How to format partition in WBFS on OSX Mountain Lion ?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hardware, Devices and Utilities' started by RiderFx3, Feb 12, 2013.

  1. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    Hi everybody !

    I try to format an external HDD in WBFS using OSX Mountain Lion.

    I have tested with "WBFS For MacOS X" with the sudo comand to open it, but this software don't allow you to format a partition, it can only mount preformated WBFS partitions...

    I also tried "QWBFS 1.2.0" but I have got an error when I wan't to format.

    Can you give me the way please ?

    Thanks !
     


  2. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    try wiimms wwt if you really want WBFS
    but I suggest you consider using FAT32 instead
     
  3. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    OK and how can I convert ISO games in .wbfs to tranfert it on a FAT32 Partition ?

    thx !
     
  4. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    you can do that with wiimms tools too (wit in this case)
    there might be other managers too, I don't keep up with OSX tools
     
  5. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    Ok I read the doc on wimm.de.

    The command to convert a game is wwt FORMAT ?
     
  6. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    NO!

    "wwt format" will format a partition/drive with WBFS, what you asked in your first question
    to create a .wbfs file from a .iso file use "wit copy"

    edit:
    I think "wit copy /WHEREVER/SOME.iso -D /WIIDRIVE/wbfs/%Y/%+ --wbfs -z" is what you want
     
  7. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    Thanks a lot,

    OK So, If I have an HDD formated in FAT32 or NTFS, I simply use "wit copy /Admin/GAME.iso" and my game will be converted to .wbfs ?

    And after, i juste have to copy the .wbfs on my disk ? Right ?
     
  8. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    no that allone won't suffice, you need the rest too


    wit copy needs a source and a destination
    since the destination can be on the wii hdd there is no need to maually copy it to the disk
    in this case -D specifies it
    the "wbfs/%Y/%+" at its end puts it in the directory expected by loaders

    --wbfs tells it that you want a .wbfs file not someting else

    additionally fat32 needs large files to be split files which -z does


    suppose you want to copy "/WHEREVER/SOME.iso"
    to your wii hdd which is mounted at "/WIIDRIVE"
    then you use the command I posted above

    for "/Admin/GAME.iso" to "/Admin/wii" you would use
    "wit copy /Admin/GAME.iso -D /Admin/wii/wbfs/%Y/%+ --wbfs -z"


    you really might want to check the manual
    "wit help" and "wit help copy" might be helpful too
     
  9. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    Thanks a lot for this informations !!!

    Can I format a disk into WBFS with wwt FORMAT ? http://wit.wiimm.de/wwt/

    I don't understand the exact command...
     
  10. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    yes, but this too needs a destination (a partition or drive)
    "wwt format /dev/sdx1" drive will format the first partition of drive /dev/sdx to wbfs
     
  11. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    Ok thanks a lot. I suppose i can see the name of my disk with "diskutil list".

    I will try this soon. Thank you very much I will tell you if it works for me.

    did you know if i will have an issue with the permission to format the drive in mountain lion ? Many GUI software who can normally mount WBFS partitions has issues in ML and must be launched with the sudo command....
     
  12. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    no OS can understand WBFS partitions, so the manager has to do all the filesystem handling itself
    doing so requires direct access to the harddrives
    since anyone with that power can basically become root (aka superuser aka administrator) anytime he wants
    a secure OS can only grant that power to special users (most likely root and those in a special group, called "disk" most of the time)

    so yes, unless you can add youself to that group (which I STRONGLY ADVISE AGAINST) you will probably need sudo everytime you use the WBFS partition


    if, on the other hand, the OS can handle the filesysten (eg. fat, ntfs, ...) you don't need any special privileges
    the manager can simply use the normal methods any other programm uses
     
  13. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    OK I have installed correctly the Wimm's Tools.

    I have tried the command : sudo wwt --force format /dev/rdisk3s1
    Code:
    Mac-Pro-de-admin:~ admin$ sudo wwt --force format /dev/rdisk3s1
    *****  wwt: Wiimms WBFS Tool v2.11a r4233 mac - Dirk Clemens - 2013-02-09  *****
    FORMAT CHARACTER DEVICE /dev/rdisk3s1 [298 GiB, hss=512]
    ** 1 file formatted.
    Mac-Pro-de-admin:~ admin$
    Terminal says to mee that one file are formated, but my disk seems to be in FAT32... and I'm stuck here...

    Witgui says to me "no WBFS Partitions found"

    Any idéa ?
     
  14. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    the wwt part seems fine to me

    what does "wwt check /dev/rdisk3s1" say?
    why do you think that it's fat32?
    was the partition fat32 before formating?
    did you unmount it before formating?
     
  15. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    Thanks I will try this tips ! :)
     
  16. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    So...

    My disk is FAT32 formated.

    I type :
    Code:
    diskutil unmountDisk disk2
    it says that disk is succefully unmounted.
    Code:
     wwt --force format /dev/rdisk2
    it says :
    ***** wwt: Wiimms WBFS Tool v2.11a r4233 mac - Dirk Clemens - 2013-02-09 *****
    FORMAT CHARACTER DEVICE /dev/rdisk2 [298 GiB, hss=512]
    ** 1 file formatted.
    Code:
    diskutil mountDisk disk2
    it says : Volume(s) mounted successfully.

    But I'm stuck here... and Witgui find no partitions....
     
  17. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    OK I have launched witgui with this command :

    sudo /Applications/Witgui.app/Contents/MacOS/Witgui

    and Witgui says to me :
    Capture d’écran 2013-02-17 à 19.39.28.png

    VICTORYYYY !!!!

    Thanks a lot for you precious helping man ! :D

    EDIT : I have copied a game... and when I Launch it with Wiiflow 4,1, the WiiU reboot...
     
  18. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
  19. PsyBlade

    Member PsyBlade Snake Charmer

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    2,204
    Location:
    Sol III
    Country:
    Germany
    I don't have a WiiU but afaik you might need special cios/loaders for it.
    Maybe search the WiiU section for details
    From here on OSX should not play a role, so you might want a new thread anyway

    Appart from that I don't think I can help
     
  20. RiderFx3
    OP

    Newcomer RiderFx3 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2009
    Messages:
    59
    Country:
    France
    Thanks you PsyBlade ! I will test others loaders.

    When it will works, i will try to make a script to automate the wbfs formating process on a Mac.
     

Share This Page