How to Backup my wii NAND??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by alimami, Jul 11, 2009.

Jul 11, 2009

How to Backup my wii NAND?? by alimami at 9:53 AM (22,098 Views / 0 Likes) 17 replies

  1. alimami
    OP

    Member alimami GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Iran
    hi.
    how can i backup my NAND??
    i've installed bootmii as boot2.
    if i brick my wii how can i restore my NAND??
     
  2. supermodchips

    Member supermodchips GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 24, 2009
    Messages:
    291
    Country:
    Australia
    If you have the correct files on your SD card, bootmii should start when the wii is turned on and a NAND backup should be available at the mune.
     
  3. alimami
    OP

    Member alimami GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Iran
    but when i turn on my wii nothing happen.
    where can i get these correct files??
     
  4. david432111

    Member david432111 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    859
    Location:
    Denmark
    Country:
    Denmark
    Launch the hackmii installer and choose prepare an sd card.
     
  5. alimami
    OP

    Member alimami GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Iran
    i've selected that but again nothing .....
    i have a transcent 1 gig micro SD.
     
  6. Hideki-kun

    Member Hideki-kun GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    211
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    I'm guessing your SD card is incompatible... try another one?
     
  7. alimami
    OP

    Member alimami GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    156
    Country:
    Iran
    there isnt any other way??
    can i use a usb device for this??
     
  8. bubbleboy

    Member bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    272
    Country:
    United States
    Wow, what a coincidence. I was having this exact same problem today and you just solved it for me. Thanks! [​IMG]
     
  9. sl33p

    Member sl33p GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2008
    Messages:
    191
    Country:
    United States
    Pasted from the Bootmii website:

    http://bootmii.org/faq/
     
  10. ju421019

    Newcomer ju421019 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    56
    Country:
    United States
  11. Sacohen9665

    Member Sacohen9665 GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2009
    Messages:
    369
    Country:
    United States
    My problem is I have BootMii installed as an ISO on a LU64 V4u Wii.

    When I launch BootMii from the HomeBrew channel I don't see an option to backup or restore the NAND.

    I can't install BootMii as boot2 because of the type of system.

    How do I do it on this type of system?
     
  12. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    It's called IOS (probably Input-Output System). Anyways, go to the Gears, and then go the Pic with the Green arrow. Tada, you can Backup your NAND. Is it so hard to look around?

    Important: This won't realy help you!!! IOS-BootMii Users are far away from save, even if they have a backup. Don't do anything dangerous with your Wii, because your Backup probably won't help you if something goes wrong.
     
  13. ThePimP2008

    Newcomer ThePimP2008 Newbie

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2008
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    Hi Blue-K...so basically a IOS-BOOTMII nand backup is useless cos i cannot be restored?...but the backup is good yeah?...so whats the point then why wont my 3.2e let me install as boot2..is there a way around this?..Can you tell me which wii is compatable with boot2 so i can buy one and get shut of this one i have know...Cheers Bud... [​IMG]
     
  14. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    Source (Btw: Go to the Link, much more Informations). I wouldn't wait for it...
    -I don't know exactly...for shure the first ones (Launch-Wiis) that were released, because I can confirm that myself [​IMG]

    But IF you want BootMii only as a Brick-Protection (which is obvious), I would say:
    -Stay always on the safe side
    -Use Wanins (upcoming) NAND-Emulator for the crazy things

    And you should be realy safe [​IMG].
     
  15. larrylje

    Newcomer larrylje Newbie

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Country:
    United States
    I have read that it is possible (and has been done) to unsolder the NAND chip and use a programmer to restore a NAND backup to the NAND chip.

    Of course most don't have the equipment or knowledge to do this but I am sure you could find someone online that could get the job done.

    So I would suggest making a NAND backup even if you can only install Bootmii as an IOS.
     
  16. tanis698

    Member tanis698 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 4, 2009
    Messages:
    165
    Country:
    United States
    actually myself and a few others have used bootmii as a ios and restored our nand.i did it myself on a lu65 wii.bootmii as a ios and preloader will work together.
     
  17. justanotherstalk

    Newcomer justanotherstalk Newbie

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2009
    Messages:
    8
    Country:
    Denmark
    How would one do if one had a bootmii/ios install, generally? Is the combination with preloader the easiest and safest way to get a restoreable nand backup for brick recovery? My concern is if I brick while getting preloader up, since the readme states there is a risk, I would be in deep serious trouble? But on the other hand, is there an option?
     
  18. GimmeWii

    Newcomer GimmeWii Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Country:
    Sweden
    I made three backups yesterday on my friends 4.2E with latest Bootmii. I had some bad blocks which is normal iirc. Every backup verified correctly. but I compare 1:st with 2:nd, 1:st with 3:rd and 2:nd with 3:rd and none match.

    Keys.bin is 1024 byte and nand.bin is 553649152. Same size on all three backups.

    I compared them with diff in Linux. It scares me a bit that it says file differ on all the files. Can I be confident it is a correct backup? I think it might be the "charset" the fools diff. When I open the file in vim, it's the same amount of lines and character, but it looks encrypted. My thought is that diff-utils can't handle that.

    Any ideas?

    GimmeWii
     

Share This Page