How is the new Generation CycloDs build qaulity?

Discussion in 'CycloDS' started by dman777, May 12, 2009.

May 12, 2009
  1. dman777
    OP

    Newcomer dman777 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2007
    Messages:
    77
    Country:
    United States
    My CycloDs broke. It just stopped working. I cleaned the contacts and did everything I could to make it work but it is dead.

    I bought mine about a year and half ago. I would like to know, is the build quality any better now? I am thinking about buying another one but I don't know yet if I should.
     
  2. Chrono_Tata

    Member Chrono_Tata GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2008
    Messages:
    851
    Country:
    Thailand
    Build quality should be much better now, yeah. The chip shouldn't be protruding from under the sticker too much now, for a start.
     
  3. Santee

    Member Santee JalapeƱo

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    812
    Location:
    Conneticut
    Country:
    United States
    1 and a half year ago that sound like the first cyclods that had a lot of problems TC have come out with two hardware revisions that have fixed a lot of things the latest one even has kind of a design on it.
     
  4. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Have you tried the paper trick on your old Cyclo?
    Tape a piece of paper on top of the sticker so it makes the Cyclo fatter, and that will cause the contacts to be properly connected to the DS pins.
     
  5. ShiningYoshi1

    Newcomer ShiningYoshi1 Member

    Joined:
    May 3, 2009
    Messages:
    19
    Country:
    United States
    it's better, i think. i just got mine two days ago, and although i didn't have the old one this is just like a normal ds cart, no protruding chip or anything.
     
  6. dark42

    Member dark42 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    193
    Country:
    United States
    What hardware version do you have? I'm just curious if there has been a new revision since I bought mine.
    To find out hold Down + B when the Cyclo is booting. It should say "HW ver: x.xx".
    I have 1.1.
     
  7. leiger

    Member leiger GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 25, 2009
    Messages:
    104
    Country:
    Australia
    Fairly certain 1.1 is the lastest hardware. The chip protudes so little that I suppose ShiningYoshi1 may have missed it.

    Shining Yoshi - run your thumb over the front of the chip and see if you can feel a slight bump in the middle. Almost impossible to see just by looking at the cart. Would be interested to know what your HW version is as well.
     
  8. DeMoN

    Member DeMoN GBAtemp Guru

    Joined:
    May 12, 2004
    Messages:
    7,647
    Country:
    United States
    Here's a fact: If you have a black CycloDS, then it's HW 1.1
    The chip always protrudes regardless of the hardware revision, although it's probably much more noticeable in the 1.0 version. The 1.1 version chip is invisible, but if you feel it then you can definitely feel the bump.
     

Share This Page