How to check if a 2nd hand DS is flashed?

Discussion in 'Other Flashing Hardware & Software' started by TrolleyDave, Feb 8, 2007.

Feb 8, 2007
  1. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I recently bought a 2nd hand DS and I'm pretty certain it's pre-flashed (the guy I bought it from denies it but he seemed a pretty paranoid type) and was just wondering if there's any way to know for certain.

    I haven't got a Slot-2 card to try out so I just used an original GBA cart. I set the macine to auto-boot inserted carts. Put my R4 in Slot-2 and my GBA cart in Slot-2. When I booted up it auto started the GBA cart. I powered down and booted up while holding select and the R4 started up.

    Is the DS pre-flashed? Sorry I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to the DS stuff and after looking around for info I reckon it's flashed but want some expert opinions! Cheers.
     
  2. Opium

    Former Staff Opium PogoShell it to me ™

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2002
    Messages:
    8,185
    Location:
    Australia
    Country:
    Australia
    take both the GBA and DS slot cards out. Hold in A+B+X+Y when you power on the system. If you simply get two white screens it's flashed.
     
  3. Harsky

    Member Harsky Madmin

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2004
    Messages:
    5,263
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Off topic but do flashed DS sell for a little bit more than the ordinary unflashed DS?
     
  4. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    First, you speak as if being flashed is such a terrible thing. Second, even if flashed, it would not auto-boot to a retail GBA cart.
     
  5. FAST6191

    Reporter FAST6191 Techromancer

    pip
    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    21,745
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Try running the flashme rom and it will tell you or if you do the takemeout thing (2nd room in pictochat and eject the DS cart) and get a dark green screen I think (it corresponds to rev 4 firmware which flashme is based upon) then you may well have a flashed DS (this will definitely be the case for a DSlite but it may be legit for a original model).

    Or you could just do as everyone else has said.
     
  6. TrolleyDave
    OP

    Former Staff TrolleyDave Philosolosophising

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Messages:
    7,762
    Location:
    Wales, UK
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Thanks for the help guys, it's definitely not flashed! It was the cart that I was using. If I put any other cart in it boots direct to the R4 but when I have my IK+ cart plugged in it automatically boots straight to it unless I hold down select.
     
  7. Jiggah

    Member Jiggah GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    1,223
    Country:
    United States
    I know you figured it out, but the real way would be to put in a ds game and go to the pictochat and remove the ds game. If it's a purple it means it's running the flashme firmware. I can't remember the color for the regular ds lite firmware, I think it's green or blue.

    Oh wait nvm, someone already mentioned the above method.
     
  8. _Mazza_

    Member _Mazza_ GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2006
    Messages:
    279
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    sounds flashed to me
     
  9. falseadress

    Newcomer falseadress Newbie

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2007
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    does it show the health and warning sign?
    if i dosen't it is flashed
    if it does it might be flashed with the flashme stealth
     
  10. GBAer

    Member GBAer GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2002
    Messages:
    223
    Location:
    My House
    Country:
    United Kingdom

    Thats because it is... [​IMG]
     
  11. kalibar

    Member kalibar GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    226
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA, USA
    Country:
    United States
    This topic is dumber than shit.

    FlashMe is a perk, not a hindrance.
     
  12. 2cb2ct7

    Member 2cb2ct7 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2007
    Messages:
    574
    Country:
    Australia
    If it has been flashed correctly and is in (better than) perfect working order then what does it even matter?
     
  13. Bali

    Member Bali GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    105
    Country:
    Netherlands
    Or you could just start any DS game from your slot-2 cart and see if it locks when you put the DS in sleep mode.
     
  14. outphase

    Member outphase Custom title

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2005
    Messages:
    1,218
    Country:
    United States
    the sleep mode "bug" has nothing to do with flashme
     
  15. adgloride

    Member adgloride Its A Wii Wario

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2003
    Messages:
    2,261
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    The DS won't go into sleep mode unless you've got a DS cart in the back. Nothing to do with flashme as the last poster said.
     

Share This Page