How to configure homebrew channel to load from external HDD???

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by miketh2005, May 15, 2010.

  1. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    I plugged in my external HDD to my wii and loaded homebrew channel but nothing is showing up, yet I have everything in the right place. I have 2 partitions. 1 for my personal files / homebrew / wiiware games and a WBFS partition for my wii games. I think HBC is only trying to load from the WBFS partition... anyway to fix this????
     
  2. jefffisher

    Member jefffisher GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2006
    Messages:
    1,236
    Country:
    United States
    my home brew channel loads from the harddrive by default i think it has to be formatted to fat32 and you cant have a sd card in the wii not sure if there is a setting for that or not but mine only loads from harddrive if there is no sd
     
  3. Krestent

    Member Krestent What to post?

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2009
    Messages:
    3,952
    Country:
    United States
    Press + or - (can't remember which) and set it to load from USB
     
  4. Lee Zappetta

    Newcomer Lee Zappetta Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Location:
    San Jose, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    Press 1

    Lee
     
  5. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
    I tried pressing 1, but it is trying to load from the USB drive. It's just reading the wrong partition... there is a exfat partion and a WBFS partition... its trying to load from the WBFS partition...
     
  6. miketh2005
    OP

    Member miketh2005 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2008
    Messages:
    437
    Country:
    United States
  7. WiiPower

    Member WiiPower GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2008
    Messages:
    8,165
    Country:
    Germany
    If the wbfs partition is the 1st one, i don't think you can do anything about it. I know that usb loaders are fine with using the 2nd partition, and i know that some programs only check the 1st partition. If HBC is one of the latter, you need some other solution or to repartition your HDD.
     
  8. C.S.I.

    Member C.S.I. GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    410
    Location:
    Down under
    Country:
    Australia
    I wouldn't be using exfat, that's a M$ proprietary POS most likely.

    You need to use FAT32.

    Try using Easus Partition Manager (Google it).

    Cheers.
     
  9. scorned4sega

    Newcomer scorned4sega Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2010
    Messages:
    10
    Location:
    anniston, al
    Country:
    United States
    you can format it to FAT32 in windows with Disk Manager but the partition can not be any bigger than 32GB
     
  10. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,124
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    That's why C.S.I. recommends using easus partition manager: it doesn't have that pointless restriction of 32GB (I recommend it as well, btw...great piece of freeware!).

    On another note: if you have a \apps folder both on your SD card as your (FAT32) USB drive, the homebrew channel will always look on the SD card first (and you'll have to use the '1' key to switch). If there is only an \apps folder on your USB drive, it'll automatically show all the apps in that folder. [​IMG]
     
  11. phaser_burn

    Newcomer phaser_burn Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    United States
    Defiantly format it to fat32, and make sure your HBC is the most current version. I have no problems running it on mine.
     

Share This Page