1. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    About a week ago I deleted the Airbnb app from my phone thinking I wont use it again for a very long time. I redownloaded it earlier today. The part which prompted me to make this thread is the fact that I did not have to log in again. I'm using an iPhone and when I deleted the app previously my phone gave me the prompt

    Delete "Airbnb"?
    Deleting this app will also delete it's data.

    Why did I not need to log in again? My best guess is that my phone doesn't keep the app's data at all, but Airbnb keeps my phone's EMEI number on their server and knows I didn't log out before deleting the app.
     
    Last edited Aug 6, 2018
  2. Deleted User

    OP Deleted User Newbie

    The data just isn't deleted from you phone. I've had that happen also. You would need a 3rd party program/a program with root access to delete the data.
     
  3. Veho

    Veho The man who cried "Ni".
    Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    9,986
    Country:
    Croatia
    Maybe it uses your Google account to verify/log you in with their server. A lot of services use Google logins these days.

    EDIT: I missed the fact that it's an iPhone, I had assumed it was an Android. The Google account thing is less likely. I don't know how iPhones handle these things :/
     
    Last edited by Veho, Aug 7, 2018
    Quantumcat likes this.
  4. Alkéryn

    Alkéryn Moon Dweller ~
    Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2015
    Messages:
    1,663
    Country:
    France
    There is leftover data on the storage
     
  5. Ryccardo

    Ryccardo watching Thames TV from London
    Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2015
    Messages:
    7,400
    Country:
    Italy
    Probably the same thing, redownloading appdata from an iCloud backup (they didn't do that when I was still using iPhones, but who knows what gimmicks they added in the past 4/5 years? Not me for sure!)
     
Draft saved Draft deleted
Loading...

Hide similar threads Similar threads with keywords - phone,