How hard would it to be to make an iso patcher for macs?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by Zanonymous, Oct 8, 2008.

  1. Zanonymous
    OP

    Newcomer Zanonymous Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2008
    Messages:
    75
    Location:
    Junkyard Ante
    Country:
    United States
    Have had this computer for a few years, and of course, many executable programs haven't been made for this. Anyway, what are the chances of a patcher for use with isos the backup loader runs being ported to mac? I've patched one iso at my friend's house, but the process is really tedious going back and forth transferring the iso itself, ect.
    I've thought of putting bootcamp on my mom's intel imac to run exes, or going to my father's work because there are pcs there, what would be a good alternate solution??
     


  2. toxicbomber

    Newcomer toxicbomber Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2007
    Messages:
    12
    Country:
    United States
    I love my Mac. I prefer it over anything else. I can't stand windows but that's what I have vmware for. [​IMG]
     
  3. Jm9760

    Member Jm9760 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    May 20, 2008
    Messages:
    228
    Country:
    United States
    +1

    Macs are amazing. I have vmware solely for the backup patcher. It would be nice to have a native mac version, though.
     
  4. bnninja

    Newcomer bnninja Newbie

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    7
    Country:
    Australia
    that's funny, vmware is only for the backup patcher on my mac too =)
    +2
     
  5. HowardC

    Member HowardC GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    May 4, 2008
    Messages:
    490
    Country:
    United States
    Macs are a wonderful machine, if you don't like to run software.

    90% of the software out there, particularly niche software, is pc only.

    Those mac vs pc commercials always crack me up.... microsoft could do a single one sentence response that'd defeat all of their marketing.

    "Windows: You can play video games on it." ;-)

    Bashing your horrible choice in computers aside, I believe that wiigator's patcher is open-source and made in an environment that'll compile for the mac as well. He simply can't test it because he doesn't have a mac. I would help you, but seeing as how I write software, I obviously don't have a mac. ;-)
     
  6. Tragedies

    Member Tragedies GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2007
    Messages:
    121
    Country:
    Australia
    +3 on Mac awesome-ness.

    You should try using VMWare to run Windows stuff, or even Boot camp.
     
  7. atomikramp

    Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2008
    Messages:
    247
    Country:
    Italy
  8. AleXit

    Newcomer AleXit Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Location:
    Florence
    Country:
    Italy
  9. kikuchiyo

    Member kikuchiyo 大阪に生まれた男

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2004
    Messages:
    687
    Location:
    USA
    Country:
    United States
    Video games on a console, real work on a real computer.

    Not to mention Windows is an operating system, Macs are a platform. A platform hich can run Windows. Which can run games. Which means my Macbook Pro is a pretty decent rig for gaming, if one were so inclined.

    Which I'm not - PC gaming is trying to fit a square peg in a round hole.
     
  10. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    A Mac is a PC, too. Hell, I have a Sony Vaio PC Notebook here and I can't run your Windows Software because I'm using Linux. If you're trying to bash other OSs at least use the correct phrases and not MS/Apple marketing gibberish.

    That being said, Wine made a lot of progress recently. If you're running a x86 Mac a lot of Windows programs should work on Darwine, I guess.
     
  11. Renegade_R

    Member Renegade_R Audio/Video Expert

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2004
    Messages:
    1,654
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    Country:
    Canada
    I don't see what's so hard to run BootCamp or Parallels or VMWare on your Mac.
     
  12. emirof

    Member emirof GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2005
    Messages:
    157
    Country:
    Sweden
    Isn't google paying the Wine team for their work?
     
  13. enarky

    Member enarky GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Messages:
    997
    Country:
    Google made some contributions to Wine to get Picasa running, but that's it from what I know. The biggest contributor to Wine ist CodeWeavers, whose Crossover products run a lot of Windows programs, too. AFAIK they are much easier to use than Wine.

    [EDIT]
    Looks like Google sponsored some improvements CodeWeavers made to Wine.
     
  14. callousedlabia

    Newcomer callousedlabia Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2008
    Messages:
    26
    Country:
    United States

    Pfft.
    Intel Macs run Windows natively and all the apps that go with it. And of course they run OSX without tweaking kernel extensions and all the apps that run on that.

    After displaying such ignorance, I wonder if you write all your "software" with crayons?
     
  15. speedracer

    Newcomer speedracer Newbie

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3
    Country:
    United States
  16. netsliderx

    Member netsliderx GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2008
    Messages:
    143
    Country:
    United States
    I too am on a Mac. Granted, there are SOME apps that I need to run sometimes for which there are no Mac equivalent.

    In these cases, I use Parallels. I run 90% mac though. Normally, I can find an App that achieves the same desired results.
     
  17. choupette

    Newcomer choupette Advanced Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2006
    Messages:
    85
    Location:
    France
    Country:
    France
    I doesn't want to start a troll (I own both a mac and a windows, and I can't say I prefer one or the other)
    but installing vmware just to patch isos to run at 3x speed is very "mac" of you.
     
  18. Midna

    Banned Midna Banned

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2008
    Messages:
    3,336
    Country:
    Albania
    And than steve jobs would be able to make a crushing two word rebuttal: "Parallels Desktop."
     
  19. Arm the Homeless

    Member Arm the Homeless Custom Title

    Joined:
    May 26, 2008
    Messages:
    1,762
    Location:
    /home/andy/
    Country:
    United States
    Linus Torvalds could say:
    "We have multiple desktops, can run games via Wine, have no viruses, is open-source, and Mac is based off of us. Linux is better than Windows. If you don't agree with me then you are both ugly and stupid."

    I don't know what parallels desktop is, but I'm guessing it's like multiple desktops.
     
  20. Sstew

    Member Sstew GBAtemp's Grim Reaper.

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2008
    Messages:
    1,463
    Location:
    Florida
    Country:
    United States
    Hey there, I am Mac user myself, Their the best, but I use GUI Patcher I found on GBAtemp, Granted its only for Windows, but WINE can run the app flawlessly.
     

Share This Page