How to convert a PAL Virtual console game into NTSC

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Rambytes, Aug 5, 2008.

  1. Rambytes
    OP

    Member Rambytes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Canada
    Hi,

    I have right here a PAL virtual Console (Paper Mario for the N64) and I want to play into my NTSC system. The big problem is not to "free" the wad (what is working without any problem) but the image... NTSC is 480 lines and PAL is 576... so i'm missing the 96 lines at the bottom, and it's really not playble.

    So, I just want if there is a way to convert my PAL wad(576, 25fps) into a full NTSC format (480, 30fps) ?

    Thanks!
     
  2. sr_corsario

    Member sr_corsario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    Spain
    Try with "Generic Wii Patcher" in 00000001.app then repack
     
  3. samsam12

    Banned samsam12 Test

    Joined:
    May 13, 2008
    Messages:
    818
    Location:
    A House
    Country:
    United States
    just get the NTSC version.
     
  4. Rambytes
    OP

    Member Rambytes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Canada
    @sr_corsario: what do you mean?
    @samsam12: the problem with the ntsc version, is only in english... the pal have french inside!
     
  5. sr_corsario

    Member sr_corsario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    Spain
    GEt "Generic Wii Patcher" program
    Info here
    Unpack your wad file with some program
    Open "Generic Wii Patcher", and then open file 00000001.app with it. (1.app=main.dol)
    The program have some video options, choose your wiched video mode.
    Then press save
    Repack the modified 00000001.app with the others.

    You can try with this method... however it could fail...

    Good Luck!

    [​IMG]
     
  6. Rambytes
    OP

    Member Rambytes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Canada
    ok thanks for the hint... i will try

    edit: No, it's not working... the patcher found 5 video mode... i've change ALL the mode to NTSC-i (when it's interlace) and NTSC-P 9when it's profressive)... and it's always the same, I only see the first 480 lines...

    i've try to inject the paper mario rom fil into other WAD with the VC Injecter and i'm stick at the classic remote insctruction...

    too bad for me...
     
  7. sr_corsario

    Member sr_corsario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    Spain
    Ok, I have just test something ... (and works [​IMG] )

    You need ntsc.wad and pal.wad.
    Unpack pal.wad, and get "romc" from 5.app, then inject that "game" with "new vc injector" into ntsc.wad (rename "romc" to rom.z64 for ejemple...)

    Now it works in frange... and i supouse (im using a pal wii and a pal TV) it will work properly in a ntsc TV



    (Look in your private message...)
     
  8. Keylogger

    Member Keylogger GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Country:
    France
    Thanks a lot!!


    Do you know if it works for all PAL VC Games?
     
  9. sr_corsario

    Member sr_corsario GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2008
    Messages:
    423
    Country:
    Spain
    I dont know it, but i thing so...
     
  10. Rambytes
    OP

    Member Rambytes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Canada
    Thanks for the help, but it's not working too... the injector is working, is the result at the screen...

    Take a look for yourself:
    [​IMG]

    You see, it's missing a big part at the bottom...

    But hey, thanks anyway!!!
     
  11. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    There isn't really any good solution.

    Proper PAL conversions will have more vertical pixels than NTSC, and NTSC Wii systems cannot be set to output PAL in their options menu.
     
  12. Rambytes
    OP

    Member Rambytes GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2008
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Canada
    but there is no way to "convert" and "crush" the rom to 480 lines instead of 576?
     
  13. Lumstar

    Member Lumstar Princess

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2006
    Messages:
    3,531
    Location:
    Darling
    Country:
    United States
    Not without writing a homebrew emulator that can remove rows of pixels to fit into the NTSC size.

    The technique would be similar to how PocketNES fits an NES game on the GBA screen.
     

Share This Page