how to change to emulator inside NES wads?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by FGOD, Apr 26, 2011.

Apr 26, 2011
  1. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i was wondering if somebody knew how you can change the emulator inside the nes wads, cause the one that is inside blacks out on some roms which i injected while nestopia doesn't give any errors on load and plays them well... ideas?
     
  2. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Where do I begin... nes wads are virtual console games, and don't contain an emulator in the traditional sense of the word.

    Have you tried loading the roms in fceugx? AFAIK, fceugx is the only nes emulator for the Wii.

    If you have a fceugx channel that isn't a forwarder, u can inject newer versions of fceugx into the wad using customize mii. But it's prolly easier to just use a forwarder and update fceugx on your sd card\usb hdd.

    Anyways, sorry if my answer is a all over the map, but I'm a little confused by what you mean exactly by your post so I figured I'd mention everything that it brought to my mind.
     
  3. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,124
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    I'm not sure, but are you confusing 'installing to your wii' with injecting?

    EDIT: nevermind that: just noticed you posted in the stickied virtual console games thread as well. I think your question may be better fitted there, as...


    ...and I just realised that thread is about GB & stuff only. [​IMG]

    *it's too early to threadreply decent*
     
  4. Jacobeian

    Member Jacobeian GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,879
    Country:
    Cuba
    And change it with what, may I ask you ?

    VC emulators are what they are, they were coded to work fine with released games and nothing much more, it only works with other games if the emulator is generic (and accurate) enough.

    Your only choice is to mod FCEUGX to load a fixed ROM and pack the whole into a channel installer but that's it, you can't simply replace a dol with another, nothing works as simple as this. You could eventually steal original banners from the VC dump but still it won't be injection but "recreation"
     
  5. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    well i indeed ment to replace the inside emulator with a better one, one that does load the games good... but i have no idea on how to do such things... so i anybody can tell me how to mod a FCEUGX dol to load a fixed rom inside the wad like they did with the GB wads from orange chicken then i could make some games work like star wars for nes and batman return of the joker... and maybe time lord too...
     
  6. XFlak

    Member XFlak Wiitired but still kicking

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2009
    Messages:
    9,122
    Location:
    Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    Just a thought, but it might be simpler to modify fceugx to accept autoboot rom arguments, then have an app like "CRAP" build a forwarder for it (exactly how CRAP builds cfg usb forwarders, except there wont be a banner in the rom like there is in Wii Games). Or, you can just build a forwarder dol that loads arguments from meta_romname.xml instead, then inside meta_romname.xml include the argument to autoboot romname. Then inject the new forwarder dol into w/e channel u want.

    Only downside to all this is that u'd need the rom and fceugx on an SD\USB and plugged into the Wii for it to work. Anyways... frankly I don't see the point, just load up your emulator and choose the rom u want from there! But w/e, good luck either way.
     
  7. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah but i like wads better then forwarders [​IMG] although it is easier though [​IMG]
     
  8. The Frenchman

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    oh well... have you tested which nes wads worked best with those other roms?

    I guess the "emu" is in some 00000XXX.app file.
     
  9. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    i know it is in some 000000x.app but which and how to change it...

    i tried the roms with several emulators and some worked other didn't... so it is really emulator related...
     
  10. G0dLiKe

    Member G0dLiKe who needs a title ;)

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,674
    Country:
    United States
    In VC wads the emulator sits in 00000001.app [​IMG]

    BTW, when you encounter compatibility problems, make sure to a) always use the latest release of vc host wads and b) keep in mind that there can be several reasons why a .rom works on emulator on PC and not injected. Like games which used to have battery based save features, rom header problems and so on.
     
  11. The Frenchman

    Member The Frenchman GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    218
    Country:
    Canada
    G0dLike is the man.
     
  12. FGOD
    OP

    Member FGOD Wii gaming bitch

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2008
    Messages:
    1,339
    Location:
    Netherlands, Den Helder
    Country:
    Netherlands
    yeah but games like star wars for nes and time lord for nes never had save functions... very strange stuff... i've used kirby to inject as always but i might be looking for another host then...
     

Share This Page