1. JeepX87

    JeepX87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    United States
    Edit the save via hex editor works fine for 3DS (ves) to SNES (srm) emulator, but sadly, it didn't work for save from SNES to 3DS.

    I found same stuff that start with "HAL Laboratory, inc" in vea file so tried to copy and paste, but it don't work so it will give you a new game option.

    Is there other way to load srm save in 3DS virtual console? If so and worked, please tell us.

    If not so should we start a thread to share the saves from 3DS virtual console?
     
  2. Stremon

    Stremon GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2014
    Messages:
    206
    Country:
    France
    Same here, I think I tried every modifications possible on those files, with no success... I think either the save file header (the difference between normal save and virtual console one) is a file sum check, or the automatic save state of the virtual console can't be overwritten manually...
    Which is strange since the injection works in the GB games.
    Anyway I think the solution would be to find how those files are made, to inject the saves correctly in the save file and/or savestate.
     
    JeepX87 likes this.
  3. raphamotta

    raphamotta GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Country:
    The save is in VES file, starting in 0x30 all the way to end. You can see this content in VES file is inside the VEA an VEW file...

    I tried to put the content from SNES retroarch save inside the VES file in WiiU but didn't work. It's funny because doing the same thing in the 3DS SNES VC worked!!I think there's some kind of verification byte or code inside the first lines of the VES file in WiiU SNES VC....

    I tested with LoZ Link to the past using only VES file (not injected, the official one) and

    WiiU to N3DS > works (save works well but no savestate)
    N3DS to WiiU > don't work (appears as a clean save)
     
    Last edited by raphamotta, Jan 2, 2017
  4. JeepX87

    JeepX87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, I tried with Super Mario World and Zelda: Link to Past without successful.

    I was like damn to Nintendo to make more complicated and if save restore point taken out so it should make easier to load the save that converted from srm to ves?
     
  5. dope92

    dope92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    Since the last post was Monday, last I checked this wouldn't be a necro post until its been a month.

    But I'm still looking into someone who has possibly gotten results on this.

    I just want my sword of kings man...
     
  6. Webbmaster1900

    OP Webbmaster1900 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2010
    Messages:
    13
    Country:
    United States
    As far as I know, we have yet to figure out exactly how to port our saves over to the 3DS yet. Likely due to how saves work on the SNES Virtual Console... but that is simply just speculation on my part.
     
  7. dope92

    dope92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    I've started to tinker with my file and so far all I can do is clear the save on the system and import the original but the edits don't stick.

    importing the files one at a time doesn't make the file stick to the new save either.

    I'm still testing to see exactly WHICH FILE is the catalyst for the system to load.

    I REALLY want my sword of kings on the 3ds rom.
     
  8. JeepX87

    JeepX87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    United States
    I noticed that restore point save is in VEA but real save is in VES.

    I tried to edit both of them with hex editor but they gave me a stupid new game option.
     
  9. dope92

    dope92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    We know that the .ves from offset 0x30 is the actual save that can be copied and pasted into a blank hex file to be made into a .srm

    With what I have so far done this with my save.

    The .vew is the restore point data. Deleting that and importing the save onto a blank file keeps the state, but the restore point is blank. So resetting will mean all you have is the save file.
     
  10. JeepX87

    JeepX87 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2016
    Messages:
    647
    Country:
    United States
    Is it work with .ves only?
     
  11. dope92

    dope92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    Just tested that and no. it wont stick.

    A clean file exports (.cfg) (.ves) and (.vea) files

    Somewhere inside the (.cfg) and(.vea) files there must be a checksum that prevents the edited file from sticking.

    It's almost as if there is a signature that is needed from the header of the ves that needs to match on all 3 files for the save to stick.

    I am trying all of this by clearing the data before importing the save on JKSM so that the files aren't created on the system yet.
     
    Last edited by dope92, Jan 8, 2017
  12. dope92

    dope92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    Interesting development.

    Has anyone tried creating a new (.vew) state after editing the (.ves) file?

    Cause after editing, my game crashes 100%.

    I clear the system file and put the old save back and it creates states like normal...

    Too tired to dig any more. But my quest for the sword of kings injected powersave does not end here.
     
  13. raphamotta

    raphamotta GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2013
    Messages:
    636
    Country:
    Share your emulator save here... I want to try something.
     
  14. dope92

    dope92 Member
    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2016
    Messages:
    38
    Country:
    Canada
    hope it helps
     

    Attached Files:

  15. GuyInDogSuit

    GuyInDogSuit Your friendly neighborhood guy in a dog suit.
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,755
    Country:
    United States
    What about NES games? I got "rsm1.dat" and "rsm2.dat."
     
  16. sandman15552000

    Newcomer

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2016
    Messages:
    16
    Country:
    United States
    I believe you would reverse the process. You would start by making a save from the 3ds. Grabbing the header from before 0X30 and pasting it in front of your pc save and renaming. Could be wrong though.

    Also does this work for all virtual console for instance gbc.
     
  17. EddieEddie90

    EddieEddie90 GBAtemp Regular
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2016
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Mexico
    This worked perfectly! who would have thought. Thanks!
     
  18. MushGuy

    MushGuy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,136
    Country:
    United States
    So, any finds about importing?
     
  19. hug0-a7x

    hug0-a7x GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2013
    Messages:
    511
    Country:
    Brazil
  20. MushGuy

    MushGuy GBAtemp Maniac
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2010
    Messages:
    1,136
    Country:
    United States
    Jacklack3 likes this.
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - Extract, Virtual, Console