How to create dvd5 SSBB NTSC-USA with fully playable SS emissary.

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by wiifiend, Mar 11, 2008.

  1. wiifiend
    OP

    Newcomer wiifiend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    Making a fully working (minus the movies) dvd5 version of Super Smash Bros. Brawl Ntsc USA , including fully playable subspace emissary,classic mode and 3.2u update.


    Update: 3/24/08 Been Busy... Here is an easy patching method just wiiscrubb your disk and apply this ppf patch
    Heres vv_'s 2nd ftb.bin (also credits to abc99 for making the patch)
    ppf patch here:
    http://rapidshare.com/files/99581204/ssbb_...ch_2.1.rar.html


    Old Method
    ---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    Step 1: Obtain a dvd9 rip of the game (I used the WIIZARD DVD9 SSBB release for this tutorial)

    Step 2: Run wiiscrubber on the iso , this will result in only the first layer of the dual layer disk being turned into an iso that is 4.37GB (4,699,979,776 bytes)

    Download Link: SSBB DVD5 MOD v1.1
    (***updated 03/13/08; v1.1 includes the #001 error fix and fixes the "green screen" crash upon completing SSE***)

    Step 3: Open the wiiscrubbed ISO with trucha signer and navigate to partition
    (RSBE01) In the SYSFILES folder replace the main.dol with the main.dol file provided.

    Step 4: Then navigate to the folder ROOT and then the subfolder module and replace the sora_menu_simple_ending.rel with the sora_menu_simple_ending.rel file provided. Then in the same folder replace the sora_menu_title.rel with the sora_menu_title.rel file provided. Finally replace the sora_adv_menu_ending.rel with the sora_adv_menu_ending.rel file provided.

    Step 5: Navigate to the the ROOT/movie/param/us subfolder and replace each file (118 total) with the files provided to you in the (us) folder. You have to replace these one at a time so it will take a few minutes. Just take your time and make sure you replace them all.

    Step 6: Right click on the partition (RSBE01) and trucha sign it!

    Step 7: Close trucha signer and burn with imgburn at 4x (at least thats what I burn all my dvd's at)


    dvd9 (original)iso md5 checksum: d18726e6dfdc8bdbdad540b561051087
    dvd5 (modded) with v1.1 mod md5 checksum: c7ce418f409673f3fb1209f1c098e958

    Note:When playing the subspace emissary just skip the movies so you dont have to watch the same movie over and over again.

    ***props to nehe32 and others for there work on the jp dvd5 version of the game***

    Tell me how this works for you all.

    wiifiend
     


  2. kyori

    Newcomer kyori Newbie

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Country:
    France
    Thanks to you !!!
    I'll try this tonight !
     
  3. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States
    will def try this later today
     
  4. wiifiend
    OP

    Newcomer wiifiend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    If your on a pal system you will need to do a method to block the 3.2u ntsc usa update because I have it working on this dvd5 modified version.
     
  5. RyuKakashi

    Member RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    Replacing all theses pac files sure isn't fun.

    Is there really a need to wiiscrub? I thought wiiscrub only changes compression and in addition it also has trouble with dual layer?
     
  6. coolbho3000

    Member coolbho3000 GBATemp Kikkoman Naturally Brewed SoySauce Fanatic

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2007
    Messages:
    2,095
    Location:
    Kikkoman Factory
    Country:
    Wiiscrub basically reduces the ISO down to DVD5.
     
  7. wiifiend
    OP

    Newcomer wiifiend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    I only use wiiscruber because it gets rid of the second layer of the iso, and it will be easy for people who use the tutorial to use.

    Yes replacing all those files isnt fun. But some people; like people with older argon firmware that dont support dual layer disk will go to great lengths to get there backup working. Also people who dont have access to a dual layer burner or cant get there dl backups to run will find this useful.
     
  8. Reckless

    Newcomer Reckless Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    35
    Country:
    Is it possible for someone to create a ppf which does the job? Would be sweet

    Also I am now on 3.1E and have double channels two times from metroid prime full update and SSBB full update. If I update to 3.2E and run the update which is on the SSBB USA disc will I get the channels another time?
     
  9. RyuKakashi

    Member RyuKakashi GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2006
    Messages:
    450
    Country:
    United States
    Yeap that's me. Burning the wiiscrubed and replaced files iso now.
    I really should just update my yaosm [​IMG]

    Thanks for the tutorial.
     
  10. Bob Loblaw

    Member Bob Loblaw Read the Bob Loblaw Law Blog!

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    1,260
    Country:
    United States

    I don't understand though. If you get rid of the second layer using wiiscrubber then how is SSE still intact?
     
  11. wiifiend
    OP

    Newcomer wiifiend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    The second layer of the dvd9 ssbb disk just have movies on it , wiiscrubber will cut that second layer off, then the files I have you replace relinks the movies with the intro movie to subspace emissary so that the wii will play that movie in place of other movies. Which bypasses the need for the second layer of the disk.
     
  12. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    my burn will be done in about 2 mins...i'll let you know how it goes. How do you upload to usenet btw? I might upload this.

    Posts merged

    great.....i got a dre [​IMG] game showed in title screen then that was it
     
  13. Sperion

    Member Sperion GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Thnx gona try it tonight ^^,

    btw isnt it posible to downgrade the movies and music to fit it al on a single layer? just a thought..
     
  14. wiifiend
    OP

    Newcomer wiifiend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    You would need an account that allows posting binaries to newsgroups from a newshost such as giganews ect. Thats beyond the scope of this tutorial hehe...

    But I would love to know how peoples results are ive tested my dvd5 burn fairly thoughly and besides having having the same movie over and over it works flawless (which you can skip past) , hell I usually skip past the movie scenes in games anyways lol.

    Nice how quick people are to start burning i literally just made this post not even an hour ago lol. I see im not the only wiifiend. lol

    Posts merged

    jaxxster what speed did you burn at and what burning program. Also make sure you changed all the files I included. DRE is usually caused by a bad burn.
     
  15. ArvinaLove

    Member ArvinaLove GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2007
    Messages:
    174
    Country:
    United States
    first i have to finish downloading it [​IMG] and by the looks of it i wont be done till' tomorrow [​IMG]
     
  16. wiifiend
    OP

    Newcomer wiifiend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    RyuKakashi since your a person who is also in the process of burning i'd like to know your results also.
     
  17. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    ok

    intro video laggggyyyy
    classic mode ok
    adventure mode progresses ok but the gameplay is really slow
     
  18. wiifiend
    OP

    Newcomer wiifiend Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2008
    Messages:
    22
    Country:
    United States
    hmm jaxxxter sounds like a bad burn still? maybe your media maybe your burn speed? im not sure , i have no lag on mine whatsoever. At least your not getting DRE now lol, What type of media are you using and what speed are you burning at? and are you using imgburn? choppy/laggy video gameplay has to be from a burn issue. I burn mine at 4x with imgburn and close all other programs i have running when i burn disk and never have that problem. Also what firmware is your wii running?
     
  19. jaxxster

    Member jaxxster The Heretic

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Location:
    South East London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    4x burn with ty verbatims. Happened on the normal verbatims aswell.
     
  20. willmans

    Newcomer willmans Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2007
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    Sweden
    Have you tried turning of deflickering in options?
     

Share This Page