How to get HDDs working No428482346234

Discussion in 'Wii - Backup Loaders' started by WiiPower, Jun 16, 2009.

?

Does usb loading work for you?

  1. Working, only 1 wbfs partition

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Not working, only 1 wbfs partition

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Working, 1 wbfs partition and 1 or more other

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  4. Not Working, 1 wbfs partition and 1 or more other

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  5. Not working, tried with different numbers of paritions

    0 vote(s)
    0.0%
Multiple votes are allowed.
Jun 16, 2009
  1. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I got one tester who got his HDD but adding a 1 GB dummy FAT partion to his HDD. I came to this idea, because i noticed that most if not all people who have no problems, have multiple partitons on their HDDs.
     
  2. wolffangalchemist

    Member wolffangalchemist This is bat country!

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2008
    Messages:
    1,406
    Location:
    middleofnowhere, AL
    Country:
    United States
    yeah i got a 10 gig fat32 partition and a 110gig wbfs on my 120 gig enclosure, wbfs worked fine either way though.
    my only problem is it takes soooooo long for the fat32 partition to be mounted by both hbc to load apps from it and i have to plug it in right as hbc or mplayer ce starts to have it be recognized at all.
    though wad manager 1.4 doesn't have this problem loads up my usb wad folder really quickly.
     
  3. dexter222

    Member dexter222 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2009
    Messages:
    336
    Location:
    Land of Fruits and Nuts
    Country:
    United States
    You left more than one WBFS partition off the poll.

    I've never met a drive that WBFS didn't like [​IMG]

    The only time I ever had a problem was when I hit "load" before formatting in WBFS Manager 3.0 but deleting and recreating the partitions fixed that.
     
  4. antimatter

    Newcomer antimatter Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    64
    Country:
    Belgium
    HP data store & save 3500 with 20gb fat32 partition 1 and 280gb wbfs partition 2. works like a charm
     
  5. moviecut

    Newcomer moviecut Member

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    20
    Country:
    Germany
    i also have more than one partition and it works the problem 99% wll be, that wbfs-partition is noch primary i think. it must be primary, thats all.
     
  6. giantpune

    Member giantpune GBAtemp Addict

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    2,860
    Country:
    United States
    Partition1->464.00GB WBFS
    Partition2-> 1.6GB FAT32
    Both primary, active, and drive letter assigned. I have not had an application yet that did not find either partition, ever.
     
  7. sl33p

    Member sl33p GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    NTFS------FAT32------WBFS
     
  8. joesnose

    Newcomer joesnose Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    Having recently softmodded my wii, i wanted to try the whole backing up of discs. Unfortunately the only external drive i have is a faulty mediaplayer hard drive enclosure that failed more than a year ago. When i plug it into a pc it is not recognised at all, in both windows and linux. Strange thing is usb loader on the wii picked it up straght away and formatted it. I am using it now to play my backups, quite bizzare. it is still not recognised under windows or linux!
     
  9. WiiPower
    OP

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    I get the same with my enclosure, but with a very old 10GB HDD, my normal HDD works fine. Maybe "only" the HDD is defective and the enclosure is fine.
     
  10. geedub

    Member geedub GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    396
    Location:
    Scotland
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    NTFS and WBFS here !
     
  11. joesnose

    Newcomer joesnose Newbie

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2009
    Messages:
    6
    Country:
    United States
    In my case it is definitely the enclosure, the hard drive is fine and if i swap any other hard drive into it i get the same problem.
     
  12. forza11

    Newcomer forza11 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2007
    Messages:
    58
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i'm still trying to find out how i can get a FAT partion on my WBFS formatted drive. All tools i try ask me to completely format my drive since they don't reckonize a WBFS format.. any tips?
     
  13. ether2802

    Former Staff ether2802 we have the techno...!!

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    4,350
    Location:
    Pto. Vallarta
    Country:
    Mexico
    Format, make the partition, and use the bigger one for WBFS
    I'm using 1st part WBFS and 2nd as NTFS......working great in my cheapo HDD 600GB for $70can dls..!! [​IMG]
     
  14. Logan

    Member Logan GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2003
    Messages:
    599
    Location:
    Northampton, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I bought a Seagate External USB 2.0 500GB hard drive from PC World. Currently if you order it online to collect in store, you can get it for £49.99! It works perfectly with Beardface's Cover Floader.

    I use 1 single WBFS partition.
     

Share This Page