How much of a difference does a slot 2 make with the lattest version o

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by housemonkey, Mar 21, 2008.

  1. housemonkey
    OP

    Newcomer housemonkey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    I have the latest version of SNEmulDS (0.6 alpha) and have been running it with an EZ IV Lite Deluxe (but have also used an EZ 3 in 1 in the past when it was first released if that makes a difference). Now, I haven’t noticed any dramatic change myself in any of the games I happen to be running with or without the slot 2 in place, but I keep encountering claims that the game play performance is dramatically improved with a slot 2.

    I have my doubts, but I figured I should check anyhow. Are there games that are unplayable with only a slot 1 that suddenly become playable with just the extra RAM. I have even seen one person claim that Super Mario RPG runs with graphical glitches.

    Thanks for entertaining what may be a silly question.
     
  2. MystikEkoez

    Member MystikEkoez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    What are you talking about? Does SNEmulDS even have the ability to use the Slot 2 as extra RAM while being run off of Slot 1?

    EDIT: What constitutes as extra RAM anyway? Simply having another game in there or a flash cart?
     
  3. housemonkey
    OP

    Newcomer housemonkey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    From the description in the download section here:

    Various External RAM packages can be used to improve large rom emulation : Supercard (32MB), M3 (32MB), Opera (8MB), EZ3/4/3-in-1 (8-16MB), G6 (32MB).
    There may be some problems with the external RAM library when lanching snemulds from slot2. Please tell me.
     
  4. MystikEkoez

    Member MystikEkoez GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2006
    Messages:
    346
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    Well, if they say it works, you might as well try it. It's not like your DS will spontaneously combust.
    Wouldn't you run snemulds off your Slot 1 anyway?
     
  5. housemonkey
    OP

    Newcomer housemonkey Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2007
    Messages:
    63
    Country:
    United States
    Yes, it will run off of a slot 1 alone. Mainly I am just wondering if the slot 2 drastically improves the way any games in particular run. I haven’t noticed any major difference myself, but I figured maybe it’s because I am just running the wrong games.

    I am not in a place where I have any games handy to check other than what happens to be on the card so I cant really test anything myself.
     
  6. Magnifico

    Member Magnifico GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    106
    Country:
    United States
    i havent noticed any real differences either, but would also like to know
     
  7. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It would be best to test out large games (3-4 MB) as those are the only ones that would even possibly be affected. I haven't noticed any difference myself, but it's a nice feature nonetheless.
     

Share This Page