  6. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Go to the games menu and highlight the memory stick, press triangle and go to the properties. What does it say for magicgate? What kind of memory stick are you using?
     
  7. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,734
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    MGS reference. :creep: /Nerd Mode.

    Are you playing .CSO's? If so, stop.
     
  8. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    MagicGate Supported. Memory stick is a 4gb Sandisk

    The problem I'm having is with ISOs especially, in fact it doesn't seem to happen as much with CSOs....

    I'm thinking maybe the problem is because I have temporary cfw :(
     
  9. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    No it's not. I refuse to submit to using what i deem an inferior method for permanent patching and use a temporary PRO on my Go and games DO NOT STUTTER. Are all these downloaded from other people? None ripped from your own UMD's to test? I think the next step would be to get a second version of a problem game and test again.
     
  10. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,734
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    Format the stick, re-download/re-dump the games, make sure they are not compressed ISO's (CSO), check the stepping settings of the processor and the memory of the system in the CFW's menu, try again.

    If problems persist, it would be nice if you posted a benchmark of your MSPD - there are certain homebrew apps that check for read/write speeds available for the platform.
     
  11. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Do you have Jak and Daxter the Lost Frontier? If you do try that too....i had a slower PRO Duo which caused the FMV's to stutter irrespective of what i tried (formats etc...)

    Also disable every plugin you're using.
     
  12. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Wow ok....... I think I solved it.

    Here's what I did:

    I formatted the stick, and while I was at it I upgraded to 660 PRO-C

    Before you say "it was because you upgraded", it didn't work. I put Tactics Ogre(iso) back in , and got the same problem again.

    So now I'm annoyed I deleted everything for nothing, but I try something else: I get UMDGen to try to convert a small-size problem game to CSO. Best of Solitaire is a 28mb ISO that had the audio problem too, so I convert it.

    It worked! No audio problem for the first time. I try the original ISO again to see if I'm not crazy but nope. That one still gives me the audio problem, but this new CSO works fine!

    I guess CSO format is not so bad afterall? Only thing I noticed was that the loading time was double the usual.... and it's just a card game...

    Then I was gonna do the same thing with Tactics Ogre but then I tried
    a different iso I found, and it's..... working.... now... :blink: i don't even get it

    sometimes I get audio stutter, sometimes I dont. i give up on trying to figure it out

    But it's working now so thanks a ton!! :D la li lu le lo! :lol:
     
  13. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    What are the filesized when ISO and CSO? Your memory stick may have a read issue and by compressing it as CSO you trimmed it small enough to avoit the issue (whether it's certain sectors or sequential read time in general).
     
  14. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    You're going to need to do a MS speed test....a PSXReality memory stick test would be a nice result for you to post.
     
  15. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Turns out the Tactics Ogre iso I got had the same problem too. It just took longer to manifest... Ugh

    It was 28.1mb as ISO then 21.8mb as CSO.

    It had a problem when compressing too, I had to change an Lba position (I don't even know what that is, but I changed it. Wouldn't let me compress it otherwise). I don't think it's related to that though, because I tested a new ISO with that same Lba change (just to be sure) and still got the problem.

    I remembered something: It happens with music files(mp3) too, the songs skip for half a second and sometimes they just show up as corrupted data. I forgot about that since I dont listen to music much.

    It really must be a read issue like you say

    [​IMG]

    Total Space 3999268864 bytes ClusterSize 32768
    100 0.029966 0.000528 0.114187 0.000165
    1024 0.515680 0.066299 1.301935 0.003264
    2048 1.112030 0.088397 2.226170 0.003952
    4096 1.932045 0.367629 3.446920 0.009132
    8192 2.845342 0.386486 3.932796 0.011294
    16384 3.260640 0.467005 4.197688 0.001448
    32768 3.564873 0.493842 4.367292 0.000887
    65536 3.696261 0.513146 4.458526 0.000790
    131072 3.243506 0.261804 4.513898 0.000621
    262144 3.137487 0.133118 4.540643 0.000446
    524288 3.230425 0.240638 4.546332 0.000393
    1048576 3.175312 0.166872 4.546475 0.000369
    2097152 3.127859 0.127924 4.552477 0.000578
    4194304 3.296652 0.128789 4.546541 0.000443
    8388608 3.140416 0.158482 4.543454 0.002286
    12582912 3.167192 0.182258 5.165407 0.001608
    16777216 3.124960 0.090009 5.346958 0.001047
    20971520 3.175281 0.111475 5.612359 0.000384
    Not sure what to make out of that...
     
  16. xist

    Member xist ΚΑΤΑ ΤΟΝ ΔΑΙΜΟΝΑ ΕΑΥΤΟΥ

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    5,861
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    That is an awful result.The read speed is atrocious.

    This is my genuine Sandisk 4GB

    [​IMG]
     
  17. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    So I guess nothing can be done about it?

    I've converted tactics ogre to CSO and it looks like it's working now (with some hiccups during cutscenes). So it's fine really. I don't mind :)

    thanks for all the help!
     
  18. Rydian

    Member Rydian Resident Furvert™

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2010
    Messages:
    27,883
    Location:
    Cave Entrance, Watching Cyan Write Letters
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah it's an issue with your memory stick, it looks like.
     
  19. Foxi4

    Reporter Foxi4 On the hunt...

    pip
    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2009
    Messages:
    22,734
    Location:
    Gaming Grotto
    Country:
    Poland
    It's not even a matter of whether this is acceptable for you or not - it's abnormal for a memory stick to be *that slow*. It may be a counterfeit one, it may be keeling over, it's probably advisable that you get a new one to avoid future issues... ;)
     
  20. PiadasLituanas
    OP

    Newcomer PiadasLituanas Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2012
    Messages:
    20
    Hi. I'm sorry for bumping this old thread but I found a solution. Using 6.60pro-c , press select and go into Recovery Menu -> Advanced. At the bottom it says Force High Memory Layout. Enable that. Then near the top it says Memory Stick Speedup. I put it on Always. That was enough for me, and my CPU speed is Default. If Default doesnt work then try other speeds. I was having trouble with Diablo (PS1) audio stutter and then game crashing, but now its working with no problems.
     
    cearp likes this.

Share This Page