1. NoNAND

    OP NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,200
    Country:
    Albania
    Hi. I'm checking my installed apps and saw that feature in fbi. What do i need to send a file through network on fbi.. I heard about a sockfile. Does it work with Android as well??
    I don't have a pc..well i have one but it doesn't work. I'd like to send Onega Ruby cia to my sd..
     
  2. Amadren

    Amadren Pasta Hoarder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    France
    NoNAND likes this.
  3. NoNAND

    OP NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,200
    Country:
    Albania
  4. wurstpistole

    wurstpistole GBAtemp MVP
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2015
    Messages:
    4,506
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Don't even bother with it for games, it's shit as hell slow and also will most likely fail somewhere during the process. Very small stuff does work though.
     
    kiwiis likes this.
  5. Amadren

    Amadren Pasta Hoarder
    Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    296
    Country:
    France
    Don't agree. Used it a lot of time to install games when i didn't had enough place for the cia + the game on my sd card. It never failed but yeah, it was slow.
     
    RahFah likes this.
  6. NoNAND

    OP NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,200
    Country:
    Albania
    Ok. Does anyone know any ftp server in .cia format?
     
  7. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    There's a CIA build of FTP-3DS.
     
  8. NoNAND

    OP NoNAND Give me back my legions!
    Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    2,200
    Country:
    Albania
    Ok. I tried installing microSD management home screen app but it doesn't install.. And yes i have EUR region file like my system.
     
  9. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    It uses a crappy version of SMB, anyway. So it has needless overhead and it's picky about what client you connect to it with. FTP will be far less frustrating with a bit more bandwidth.
     
  10. Ripper00420

    Ripper00420 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    The Microsdcard management CIA v2 for pasta/RxTools works for FTP and it's about 7X faster and easier to setup.
     
    DesuIsSparta and NoNAND like this.
  11. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    That's a bit odd. Seems like it would be a lot of work to make it into a FTP server, especially since there's plenty of FTP servers.
     
  12. Ripper00420

    Ripper00420 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    Nope, just give it a name and password and windows detects it automatically in networks from file explorer.
     
    DesuIsSparta likes this.
  13. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    I just tested it. It's using SMB (Windows Sharing) not FTP.
     
  14. Ripper00420

    Ripper00420 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    It's still faster for file transfer, and easier to setup for people whom don't understand IP addresses and ports... lol
     
  15. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    Huh, what speeds are you getting with it? I'm getting almost 300KB/s when sending to the 3DS and a little over 500KB/s when receiving with FTP, with SMB I'm getting around 50KB/s less. Which makes sense to me since FTP has less overhead.
     
  16. Ripper00420

    Ripper00420 GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    740
    Country:
    United States
    I'm getting 700k-1mb speeds.
     
    DesuIsSparta likes this.
  17. DesuIsSparta

    DesuIsSparta GBAtemp Advanced Fan
    Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2015
    Messages:
    580
    Country:
    United States
    Same here, o3ds. it's much faster than FTP for me, and there's no worry about broken file transfers
     
  18. TecXero

    TecXero Technovert
    Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2014
    Messages:
    2,811
    Country:
    United States
    Only 1mb/s? That's a bit slow. Even uploading to my 3DS is around 300KB/s (bytes) or 2mb/s (bits). Then again, I have a wifi radio dedicated to my 3DS, no other device connects to it and it's on its own channel, optimized for the 3DS. The desktop I'm sending/receiving from is wired in.
     
    Last edited by TecXero, Jan 9, 2016
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - recieve, through, network