How to fit a 4.5 gb game onto DVD?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Stephanie, Feb 15, 2009.

Feb 15, 2009
  1. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    These 4.7 gb discs aren't worth a damn if I can't fit any games on them! Does compression or DVD shrink type software work? Thanks.

    ~Steph
     


  2. Sharpz

    Member Sharpz GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    345
    Location:
    L.A California
    Country:
    United States
    Uhm 4.5 is smaller than 4.7 so it would fit. [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Holt's right you can only fit 4.37...but with imgburn you can burn to the full 4.7GB I believe.
     
  3. BryceOne

    BryceOne Newbie

    Sorry if my calculations aren't correct, but why wouldn't a 4.5gb game fit on a 4.7gb DVD? What game is it you're trying to put on the dvd?
     
  4. Holt

    Newcomer Holt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Fortaleza
    Country:
    Brazil
    where you downloaded from?
    maybe it could be a fake image of the game or something...

    Edit: dude, 4.7 dvds dont have 4.7 GB, only 4.37 GB. they put 4.7 cuz of the byte size 4698954...
    but it's not their actual size.
     
  5. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    Well, Nero reads the disc as 4.3ish most of the times. Seems to be some unnecessary data on the discs. Though in IMG burn it says 4.7. However I tried burning the ISO in IMB burn and nothing ended up on disc, whereas Nero burned it when I used the Overburn feature. This may or may not be a big part in my Wii not playing +RW discs, but I can't be for sure until I get the full ISO on a disc.

    I'm guess what I'm trying to ask is how can I get the most from the capacity of my DVD's [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  6. kyogc

    Member kyogc GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2008
    Messages:
    324
    Country:
    Taiwan
  7. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    Well, DUDE [​IMG] ,looks like Deadly Creatures isn't going on my disc. Seems that a lot of Wii ISO's are close to this size.
     
  8. Holt

    Newcomer Holt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Fortaleza
    Country:
    Brazil
    what game you're trying to burn anyway?

    Edit: when i said dude, i was talking with Sharpz =X
    well, i have deadly creatures, i burned with IMGBurn, with a DVD-R, try to download it from somewhere else.
     
  9. Rock Raiyu

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    All Wii games are the same size with the exclusion of Super Smash Bros. Brawl and Super Mario Galaxy (I think). Just burn them using a different burner if it doesn't work.
     
  10. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    [​IMG]

    What size is your Deadly Creatures?


    ~Steph
     
  11. Holt

    Newcomer Holt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Fortaleza
    Country:
    Brazil
    lol, 4,37 GB. [​IMG]
    just try to download from somewhere trustable, like -snip- [​IMG]
     
  12. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    -snip-. Thanks [​IMG]

    It might takes years to download, but I guess we'll see [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  13. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    btw, my Deadly Creatures ISO is 4.37 as well. Under Properties is says it's that on file and disc, though when looking at the icon and seeing the KBs underneath, it says 4,589,824 [​IMG]

    And when I try to burn in Nero, it says the filesize is 4,443mb, and I only have 4,442mb on my disc. I don't get it! [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  14. masta21

    Newcomer masta21 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    17
    Country:
    United States
    i put a 4.690 gb game on a 4.7 gb dvd...using imgburn
     
  15. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    We should trade computer hardware! See you in 10 [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  16. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    Holy ****! It loaded the game, kinda. It gave me the disc's name RDCE78 or whatever. Now I get a green screen. Well, this is a start at least! [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  17. Holt

    Newcomer Holt Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Location:
    Fortaleza
    Country:
    Brazil
    you are a softmod user?
     
  18. FireFreek

    Member FireFreek GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    184
    Country:
    United States
    Umm.. not entirely sure what's going on with you but...

    -Only DVD-R's work if you softmod
    -All wii ISOs are 4.37GB, excluding a couple, because they're dual layer discs, meaning twice the size.

    Just saying, cause i'm not sure you got it from the other people.
     
  19. Stephanie
    OP

    Member Stephanie GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2009
    Messages:
    272
    Location:
    your ceiling, watching you.
    Country:
    United States
    Yeth.

    Wow, CIOSCORP is great! I can see the Deadly Creatures preview screen in the Disc Channel with sound and everything! Even on my +RW [​IMG] !

    Now it's a matter of getting a good backup copy and I'm set!!!!!! [​IMG]


    ~Steph

    Posts merged

    Not to burst your flame (LMFAO) *aherm* ... but Only DVD-R are the most reliable. +RW works for some users with softmod [​IMG]


    ~Steph
     
  20. mousex

    Member mousex GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2009
    Messages:
    987
    Country:
    United States
    DVD+R definitifly work with Softmod. I burned nearly all my games on Sony DVD+R because the shop didn't had Sony DVD-R and all my games work (using DIP7 patch in the IOSes).
     

Share This Page