How do you use freethewads?

Discussion in 'Wii - Hacking' started by JJBro1, May 12, 2008.

May 12, 2008

How do you use freethewads? by JJBro1 at 11:53 PM (32,335 Views / 0 Likes) 34 replies

  1. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    Is there a tutorial out there on how to use freethewads?
     


  2. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Step 1: Create a folder on the root of C: (name it temp for arguments sake)

    Step 2: Put the freethewads.exe, the cygcrypto-0.9.8.dll, the cygwin1.dll and the wad you want to 'free' into that folder

    Step 3: Open Command Prompt

    Step 4: Type cd C:\Temp\ hit enter

    Step 5: Type freethewads title.wad a

    Step 6: Choose a region ('3' is free)

    Step 7: Confirm it y/n

    That's it
     
  3. mark187

    Member mark187 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2007
    Messages:
    138
    Country:
    United Kingdom
  4. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    ?
     
  5. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    im confused at step 5 exactly what do i type in?
     
  6. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    freethewads.exe (name of wad).wad without ( ) and then the letter a after that hit enter
     
  7. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    ok so i copy that file that was used or did it create another one?
     
  8. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It patches the one you typed in - just shove it on your SD card or however you boot up wads and install it

    [​IMG]
     
  9. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    your instructions are flawed, it involves much more than that. for example you have to type CD\ to get the C directory. i'm still trying to figure out how to run the freethewads files as they won't run, i'm guessing because it's in a folder the dos command doesn't like folders
     
  10. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    His instructions look fine from here.
     
  11. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    this seemed to work fine for me.

    only problem is you can't choose the region so i don't know what region it is, using the other guys method always makes the dos command say "the filename, directory name, or volume label syntax is incorrect" everytime i attempted to do it via his method, the other instructions i found worked first time, says it all really.
     
  12. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    [​IMG]

    As you can see no problems
     
  13. nanika

    Member nanika 文鎮じゃダメ!まぁ、こんな文字小さしすぎてどうせ読めないっしょ。

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2008
    Messages:
    249
    Country:
    United States
    That's because it's not working as some Windows needs "cd /d C:\Temp\". >_>
     
  14. jalaneme

    Member jalaneme Female Gamer

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2006
    Messages:
    6,247
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    just because it works for you it doesn't mean it will work for everybody, anyways i ain't going to argue, it just didn't work end off, couldn't care less if you don't belive me or not.
     
  15. megabug7

    Member megabug7 Forum Relic

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,047
    Location:
    London
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    Your attitude sucks - just leave it at that
     
  16. epu708

    Member epu708 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    102
    Location:
    Jakarta
    Country:
    Indonesia
    whoa, stop fighting.
    jalaneme, what step that doesn't work for you?
    has all the file included in the folder that you go to in the cmd?
     
  17. HybridEntity

    Newcomer HybridEntity Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2008
    Messages:
    18
    Country:
    Australia
    I, like jalaneme, also had troubles with those instructions. Although it may work on some systems it didn't work on mine so the instructions are flawed. For starters, Windows is installed on my D drive and so I had to switch to the C drive using that "/d" command that someone mentioned before. Even then once it was in "C:\Temp\", Freethewads failed to boot for reasons I'm not sure about. Everything was correct as it said in the instructions and I tried both "freethewads title.wad a" and "freethewads.exe title.wad a". Neither worked, so I tried the method jalaneme mentioned and that worked for me. I'm not sure where the problem is but it isn't freethewads. Thanks for posting some instructions anyway. [​IMG]
     
  18. arctic_flame

    Member arctic_flame GBAtemp ATMEGA8 Fan

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2006
    Messages:
    2,840
    Location:
    England land
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    It's more of a problem that people don't know how to use the command line, and don't care to learn.

    If you're on a different drive letter, just type X: (C:, A:, B:, whatever letter you want) and press enter to change drive.

    Don't put quotes around the executable, just the arguments, and only if they have spaces.

    eg. "freethewads title.wad a" won't work.
    freethewads "C:\Temp\title.wad" a will work.
     
  19. KTroopA

    Member KTroopA GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2007
    Messages:
    240
    Country:
    United Kingdom
    can i use this tool to convert VC star fox PAL (lylat wars ) to run on my NTSC wii - will it work with no glitches/crashes? what about saves do they work ok too?
     
  20. Tariq909

    Newcomer Tariq909 Advanced Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2008
    Messages:
    67
    Country:
    United States
    So is a new file created? Or is the file that i dragged into freethewads the "free" file?
     

Share This Page