How to burn GameCube games on Wii?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by arsenal009, Nov 22, 2008.

Nov 22, 2008
  1. arsenal009
    OP

    Newcomer arsenal009 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey

    I just downloaded Star Fox Adventures for gamecube. I want to play it on my Wii. For my Wii games, I burn the .iso file, but the Star Fox Adventures file I downloaded is a .gcm file. Does anybody know how i can get this to play on my Wii?

    Thanks
     
  2. LegendaryXM90

    Member LegendaryXM90 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    United States
    It is not possible yet.
     
  3. Diffusion

    Member Diffusion GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2007
    Messages:
    701
    Country:
    United States
    Rename it to .iso, they're the same thing.

    Then it should burn correctly.
     
  4. arsenal009
    OP

    Newcomer arsenal009 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada

    Are u sure? My friend has a modded Wii & he bought burnt gamecube games from someone and they work on his Wii.
     
  5. LegendaryXM90

    Member LegendaryXM90 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    United States
    It probably has a chip.

    It is currently not possible with softmods and backup loaders.
     
  6. jan777

    Member jan777 motion control..? srsly? so 2008. 3DS is teh bombz

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2008
    Messages:
    2,829
    Country:
    Philippines
    maybe o.p. also has a chip?
     
  7. arsenal009
    OP

    Newcomer arsenal009 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada
    Hey,

    Yeah, I have a modded wii also, got it modded from the same guy my friend did.

    Anyways, i did Diffusion said, renamed it to .iso
    I get the intro and into the main screen with the play game / options / audio etc.
    When i go to "play game" it says "An error has occurred. Turn the power off and check the nintendo gamecbe instruction booklet for further instructions."

    What did i do wrong? :wtf:
     
  8. Kakkoii

    Member Kakkoii Old fart

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2007
    Messages:
    620
    Country:
    Canada
    Either your got a bad iso. Or you didn't burn it right.

    Are you using a DVD-R (NOT DVD+R).

    And are you burning with IMGBurn at a low speed like 3x?
     
  9. falcozx

    Newcomer falcozx Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    United States
    oops wrong thread xD

    Edit: It might help anyways. I had a similar problem with a real copy of Naruto 4 for GC. There's a trick I used to get past the error.

    # First launch the game using whatever method you use.
    # Once you reach the main screen DO NOT press start
    # Take the disc out of your Wii
    # Place it back into your Wii
    # Press start and enjoy Naruto 4 (in your case whatever game you have)
     
  10. arsenal009
    OP

    Newcomer arsenal009 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada

    Hey, yes, I am using IMGBurn at a low speed.

    However, I am using DVD+R, do burns not work with +R?
     
  11. LegendaryXM90

    Member LegendaryXM90 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    216
    Country:
    United States
    You must set the booktype in your burning program to DVD-ROM whenever you use DVD+ media.
     
  12. arsenal009
    OP

    Newcomer arsenal009 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2008
    Messages:
    34
    Country:
    Canada

    Is this only for GameCube games? Because I burn Wii games with DVD+ media w/o changing any settings & it works fine.
     
  13. Edgedancer

    Member Edgedancer Director of Moon based operations

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2006
    Messages:
    2,641
    Location:
    Canberra
    Country:
    Australia
    I believe that Starfox is one of the games affected by an audio bug. If you have a wiikey and have it updated to play a retail Smash Bros, chances are that it removed the fix for the audio bug for gamecube games.
     
  14. SenorClean

    Member SenorClean GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2008
    Messages:
    522
    Country:
    Australia
    DVD+R should be fine.... we're years beyond booktype mattering.

    Bad disc is possible, but unlikely. Discs tend to get flakey towards the outer edge - gamecube games get nowhere near this.

    My tip would be to use multi game iso creator http://www.tehskeen.com/forums/showpost.php?p=17439 It greatly improves gamecube compatibility on the wii - especially for games from another region.
     

Share This Page