How should I go about making my Wii able to play GameCube backups?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by P4wn4g3, Dec 9, 2011.

  1. P4wn4g3
    OP

    Newcomer P4wn4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Over Here
    Country:
    United States
    Hi,

    I've found many differing procedures on this topic, so I'll just open it up for discussion. Basically, I want to be able to play GameCube games from USB. I have allocated some space on my backup drive that lets me play any Wii backups and I'd like to be able to make use of this space, and possibly the same program that runs the Wii backups (USB Loader) in order to load GameCube games from USB. I don't care if it is Action Replay supported, although that would be a nice option if I ever felt like doing that.

    Anyway, a rather simple, n00b friendly set of instructions will do, or a link to a trusted set of instructions.
     
  2. ddetkowski

    Member ddetkowski GBAtemp Maniac

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1,141
    Location:
    United States
    Country:
    United States
    The only thing that'll let you play Gamecube from usb is a WODE. Unless you have an older Wii ( pre-2009) that has a dvd drive that will play copied games....
     
  3. P4wn4g3
    OP

    Newcomer P4wn4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Over Here
    Country:
    United States
    Well my Wii might be that old, I don't really remember nor do I know how to check, backup discs would be inconvenient though so I'd like to avoid that route if possible.

    What is a WODE, how do I get one, install one, use one, etc.?
     
  4. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    Here read it & you will know what is a WODE . You should run syscheck to see if your wii can read backup discs then you should just use it & save yourself all the WODE money .
     
  5. P4wn4g3
    OP

    Newcomer P4wn4g3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2011
    Messages:
    28
    Location:
    Over Here
    Country:
    United States
    Ah. So in other words, there is no way to load GameCube backups through USB using homebrew and softmodding.
     
  6. The_Dragons_Mast

    Member The_Dragons_Mast GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    613
    Country:
    Egypt
    No, not now & probably never . You can run them through sd using DML but its not really easy to set up & the compatibility isn't great .

    Those methods are meant for people who can't run backup discs so they just settle with them . If your wii can read backup discs use neogamma to launch them & save yourself the trouble.
     
  7. Troelzkii

    Newcomer Troelzkii Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    28
    Country:
    Denmark
    You could also look into Swiss and use an IDE harddrive, but it is not really an optimal solution
     
  8. Taleweaver

    Member Taleweaver Storywriter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2009
    Messages:
    5,121
    Location:
    Belgium
    Country:
    Belgium
    Exactly. I don't know where you found differing procedures, but it's certainly not on gbatemp. In here, these questions usually get answered VERY clearly. :P


    There is something to be said about swiss, though. It loads games through the GC memory card slot. You'll need an SD gecko and an SD card, or an IDE hard drive and a certain specific cable, but once you got that, the setup isn't that hard.
    Sound may hickup from time to time, but other than that, quite some games are certainly playable (IMO, even just being able to play Zelda 4 swords made it worth the hassle :) ).
     
  9. Category

    Member Category Trainee Romhacker

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2008
    Messages:
    233
    Location:
    Bournemouth
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Buy an SD Gecko for 2-3$, and use Swiss. I can't sing the praises of swiss enough!
     

Share This Page