How does the Wii drive know that it is a burned disc?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by CasperH, Jul 21, 2008.

  1. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Title says it all
     


  2. skawo96

    skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,925
    2
    May 22, 2008
    We cannort burn a few things on the disc with burners like ours. Wii searchs for them, and if it don't find it, refuses to boot. It's more complicated, but as explanation...
     
  3. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    More like the reverse, we can't ERASE them.

    Ever wondered how a burning program can tell a DVD-R from a DVD+R from a CD-RW? That's how
     
  4. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    Mediacode [​IMG]
    Is that what the Wii checks? There are programs who can change that
     
  5. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    There are programs to read, not to change, as that would be impossible.
     
  6. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    How is Nintendo it doing then?
     
  7. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    They PRESS their own discs....(Which cost a fortune and aren't given out to random people!)
     
  8. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    I want those discs [​IMG]
    But is that the only thing that the Wii checks for security? [​IMG]
     
  9. skawo96

    skawo96 GBAtemp Advanced Maniac

    Member
    1,925
    2
    May 22, 2008
    Warning: Spoilers inside!

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
     
  10. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    No, that's not what I mean!

    They have blank DVDs in which they literally press the data. This in contrast with burning the data on a pre-pressed special burnable disc (The media code!) like at home.

    However if you want 'their' discs, there's an easy way: It's called buying your games.
     
  11. CasperH

    CasperH Newbie

    I want their blank discs [​IMG]
     
  12. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    They are useless without a press.......
     
  13. Sebiroth

    Sebiroth Member

    Newcomer
    14
    0
    Jul 21, 2008
    Gambia, The
    Velbert
    But how made Datel The Freeloaderdisc?
     
  14. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    That's the whole reason Datel can make freeloader discs and we can not. They have a PRESS!
     
  15. Wabsta

    Wabsta you fight like a dairy farmer

    Member
    2,500
    71
    Apr 25, 2008
    Netherlands
    SCUMM Bar
    So, why can't someone dump the Datel freeloader? And try to hack that disc...
     
  16. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    Because the area that contains the data that is checked is on a part of the disc burners cant write too, you can only put data there with a press.
     
  17. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    Do you not understand the words coming from my mouth? To have it work without a modchip you need a PRESS!
     
  18. bubbleboy

    bubbleboy GBAtemp Regular

    Member
    272
    2
    Mar 2, 2008
    United States
    It's more complicated than 'pressed' and 'burned' discs.. Asia is awash with pirated pressed discs, which you still need a modchip to run.
     
  19. spectral

    spectral Newbie

    Yes it is more compicated than that but with a pressed disc it is possible to make a disc that will boot even if its not easy. With a burner no matter now much "hacking" of other discs you do it is simply not possible.
     
  20. Xeronage

    Xeronage GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Member
    612
    0
    Aug 6, 2006
    The mediacodes and disc signing aside (For which we have Trucha and Datel), its nothing more complicated than 'pressed' and 'burned'