How to backup my Original DVD??

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by its, May 22, 2010.

May 22, 2010

How to backup my Original DVD?? by its at 8:34 AM (1,279 Views / 0 Likes) 12 replies

  1. its
    OP

    Newcomer its Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Australia
    Hey Guys

    1) Simple question.. what are the ways to rip my original DVD's to backup as CISO and put it on my HDD??

    2) Also whats the difference between ISO and CISO and which is better for saving ??

    3) Also, I am using Wii Backup Manager.. Which is better to format HDD as? FAT32? or NTFS?? Also can I still use that HDD as normal storage while storing games to play on Wii??

    Ta
     
  2. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    i'll answer 2 and 3
    2.No such thing as CISO
    3.IF your gonna use a usbloader,i suggest WBFS(you save space) or FAT32
     
  3. its
    OP

    Newcomer its Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Australia
    2) There is CISO.. check out Wii Backup Manager
    3) I am using Config USB Loader.. So use FAT32? I don't think I wanna use WBFS.. Can I still use that HDD to store other stuff???
     
  4. lolzed

    Member lolzed The GBAtemp Pichu

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,466
    Location:
    There
    Country:
    Philippines
    2.my bad then
    3.Make partitions?As in,1 partition NTFS,the other WBFS(or FAT32)
     
  5. rudedoggx

    Member rudedoggx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2008
    Messages:
    122
    Country:
    United States
    If you want to use your HDD for things other than Wii backups, I'd recommend you use FAT32. That way, you can have everything on the same partition, so there's no wasted space.
     
  6. its
    OP

    Newcomer its Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Australia
    ooh.. so a FAT32?? or a partitioned WBFS??

    also anything about Questions 1 and 2 ?? thanks [​IMG]
     
  7. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    1) You can use a WBFS manager to rip your backup games on your PC. I don't know if they can be ripped as cISO, but if you put an ISO on your drive, it will be automatically scrubbed to take less space.

    2) cISO (compressed ISO) will take up less space on your PC since it doesn't contain any useless data (like an ISO has). But as I said, once on the Drive, it doesn't matter much.

    3) I'd go for FAT32. Use Wii Backup Manager to format the drive and to put the games on it.
     
  8. its
    OP

    Newcomer its Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Australia
    When I put my original DVD on my computer and then use Wii Backup Manager and select Drive.. it just does not read it.. it ejects it..

    Also If I use FAT32 my backup Smash Brawl Backup is 8 GB.. will i have to split it? how?

    Ta
     
  9. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Yes, I said backup copy, you cannot rip original games through your PC, you'll have to use an USB loader to do it instead.
    Maybe I should have made that clearer as that was not really what you asked [​IMG]

    If you use Wii Backup manager to put it on your drive, it will split it for you. [​IMG]
     
  10. its
    OP

    Newcomer its Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Australia
    aah.. yes i can see now..

    it seems all questions answered

    will use FAT32 for best option I guess..

    Thanks All.. hope I am not missing anything else..
     
  11. its
    OP

    Newcomer its Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    65
    Country:
    Australia
    actually one more question

    while ripping original on Wii via Config USB Loader.. it has an option

    press 1 to dump BCA

    DO i need to do that? I haven't done that and just ripped via pressing A
     
  12. tj_cool

    Supervisor tj_cool Stuff

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2009
    Messages:
    9,942
    Location:
    This planet
    Country:
    Belgium
    Unless you're ripping New Super Mario Bros Wii I don't think you need it (not sure, there might be other games [​IMG])
     
  13. Blue-K

    Member Blue-K No right of appeal.

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2008
    Messages:
    2,572
    Location:
    Helvetica
    Country:
    Switzerland
    No, currently it's the only one which needs the BCA. I'm still surprised that Ninty didn't add BCA to SMG2 as it seems...
     

Share This Page