How do you use cheats for GBA games

Discussion in 'GBA - Game Development, ROM Hacks and Translations' started by JJBro1, Apr 21, 2008.

Apr 21, 2008
  1. JJBro1
    OP

    Member JJBro1 GBAtemp Advanced Fan

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2008
    Messages:
    849
    Country:
    United States
    I'm using the EZFlash3 in 1 and im using gba exploader and i want to use cheats on my games, how do i do this?
     
  2. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    not sure about the 3-in-1

    But only card's i know that support cheats are
    EFA (easy just a few right click's away)
    M3 Perfect (not sure don't have one but wanted one but dx didn't have it so i settled on next one)
    EZ4 (Have to use the client when loading the rom's you will see the cheat area at the bottom)

    And they all only support .cht format and honestly if you have no database experience don't try to make your own

    But a 5 sec introductory class is this

    (standard database format)
    [Subject]
    data=value

    Or .cht

    [title]
    ON=raw location ,insert me , and/or me here

    Example file

    [Infinite Stamina]
    ON=06A29,4B
    ON=06A2A,2A
    [GameInfo]
    Name=Harvest Moon - Friends of Mineral Town (U)
    System=GBA
    Text=Harvest Moon - Friends of Mineral Town (U)
     
  3. gizmo_gal

    Member gizmo_gal QWEEN of the RadioActive Force!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,171
    Location:
    1st dimension, Earth
    Country:
    United States
    This thread shouldn't be here....
     
  4. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
  5. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    Accessing the cheats for a 3in1 requires the EZ5 slot 1 cart, otherwise you have to patch the rom and have all cheats on all the time like what Narin said.
     
  6. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Ah oops, fixed the link in my above post.
     
  7. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    Lol i been using VBA to do my cheats [​IMG]

    Putting save file there renaming to rom name loading it and adding cheat then save it again

    Only problem is only codes that stay in effect even when turned off work (Like Max HP Max Stat's Max Gold stuff like that)
     
  8. Narin

    Former Staff Narin The Cheat Master, kupo!

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2008
    Messages:
    2,624
    Country:
    United States
    Just patch the game with the cheats you want and they will always be on.
     
  9. Jack-Of-Trades

    Member Jack-Of-Trades GBAtemp Fan

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    311
    Country:
    United States
    Yeah but then we go back to the IRQ handler's

    And VBA let's me use cheats on any game [​IMG] (except yugioh GX for some reason) (even the clean rom won't accept the cheats)
     
  10. trikon000

    Member trikon000 GBAtemp Regular

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    112
    Country:
    United States
    yugioh gx stores the data in two spots in memory, so you have to edit both in order to get it to stay changed. This is done for error checking and certain card events.
     

Share This Page