How to change _DS_MENU.DAT on r4ultra?

Discussion in 'R4 DS' started by Rock Raiyu, Jul 31, 2009.

Jul 31, 2009
  1. Rock Raiyu
    OP

    Member Rock Raiyu Clock Up

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    5,066
    Location:
    Walking the path of heaven
    Country:
    United States
    Ok so my brother has an R4 so I want to help him out. I want to change the primary menu to either akaio, moonshell2, dsision2, or ysmenu. But I cant just rename it. when i do the screen get stucked at loading. Anyway I can fix this? Is there a patch for it? Thanks
     
  2. RTAgent5

    Newcomer RTAgent5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Country:
    United States
    Try this program:

    R4denc


    First patch the .nds file with the R4 dldi with this program:

    DLDI Patcher


    and this dldi patch:

    R4 DLDI


    "R4dec" is a batch file that will decrypt the _DS_MENU.DAT file or you can use the other included batch file "R4enc" to encode any .nds file to work as _DS_MENU.DAT.

    Just drag said .nds file over "r4enc.bat" and it will generate a new file called [whatthenameofyourfilewas].nds.DAT.

    Then just rename the file to _DS_MENU.DAT and put it at the root of your Micro SD Card.

    This may not work with all files but I like to use it. Go ahead and try it but make sure you back up your card in case anything goes wrong, that way you can just put everything back where it needs to be just in case.
     
  3. niu

    Member niu GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2008
    Messages:
    305
    Country:
    United States
    R4 Ultra is ak2 clone, can't use original r4 dldi.

    you can try akmenu.

    ps. _DS_MENU.DAT not encryption in r4 ultra.
     
  4. RTAgent5

    Newcomer RTAgent5 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    41
    Location:
    Sioux Falls, SD
    Country:
    United States
    Oh geez whoops, I skipped the "Ultra" part I guess [​IMG]
     

Share This Page