How to Fix DUAL CHANNELS

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by xfrostx, Feb 6, 2008.

Feb 6, 2008

How to Fix DUAL CHANNELS by xfrostx at 1:05 AM (3,057 Views / 0 Likes) 16 replies

  1. xfrostx
    OP

    Newcomer xfrostx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
  2. H8TR

    Member H8TR GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    796
    Location:
    t-Dot
    Country:
    Canada
    Has anyone ever tested it? The idea has been brought up countless amount of times but nobody has ever done it. Is it worth losing all the save files (especially the ones that can't be copied to SD) and VC games an thighs like Opera.
     
  3. Samutz

    Member Samutz Wet Tissue Sample

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,598
    Location:
    See that hole in your wall?
    Country:
    United States
    I'm not 100% positive, but I'm pretty sure that will revert the firmware as well.

    Meaning you have to update again and then just end up with dual channel again.
     
  4. xfrostx
    OP

    Newcomer xfrostx Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Messages:
    37
    Country:
    United States
    If you have VC you can re download them from the Wii Shop channel, i doubt it goes to originial firmware. but if it does that is good then you can do the 15 % trick
     
  5. ProdigySim

    Member ProdigySim GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2005
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    If "Firmware" updates are stored in the same way as save games and downloadable content like channels/VC Games, then there is something very wrong.
    This should NOT revert the firmware to an older version.
     
  6. haruk

    Newcomer haruk Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    52
    Country:
    United States
    Pretty sure that means virtual console channels, and other downloadable ones such as internet channel, doubt you'll be able to delete your double channels, and I'm sure people have tried before
     
  7. rabhw

    Newcomer rabhw Member

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    Canada
    Wouldn't it make sense to test something like this instead of making a thread title as bold as this, despite people having done this and confirmed it not to work?
     
  8. dg10050

    Member dg10050 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2006
    Messages:
    188
    Country:
    United States
     
  9. sebaash

    Newcomer sebaash Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    83
    Country:
    Chile
    this method, is 100% real?
     
  10. TaMs

    Member TaMs Randomizer

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,126
    Country:
    Finland
    doesn't work. I formatted my wii once when i got wiikey and i had double channels before it from mp3. And they didn't disappear.
    You can always try by yourself if you want.
     
  11. MahouMaster

    Member MahouMaster GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2007
    Messages:
    201
    Country:
    Australia
    This is pretty old, it's been tried many times beofre and has never worked, I wish it did though, I have the duplicate channels v.v;.
     
  12. dreadbread

    Newcomer dreadbread Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    39
    Country:
    United States
    this has been tried some months ago but the duplicate channels was never deleted.
     
  13. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Wont work.
    As the channels are added into the firmware.
    You cannot format the firmware.
     
  14. perimbean

    Member perimbean GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    109
    Location:
    Singapore
    Country:
    Singapore
    >>As the channels are added into the firmware.

    Hmm...interesting discussion. I've gotten my hands on a NTSC-J wii set with wiikey and it has got 3 weather & 3 news channels (2 dupes which apparently do not work..)

    Are we able to downgrade the firmware and reupdate again? My NTSC-J is running fw 3.1J (when I initialise the wifi, it connects straightaway to Nintendo website, and displayed the firmware updating [of which i switched off my wifi connection])

    Should I update the firmware (i know there are no revision numbers, so it's kinda hard to know what firmware it'd be..)

    Has anyone encountered the similar situation as me?

    Cheers!
     
  15. manias

    Member manias GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,258
    Country:
    Netherlands
    You can NOT remove double channels. Just move them out of the screen they are harmless on their own.
     
  16. uschghost

    Newcomer uschghost Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    27
    Country:
    Germany
    I don´t get what you have against the double channels.
    I mean who needs all the free sppace in wii menu if you have a wiikey you´ll probably use emulators
    instead of using the virtualconsole.
    And personaly i think it looks cool to have the japanes wetherchannel with all the japanes
    signs, it makes it look more geekie [​IMG]

    Anyway sonner or later the homebrew community will find a way to delete your doublechannels so just relax [​IMG]
     
  17. superrob

    Member superrob H4X H4X H4X!

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2007
    Messages:
    2,465
    Location:
    GBATemp factory.
    Country:
    Denmark
    Well not so easy..
    The Channels are recorded into firmware.
     

Share This Page