How does snemulds use the slot 2 device RAM?

Discussion in 'NDS - Emulation and Homebrew' started by JJBro1, Apr 8, 2008.

Apr 8, 2008
  1. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    It said slot 2 device detected but how does it use it? Does it do it automatically or do i have to go into options to activate it?
     
  2. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    It's automatically used, but check the snemul.cfg file in a text editor to be sure exactly how it's being used.

    Basically it's only used for storing the rom image so that the paging system doesn't need to be used. It has no effect for smaller games, only ones too large to fit entirely into the DS's RAM at once.
     
  3. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    I just used it but i dont see any difference at all. It even said RAM recognized.
     
  4. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    There won't be too much of a difference, really. I certainly haven't noticed one, but I haven't been playing with v0.6 Alpha all that much.
     
  5. Diablo1123

    Member Diablo1123 Newcomer

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1,432
    Location:
    Underground
    Country:
    United States
    My friend tried Super Mario RPG with a supercard and it doesn't work
    I think if you use the RAM it'll work
     
  6. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    SMRPG is 100% incompatible with all SNES emulators for the DS. It contains a special co-processor chip that is 3 times faster than the SNES CPU itself which SNEmulDS does not emulate. Even the PSP has trouble emulating it at full speed.

    For a full list of games that contain these unemulated co-processor chips, see http://wiki.pocketheaven.com/SNES_games_with_special_chips
     
  7. m-p{3}

    Member m-p{3} GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Montreal QC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    The Slot-2 RAM is used only to store games bigger than 4MB, which is the size of the internal DS RAM. It will be transparent to the user, other than the RAM detected text at SnemulDS boot.

    Super Mario RPG is not supported in the current emulator, and there is about no chance it will ever be due to technical limitations of the DS.
     
  8. DanTheManMS

    Member DanTheManMS aka Ricochet Otter

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2007
    Messages:
    4,325
    Location:
    Georgia
    Country:
    United States
    The limit is actually somewhere around 3 MB, as the emulator itself has to fit into RAM as well. In fact, I don't think it even works with those very few SNES games that are over 4 MB in size.
     
  9. fateastray

    Member fateastray GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Messages:
    659
    Country:
    Netherlands
    I wish it'd work with Star Ocean T_T
     
  10. m-p{3}

    Member m-p{3} GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2008
    Messages:
    254
    Location:
    Montreal QC, Canada
    Country:
    Canada
    You're right, I forgot this details [​IMG]
     

Share This Page