How does the wii deals with disk signatures?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by atomikramp, Jul 8, 2008.

Jul 8, 2008
  1. atomikramp
    OP

Member atomikramp GBAtemp Regular

Italy
    Hello everybody, i'm just new to wii hacking, i really dunno much about how the wii works and deals with disks signature to prevent backup copies of original DVDs from booting.

the only thing that i know is that the informations about the signature are managed by the DVD drive, wich tells the wii if the DVD is elegible for booting or not with some sort of codes.

Starting by this many crew started developing drive chips to circumvent/manipulate/intercept the signals generated by the DVD drive and then the chip itself tells the console that the DVD is eligible for booting even if it's a backup (not signed disk)

maybe i've understhood it wrong so my further suppositions are useless...

Then came to my mind a question "how the console deals with the codes/signals generated by the dvd drive?" wich part of the console takes care of this code and say "yes you can boot/no you can't?"

this is just a supposition i made and probably (nearly for sure) it's absolutely useless and wrong but i tried to answer myself saying:

something in the software part is taking care of the signatures/signals generated by the dvd drive
    the wii operating system looks really imprinted on channels doing specified things... so maybe the disc channel is the component of the dashboard dealing with signatures and maybe the channel itself decides if a certain DVD can boot or not depending on the signal recived by the DVD drive.

so... are there corrently studies on revers-engeneering the disc channel and the way it works?
    what would happen if the channel is the key part? and what would happen if someone can write a different channel capable of booting media, wich can be installed on the wii as an alternative disk channel wich ignores the signatures and boots the dvd no metter what?